We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great location to stay for condo/hotel !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Marina Park Plaza Huatulco
Ranked #23 of 48 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2011

If you want a great place to stay and like to do some of your own cooking I highly reccomend Marina Park Plaza as your condo/hotel choice. Senor Pucks (located at Marina Park Plaza) is a great place to eat if wish to dine out but is walking distance to many other restaurants nearby. Also a very nice spa located within the hotel and a convenience store soon to open. Beaches and shopping are very close to the hotel and cabs are cheap, cheap if do not wish to walk. Also great golf course nearby, but go early in morning as is very hot. Overall think this is a wonderful place to stay if do not wish to have all the people around you from an all-inclusive hotel. Love, love Huatulco !! Have been twice now and definitely going back soon. Note: If you like to go to the beaches take your own beachtowels as they do not allow you to take the towels from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmine154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 105 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2011

Spent Xmas at the Marina Park Plaza and it was an excellant holiday. This was our third time to Huatulco but we have always stayed at all inclusive resorts. The condo hotel this time was a great experience.
Marina Park Plaza is a new condo hotel and is very nice. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the pool area is beautiful with a swim up bar and nicely laid out.
The pool are only received about 6 hours of sun during the day because of how the hotel is built. It was a little cool but just filled and remember we were there on Dec 21st which was the shortest day of the year. As the year goes on the resort will receive a greater amount of sun and if you want total sun, go down to Chahue Beach which is only a 5 minute walk away and is very nice. There was lots of lounge chairs at the pool so you did not have to get up early to find a place to sit and relax and get a chair..The have 2 kinds and the more comfortable reclining ones were not abundant. Be nice if they were all the same.
A couple of down falls were the fact that the swim up bar closed way too early at around 5 in the afternoon. This maybe because the hotel just opened and was not filled to capacity. As well we have always stayed at at all inclusive resorts where your drinks are included and at the swim up bar drinks wer 30 pesos or 3 dollars each. This is a little pricy considering you can purchase beer at the supermarket for about .80 cents a can.

With the condo feature you can cook your own meals in your room and is equipped with all you need from a toaster, salt & pepper, blender, coffee maker and all the utensils you need. There is a supermarket only a short 5 minute walk away called the Super-Che which as well has everything you could possibly need. There is also the Senor Pucks Sports Bar and Grill was a great place to eat or stop for a cold beverage and good service if you want to take a break from your own cooking. There are also some very nice restaurants in Santa Cruz or La Crusicita and the hotel staff will help you locate them as they speak very good english.
The condo itself is very nicely layed out and the rooms are very spacious with all the necessities you need to make your holiday enjoyable and if there is something you need the staff go out of their way to assist. Each condo has its own water tank so you are never short of hot water for showering or washing dishes , etc. As well as the water in Huatulco is purified and safe to drink.
Huatulco itself has got some of the nicest beaches and some of the best snorkeling ever. Mcquey and Entegre beaches can be reached by taxi for just 30 pesos or 3 dollars but yes english speaking vendors are very limited though they will go out of their way to assist you. For an excellent snorkling adventure we would recommend taking a taxi to San Augustin Beach and spending the day. The taxi ride is 50 dollars for the round trip but the taxi driver will take you there and wait all day for you till you are ready to go home and is well worth it.
Huatulco has always got beautiful hot weather and is very safe during the day and the evening. Huatulco has it all from relaxing at the pool or beach, snorkelling, site seeing, shopping , walking and enjoying the people or sitting on your condo patio, you can not go wrong with Huatulco and recommend it for a great holiday and staying at Marina Park Plaza.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sasksunseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We were there for two weeks over Christmas and New Years. The pool is really done well with a great swim up bar and the staff are very friendly from the bar staff to the cleaning ladies, to the front counter staff. All questions were answered and requests were looked after in a timely manner. The landscaping is amazing for a newly opened building and the neighboring park is full of flowering shrubs and trees. The birds are plentiful and some of the most beautiful in the world. Chahue Marina is across the street and adds a "sailor" dimension to the development. The only down item is the main drag is in front of the building and detracts from the use of the balconies facing the ocean. For us this condo hotel is a 4 out of 5 and we are returning. The hotel is within walking distance of most shopping, restaurants, and several great free beaches.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

The Marina is a condo hotel, which I really appreciated the change from the all inclusive getting to really see the beautiful huatulco beyond a resort, the staff were so friendly I chatted with the pool bar guy Lolo four hours laughing at trying out spanish phrases on him, all the staff are really friendly and speak great english. It's so nice to actually get to know some of the locals, the owners are always around the hotel so you get to know them and see their pride in the hotel, with them giving you everything you need along with fantastic reccomendations such as a water rafting! The place is just gorgeous with a peacful yet stunning pool area, with everything at your fingertips to make your trip what you wanted it to be!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaMae8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Our family of 5 spent 2 weeks at Marina Park Plaza from Dec. 14th to 28th. Our main purpose of our stay was to do the final inspection, and sign the final paperwork to officially take possession of our new condo. We went down with an open mind – after all, the hotel had only officially begun accepting guests on December 1st.
Check in took all of 3 minutes, and we were given our room keys and bracelets. We were walked up to our unit and given some basic instructions (don’t turn the air conditioners below 23 degrees, as they freeze up and stop working, housekeeping visits every 3 days or so, etc…)
The condo: Kitchen is small, but certainly all we needed. Fridge was full sized with water dispenser (water reservoir in the door just needed to be filled, and the cold water was welcome!) A few bottled waters with the hotel logo were supplied. Loved the icemaker – fill the 2 small trays, and there were handles that you twisted once the ice was frozen to empty the tray into the cube holder below. Kitchen comes complete with blender, coffee maker, teapot, dishwasher, pots, pans, dishes, etc…everything we needed, and some stuff we never even used!
The bedrooms are huge, with really large closets and drawers – plenty of space for all of our stuff, and the suitcases even fit in the wardrobe, so they weren’t underfoot. Bathrooms were nice – huge showers, which was great when I had to try and scrub the sand out of my kids’ hair after a day at the beach – all 4 of us (3 kids and me) fit in the shower just fine!
Dining table was nice – we ate most breakfasts and lunches in the condo, so a place for us all to sit together was nice. Balcony was even bigger than we needed, but we found we spent most of our early mornings relaxing or reading out there while watching the world wake up around us, and our evenings just chilling with a glass of wine or a beer and watching the cars go by. Being right on Chahue Blvd. did mean there was a bit of road noise, but the view of the marina and the ocean was, for us, totally worth a little noise! Air conditioners worked great – we usually only used them at night, to help cool the kids’ room at bedtime (their window opens on the inner walkway, so we liked to keep the window locked up at night) and our room at bedtime, as the road noise made it difficult to sleep with the windows open (we live in the country, so we hear nothing at night, and therefore are relatively light sleepers). There are 3 separate air conditioning units, one in each bedroom and a large one for the living area.
There was also a bit of daytime noise, but I imagine that will diminish as more units are completed (the unit next to ours had not sold yet, so therefore was still under construction). The retail spaces are also not up and running yet, with the exception of the Ecos Spa and Senor Puck’s, the restaurant/grill.
Senor Puck’s was wonderful, especially on days we didn’t feel like taking a trip into town for dinner (some evenings the kids were just too worn out and wanted to “stay in”.) The park next door is fantastic for those of us with kids – we were able to even enjoy dessert and a coffee one meal, because the kids finished eating, then headed to the park to play while hubby and I enjoyed a leisurely drink and dessert (something that almost NEVER happens for us!!!) The food was great, with different foods to appeal to almost everyone (even a picky 5 year old)! We also ate the best Christmas dinner here that any of us has ever eaten!!!
The pool was gorgeous, with kids shallow pool and swim up bar. Two warnings, though. 1) it isn’t heated, which means it was very refreshing, but usually a welcome relief from the heat of the day and 2) it’s about 1.6 meters, which means it was basically up to my neck! So if you bring your kids, make sure they have flotation devices, as the kids pool is quite small, but the rest of the pool is too deep for kids who don’t swim on their own. (visit Jessic Toys behind Pemex for cheap floaties, balls, toys, etc…)
Staff was fantastic, meeting every request from “please fix the door” to “what tour should we go on and can you book it for us?” We sent out laundry halfway through our stay, and 4 grocery bags of laundry cost 150 pesos, and was back the same day. Cleaning was every 3 days, linens changed every week. The fantastic cleaning staff even did our dishes we had left in the sink from breakfast – most of the time we didn’t use the dishwasher, simply because we didn’t dirty enough dishes at one time. The staff was wonderfully attentive and very friendly – we were always greeted with a “Buenos Dias” or “hola” when meeting or passing anyone.
The location is great – I did a round trip walk to Super Che in 30 minutes, and that was with buying groceries as well! We found the best time to shop is early morning – at 8:30am, it was still cool for a nice walk, and the only other people in the store were the staff – stocking shelves. The bakery was full of great smells and freshly baked breads, pastries and cookies. Chahue beach is a 7 minute walk, and usually deserted – the kids loved playing in the sand and catching crabs.
We did a river rafting/iguana sanctuary tour with Aventura Mundo – Diego and Stephan were fantastic guides, and the kids really loved seeing and touching all the iguanas. The trip down the river was relaxing, and the hours playtime at Bocana was the first time our youngest felt safe playing in the ocean. The waves at Bocana are big, but don’t have the power that the ones at Chahue and Tangolunda have – you don’t get swept off your feet as easily, and the water remains shallow until quite far out, instead of a sharp drop near shore. Great for the kids!
We also went to Entrega twice, but found our lack of Spanish skills was detrimental, since I think we were the only non Spanish speaking people on the beach! Beware of cruise ship day – the beach gets really really busy!! But is it ever fun to people watch when it’s full!
We went into La Crucecita almost every evening for dinner and shopping – Mamma Mia, Kabana, and Tostados were our favorites. We also ate one evening in Santa Cruz (can’t remember the name of the place, though), and walked, that’s right, walked, to the Tipsy Blowfish (wouldn’t recommend trying it with 3 little kids – it took more than 45 minutes, and we carried or piggy backed 2 kids almost the whole way!!)
We loved Marina Park, and look forward to many more fabulous family holidays there.
Feel free to ask any questions.
Carmen

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank momof2boys1girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

We recently stayed at the Marina Park Plaza for Xmas and New Years. We had a wonderful time, the people that worked there were really friendly and helpful. If you enjoy sports the Senior Pucks Pub is the place to be as they have Canadian Satelite and you dont miss a thing. The pool was a little cool but the water has only been in the pool for about 3 weeks when we got there but towards the end it was fine. This is a great place to relax, and is within walking distance to a small town and 5 minutes to the beach

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oilerlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Well, being a new hotel, things are clean but service is terrible! First of all, they wanted to charge 100 peso ($10 CDN) per person for anyone visiting us during our stay there.

Secondly, they want another 100 peso for any outside guest that want to use their pool and lastly, yes, you guessed it, another 100 peso for extra towels!

Try to discuss those issues with the front person or the owners, Lenny and Lloyd....good luck. They don't care. All they care about is money.

The swimming pool is located in the middle of the complex so around 2:30 pm, the entire pool is shaded by the building so no sun and it does get a tad chilly.

Will never stay there again.

Other than that, Huatulco is a beautiful and safe place. Would definitely go again but not to Marina Park Plaza.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank budmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
0.5 mi away
Princess Mayev Hotel
Princess Mayev Hotel
#10 of 48 in Huatulco
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada Eden Costa
Hotel Posada Eden Costa
#20 of 48 in Huatulco
96 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 4 in Crucecita
104 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Posada Chahue
Best Western Posada Chahue
#18 of 48 in Huatulco
100 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Tangolunda
Hotel Plaza Tangolunda
#26 of 48 in Huatulco
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Park Plaza Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Park Plaza Huatulco

Address: Boulevard Benito Juarez, Lote 1 Manzana 3, Sector L, Playa Chahue, Huatulco 70987, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#12 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its distinctive Mexican hacienda style architecture and its strategic location across from Marina Chahue and the beautiful Chahue Beach, the Marina Park Plaza is the perfect destination to experience all that the south Pacific Coast of Mexico has to offer. The condo hotel concept provides the comforts of a first class hotel but the convenience and privacy of your own home. A nice alternative to the all inclusive vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marina Park Plaza Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marina Park Plaza Huatulco Hotel Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing