We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Place - Recommended Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hagia Sofia

Hagia Sofia
Ranked #13 of 58 things to do in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Agroecological development where can be admire different phases from the cultive of fruit trees and exotic flowers. Natural sanctuary for butterflies and birds. Hagia Sofía is a paradise to return to nature and spiritual peace.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place - Recommended Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We booked through the Hagia Sofia website - received a prompt reply, and they provided prompt pick-up in the morning. We really enjoyed the breakfast provided there - very different fresh fruits including cashew fruit. The coffee was delicious with a light chocolate flavour. Organic bug spray is available for you to use when you get there (recommended). The owner has accomplished so much in the ten years he has been working on the site - it is really a labour of love and he is passionate about telling you about it. There were 8 people on our tour - which he said was average when there are no cruise ships in - so it is very personalized. The flowers are beautiful - who knew there were about 20 different types of Bird of Paradise? We had a break by the river where several hammocks are set up - and promptly fell asleep. Then it was time to vamoose up to see the variety of fruit trees. Then to the waterfall - the water is really warm and we were able to swim behind the falls and experience the jacuzzi feel - my husband really enjoyed it as well - and he is not a water person. Lunch was good - cooked over a wooden fire. My favorite day during our week in Huatulco! Don't miss it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    18
    5
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Hagia Sofia - a wonderful spot near Huatulco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Hagia Sofia
(pronounced "Ahia Sophia" and meaning "spiritual wisdom") is a beautiful labour of love founded and built by Armando Canavati Nader. He calls it "a paradise to return to nature and spiritual peace." It was formerly a coffee plantation of about 320 Acres. is just north of Santa Maria Huatulco on the road to Pluma Hidalgo.

You can buy the basic tour, but we really enjoyed the "full meal deal," in which you have a yummy breakfast on arrival, and a lovely lunch after the tour, before returning home. Total cost online was $500 peso's per person - extremely good value for money!

The tour is a guided walk of about 500 metres, Armando, the owner showed us around. We saw hundreds of beautiful plants, and hundreds of types of fruits and butterflies, including the rare blue morph. This is also a great spot for bird watching.

The meals were excellent, cooked to perfection on a wood stove. Various fruits and juices, all from Hagia Sofia are available for you all day long. You are encouraged to have seconds!

You can either drive there yourself, or set up a guided tour online. Google "www.hagiasofia.mx" for all information and reservations can be made on email via "reservaciones@hagiasofia.mx"

You will be picked up at your hotel. The drive is about 45 minutes, on asphalt, gravel and dirt roads. En route just before you enter the town of Santa Maria Huatulco you should look for a farm on the right side of the road where the owner took a liking to a Lear Jet and had it shipped to his yard as a lawn ornament sitting beside his pool!

After the tour you can walk or be driven to a beautiful waterfall on the Magdalena River, which is on the property. There are changing rooms so you don't have to wear your bathing suit all day. The water is cool and refreshing. After drying off you are driven back to the site where you have a lovely home-cooked Mexican lunch of fish, chicken or vegetarian fare.

After the delicious lunch you will be returned to your hotel at around 5:00 PM.


Recommendations:
•

Wear comfortable clothes and shoes.

Wear cap or hat.
Carry insect repellent (organic only).
Bring towel and swimsuit to enjoy Magdalena River waterfall.
Do not bring your own foods and beverages.

Note:  Infants from 1 to 4 years of age enter free of charge. Children from 5 to 10 years age pay only 50%. From 11 up pay as adult.

This was a most enjoyable tour. Armando was very friendly and told us about the plants, animals, birds and butterflies on the property. He ate with us and was very proud of his life's work and happy to answer any questions we had. Speaking with him was like visiting with an old friend. Everyone on the tour was amazed with what they saw and felt that this was the best tour they had been on, an excellent value! We will be going back next time, for sure.


 

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank FamilyLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Get Close to Nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Inspiring and educational. Beautiful landscape, lovely breakfast and lunch, very interesting tour and wonderful swim in waterfall and cave.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank amio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A place of tranquility, beauty, and sustainability”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Armando, the creator and curator of Hagia Sofia Botanical Park, was our guide. The park is about 1000 acres filled with indigenous plants, flowers and fruit trees. It once was part of a huge coffee plantation. There are many beautiful birds and varieties of butterflies. The water in the river was crystal clear and contained trout, fresh water shrimp. Armando and his wife want to make the park a retreat refuge for people to come and stay and interact with nature. We were treated to a unique breakfast and lunch prepared over open stove. This was a most wonderful experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful place and people at Hagia Sofia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

January 2014 we visited the Botanical garden. We took a van that seats 8 people plus driver up from our hotel in Huatulco, Mexico. The drive took over an hour and was bumpy over mostly rough pavement and then through a village (don't remember the name) and then on gravel up in the hills. The dry forest was previously cut down and is now a conservation area with beautiful flowers, vines, trees planted along a creek and then a lot of fruit trees up in the hilly area. The guide/owner, Armando, is a wonderful man, dedicated to showing what can be grown in the areas with a little irrigation from the creek and nearby river. He has local ladies cook you a fabulous lunch and after hiking the trails and viewing the plants we got to swim with Armando in his piece of the river. It was beautiful fresh, clear water with a small waterfall that you can go behind (with help). There are changerooms and toilets. Everything is very clean and well taken care of. The people are hardworking and friendly. Paid about $50 each and well worth it. I suggest you also leave a donation for the project too. A must see !!! A mini Bouchard Garden.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DPPWHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hagia Sofia also viewed

 

Been to Hagia Sofia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing