We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Barcelo Huatulco(Huatulco)
$208
$175
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Park Royal Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$161
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Las Brisas Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$125
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Quinta Bella Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$86
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$131
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
$248
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Princess Mayev Hotel(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$77
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Fa-Sol(Crucecita)(Great Value!)
$122
$113
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Binniguenda All Inclusive(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$95
$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$63
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,608)
Filter reviews
4,608 results
Traveler rating
3,166
1,004
318
85
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,166
1,004
318
85
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky barcin cinmarket cafebarefoot grillspice restaurantfrench restaurantswim up roomcastaways restaurantpreferred clubswim up barfrosted glasssugar reefocean viewhydrotherapy circuitcoco cafequiet poolcoarse sand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,584 - 2,589 of 4,608 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We just returned home from Secrets. Stayed the week of January 13th 2013. We had a great time. The weather was in the 90's all week. The coral sand beach gets very hot. You will need sandals or water shoes to walk on the beach during the day. The beach has umbrellas and grass huts. Some huts have beds. You will need to get there very early to get the beds and huts. The pool area has umbrellas. The pools are large and very nice. The outside pool bar and swim up pool bar are ok but slow service. All the restaurants and buffet is nice and easy to get in. All employees are very nice. Some dont speech good english. The night time entertainment isnt so good. The Sky bar has some music. Would be nice if had a piano player. The spa is nice and gym is small. The bars had high shelf liquor.The hotel rooms were very nice and clean.The bed and pillows were nice and comfortable. All rooms are ocean view. The higher up rooms the better the ocean view.The view from the rooms are of the ocean bay and rock points.The hotel was adult only. This was very nice. Overall the hotel and vacation was very good. Would go back.

Room Tip: The upper levels are the best ocean view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank mexicovacations63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Let me first start by saying this place is AMAZING! My family and I have traveled multiple places in mexico and the caribbean and stayed at many all incluisive resorts, I'm not trying to sound snotty just know the good from the bad.
The check in process was smooth. We arrived with probably 80 people at the same time and it was simple, get off the bus, locate luggage, tell them what room we were going to and then had an hour wait. We ate lunch and then our rooms were ready. The one thing about the rooms is they are not queen beds, they are full beds. We were traveling with my parents and my husband and I shared a room with my brother so we had the two queen beds and they are not queens. Also be aware that the showers, and bathroom are just clear glass doors. Perfectly fine if you are a couple. Otherwise rooms were always cleaned on time.
The beach is amazing, the sand does get hot during the day and I would highly reccommend wearing shoes to walk on the beach. The waitresses are wonderful bringing drinks during the day and the bartenders are also wonderful.
The food is amazing. Many selections. All of the resturants were wonderful we ate at Spice twice! Service was always great as well. Room service is also good, they always quote you 45 minutes even if it only takes 20 minutes. One evening they sent it to the wrong room so we never received our food, after calling they delivered us a bottle of champagne even though I never complained one bit! The burgers at the pool for lunch were excellent, just make sure you tell them you want it well done!
We did one tour through apple, it was the jetski tour with luis, it was phenominal! The area is so beautiful it is sad that one day it will be developed. Beautiful beaches! My parents and brother went fishing with a guy my dad found online named Tino, he does private fishing tours and was excellent, they had a blast, he picked them up and dropped them off at the resort.
I just can not get over how beautiful the view was at this resort, it is in its own private cove with excellent snorkling just to the left of the beach, many people told us to take the little path to the next cove over which was an untouched beach. Bringing your own mask and snorkel might be a good idea, theirs just get used hard and some are broken. There are vendors on the beach asking you to buy their things, but they easily respond to "no thank you." I would say if you want to buy souviners buying them on the beach would be the place to do it. The airport only has one shop and its on the outside of the terminal, and the town is very small.
The workers don't all speak that great of english so you have to be patient with them, many are trying to learn and are eager to learn but since its not a big travel place like cancun and what not so the english isn't amazing.
The Spa is wonderful. Probably the most amazing view on the resort. The water circut is wonderful and very relaxing. My husband and I did a couples massage, I got deep tissue and he just got shoulders, neck and back. This was probably the best massage I have ever gotten. Wish I could have gotten more than one that week. Would highly recommend the spa!
Overall I would HIGHLY recommend visiting this resort and this area! It is so beautiful I can't get over it. My mom said it reminded her of Hawaii! We will definatly be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just got back from our one week stay at Secrets Huatulco. So much to report.

ARRIVAL
Airport was nice, Apple Rep quickly guided us to our nice bus for a 1/2 hour drive, on very good roads to the Resort. There are mountains to the North so the area is rather secluded from the rest of Mexico...felt very safe. There was a drug sniffing dog at the airport so it looks like they are taking pains to keep drugs out.

Check in was fast and efficient, greeted us with a cold towel and champaign. Then told how to find our room. We had booked a swim out room and we were SOOOOO delighted to find we had been upgraded to a swim out suite...can't say enough good things about this room. It had two bathrooms...yea! Room was beautiful and very large. Frige was stocked with Corona, water and Coke (real Coke - I'm a big fan). Amenities included: toothpaste, toothbrush, razor, comb, LARGE bottles of body lotion, SPF 15 sunscreen, shower jell, and the best smelling shampoo and conditioner. Only warning here...the beautiful marble floor is VERY slippery when you come in wet from the pool - towel laid out by the maid worked wonders. We were anxious to get in the water so we ordered room service, which was fast, and very good. Bed was pretty comfortable as well.

GROUNDS
The grounds are beautiful. Plenty of lounges, we brought our own floats so that was not a problem for us. The pool temperature was perfect. Temperature was around 100 but the area is so dry there is no humidity so that was perfect as well. We didn't use the beach, undertow...but its beautiful and well kept up. Little huts on the beach and a couple of swinging beds.

STAFF
Can't say enough good things about the staff. All were friendly, helpful, always smiling. Maids do not speak English, so if you know a few words of Spanish its quite helpful...they were so sweet and always ready to help you in any way, if you could make them understand what you wanted. Hint: we purchased a SPANISH FOR DUMMIES book at Staples for $1.00, and it was sure worth it.

WIRELESS
We were just slightly disappointed in computer reception. Basically, we could only use it at night, but it was good then. But hey...we're on vacation, don't really need the computer except to make the folks back home jealous.

FOOD
Room service was fast and good.
Breakfast was good, might be a bit disappointing for those expected a huge variety of breakfast items, but we were very happy with the selection.
Our room faced the snak shak and it was crowded but acceptable. Drink service to our swim out was available if we wanted it; however, drinks became warm quickly in the heat and the waiters had several stops to make before they got to us so we chose to get our own - no problem. Hint: bring insulated caps and perhaps a collapsable cooler to ice down drinks (beer needs to be REALLY cold).
We went to the French and Italian theme restaurants and they were, BY FAR, the best theme restaurants we have encountered so far in our travels. The dinner buffet was sadly lacking in variety and a disappointment.

TOURS
There were many interesting tours available. This is the first trip we have taken and not gone on a tour - but we couldn't bear to leave the swim out room for long...lol. We did take a trip to town...we were told its like the real Mexico. Felt very safe there as well. Some merchants will bargain well, and some not-so-much. Cab fare is only $6. or $7. to the small town, about a 10-15 minute ride.

The only "kinda" sour note of the vacation was the waiting in line (over an hour, standing) to get to the ticket agents.

All-in-all it was just about perfect. Will we come back? We are planning on it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank allthetimefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just returned from a week at Secrets....overall a great resort! The weather is just beautiful!!!! Consistent temp every day, always above 30.....a welcomed breeze through out the day, not as windy as Cancun. The ocean was a little rough but, was warm & a nice cool off. The second beach to the side was much calmer & the sand is not as coarse. The sand....is a beautiful colour but holy HOT during the afternoon! Please make sure to bring some footwear to the beach! The resort is large, you never feel crowded! There is quite a bit of walking especially if you are located in building 1...if you have mobility issues ask for room closer to pool areas. As posted in other reviews the rooms were clean, wonderful spa, pools are great, staff is very friendly & the resort is very clean. Only real complainant is the food...it wasn't really bad but not fantastic. We would go back again & would recommend to friends!

Room Tip: Very room has a ocean view & the beds are awesome!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jmstadelmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed Jan 1st-15th 2013 and had a great time. Secrets being a very new resort is well laid out, with Ocean views in every room.(Awesome to us) There are lots of stairs and lots of walking to get to some places. We never found this a problem. Rooms are modern and very comfortable. The resort is very clean and laid out so that even at full capacity you never feel crowded. Always lots of beach/pool chairs. Towel game not very common although we did see it going on. We ate at all restaurants except Oceana. Meals were all good and you can always find something to eat. People must remember the food will be different as you are in Mexico. We used room service which was quick and food good. The "Secret Box" is a great feature which is a box outside your room that they place food into and you can access from inside. No need to be disturbed. Another feature that was great is the "red light" at your door. You turn this on when you do not wish to be disturbed or room made up if you are coming back soon to shower etc.

The staff work very hard to make your holiday the best. They seem to be very happy to work here and make your vacation memorable.
The spa is amazing with a great view and has every treatment you could want. The staff there are also great.
We would return to this resort and recommend to all.
Huatulco is our favorite destination. Guaranteed HOT, friendly people, and laid back.
Sunwing flight was on time and had no issues.

Room Tip: We had building #1 close to Sky Bar. Had great wifi in room and could sit on balcony and listen to entertainment in Sky Bar area.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BryanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechu EConcierg... A, General Manager Assistant at Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit this wonderful review! I'm sure this will be very helpful to our guests. I encourage you to keep my contact information and please let me know when you are ready to come home again.

Sincerely,

Aurelien Pichereau
General Manager Assistant
a_gerencia.sechu@secretsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews