We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful - wish that we would have gone sooner!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Viena Huatulco

Viena Huatulco
Ranked #11 of 171 Restaurants in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Great food, great atmosphere, magical location...
Ponemah, Manitoba
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful - wish that we would have gone sooner!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

10 of us visited Café Viena on the evening of February 12th, on the recommendation of one couple who had visited earlier In the week.

I had heard and read about Café Viena before, but had never made it there. After having dinner, we were sorry that we had not visited when we first got to Huautlco (or in previous years) as everything was great, from the greeting by the owner (Manfred) and sous chef, (Claudia) right down to desert.

I chose the Filet Stroganoff, which was very good.....served with Spaetzle and a vegetable mix (that includes spinach) were all delicious. I could eat an entire dish of the veggies by themselves!

My husband choose a stuffed Grooper (stuffed with seafood) I had a bite and it was truly delicious.

Desert, my hubby and I shared a chocolate cake that was very nice, not too big, just the right size for two to share.

Service was fabulous. 10 of us, entrees, drinks (cocktails/beer) and some had desert, the bill for 10 of us was just over 4500 pesos (before the tip) and worth every cent.

Well done Manfred & Claudia!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kittie_n_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    19
    5
    2
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
1 review
“Excellent food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have been to huatulco 4 times now and every time we visit the restaurant at least 3 times every trip and every meal we have had are excellent. Manfred and Helmut are great host . Some of the best food we have ever had. I think it's a must for dinner and the apple strudel is true Austrian.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Melt in your mouth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing!

Perfect for a date or night out and the food has never disappointed. I had the steak medium rare and was in heaven! Pick anything on the menu and relax with some wine, what a great experience.

We will be back again!

Helpful?
Thank DJ S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“The food did not live up to reviews”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We went there after talking to a number of people saying this was a place to try out before leaving Huatulco. Nothing spectacular to report, rather regular. We had the Gropher and MahiMahi Shrimp Lobster Bisque. The apple strudel dessert was disappointing. The pastry was not flakey, rather soggy; seemed like a pan fried tortilla with apple, and cinnamon stuffing inside.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Retired-Unretired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Goulash & everything else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had ben before to Cafe Viena about three years ago, and it was great, so we went back and we were not disappointed. We were a party of four and the meal was great, Goulash, Wiener Schnitzel, and salads were top notch. Disappointed at one of the chocolate deserts which had Hersheys syrup instead of real chocolate.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andres D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viena Huatulco also viewed

 

Been to Viena Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing