We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Eat Here!”
Review of Los Gallos

Los Gallos
Ranked #19 of 176 Restaurants in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Mexican traditional food, with the best quality and taste of the region, with traditional Mexican spices and products, visit us and know the taste of Mexico-Oaxaca.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Must Eat Here!”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

We just arrived in Huatulco on Tuesday and based on previous reviews had to give them a try. We have already visited them twice for supper and both times totally impressed and you will not be disappointed. Menu is available in English and prices are very reasonable and beer is served in cold glasses. A must visit when in the Huatulco area!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    40
    14
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento,ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tastiest Pazole”
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Has to be the friendliest and the tastiest restuarant we've been to in a long time. After a very nice dinner leader of the family/restuarant brought out a bottle of good mezcal, cucumber spears and sweet orange slices w/sal gusano (?) sprinkled on top and requested we do a few shots with him. He would have probably opened another bottle if needed but it was late. He made us feel as if we were at his casa for a family dinner. All at no charge of course. Great Restuarant and Great People. Rec highly.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kerrykil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Los Gallos”
Reviewed April 2, 2011

The soup is delicious, the beer cold and served in a frosty, salted rim mug, the flautas are hot, crispy and delicious. We would run down the block when it was 35 degrees and still sit and eat a hot bowl of chicken soup, it is THAT good!

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TeddySaskatchewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“100% familiar”
Reviewed February 6, 2011

this family run place is truly a find . if your a pazoli fan you will love this place. have been here once a week for the last month and it is a keeper. local food at great prices and good service. it has 33 seats for dining. you can sit right on the sidewalk and eat as we did for the first time . which make this spot stand out on this street. make it easy to find. they also have the tv going for your viewing pleasure. we have been with our friends and they agree it is an excellent value, you will not be disappointed. good part of town and it is very safe, don't worry if you got their late..

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dikrannkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
142 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“The locals know good food...It's at Los Gallos”
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Nice little local restaurant with great food and hosts. After 9 years visitng Huatulco, we thought we knew all the good places. Were we mistaken big time. This restaurant serves up some of the best local cuisine La Crucecita has to offer. They have pozole that is as good as any we have tried. Also tried the Tlajalepeno soup, a nice full-bodied chicken broth with chuncks of chicken, chayote, carrots, cilantro, oaxacan cheese, onion, and avocado served with or without chipotle. The also serve sopas, quesadillas with a huge variety of fillings (chorizo, potatoes, shredded beef and chicken, mushrooms, cheese), tlayudas, and an assortment of tacos. This is the only restaurant in Huatulco that has served beer in frosty glass mugs rimmed with lime jiuce and salt. The owner is a great fellow; he doesn't speak English, but he is a really gracious and attentive host. The kitchen makes their own tortillas and is open so you can see your food being prepared. Los Gallos is located on Carrizal near the HSBC bank. It is well lighted, has very pleasant indoor and outside seating. Do you self a favor and eat with the locals at Los Gallos. You will not be disappointed if you enjoy quality food, great hosts, and good prices.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank pulpoeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Gallos also viewed

 
Crucecita, Huatulco
 

Been to Los Gallos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing