We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love everything about this Hotel!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huatulco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mision de los Arcos
Ranked #1 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, CO USA
Level 6 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Love everything about this Hotel!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I can’t say enough good things about this wonderful hotel. This was our second 2 week stay (February 9th - 22nd, 2013) here and we will be returning for a 3rd!!!

Check-in: We arrived a little early so our room wasn’t quite ready. After about a 50 degree change we were fine with that because a nice cold drink was the number one priority. We left our bags at the front desk and headed out to quench our thirst. When we returned about ½ hour later the young man at the desk escorted us to our room (where our luggage was waiting for us) and showed us around the room, how to work the air conditioning and ceiling fan. We felt welcome and appreciated the attention after a long day of travel.

Room: Our room was spectacular! Beautifully decorated, fresh flowers and spotlessly clean. We had a king sized bed which was extremely comfortable and 4 big pillows. The entire décor of the room was wonderful and had a very warm feeling to it. The housekeeping staff did a wonderful job every day. We would return to our room after a long day of play, open the door and a wonderful fresh and clean smell would greet us. The air conditioning was quiet and cooled the room quickly.

Shower: The shower was large with no problems with hot water and the water pressure was excellent. An extra bonus was a clothesline in the shower to hang our wet bathing suits. The clothesline may not sound like a big deal but to me it was. I always worry about to hang our wet things.

Location: The location of the hotel is perfect for us because we love to walk around the plaza and experience the town and the people of La Crucieta. It is a short and inexpensive taxi ride to the area beaches and a very short walk (blocks) to shopping and restaruants.

Restaurant: The Terra Cotta restaurant is as lovely as the hotel. Cloth tablecloths and napkins and the staff was excellent and attentive. The food is excellent at a really good price. The menu is diverse and has something to suit every taste. We were traveling with a vegetarian and she had no difficulty finding menu items that suited her dietary requirements. Don’t miss the stuffed French toast or the desserts!

Check-out: Our checkout was as smooth and easy as the check-in. We offered assistance to get our backs down the stairs (which we greatly appreciated).

Staff: Magdelino (sp) at the front desk was very friendly and helpful with every encounter we had with him. With my limited Spanish and his limited English communication with him was never a problem. The young man in the evening (I can’t remember his name) was also very friendly, helpful and a wonderful help to us. Everyone was friendly and greeted us with a smile and made us feel welcome every time we saw them.

We can’t say enough good things about this hotel and the entire staff from the owners to the housekeeping staff. In our opinion this is definitely a 5 star hotel at an unbelievable price. Thank you to all of the staff for another wonderful stay and we look forward to our next visit in 2014.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if you have difficulty with stairs this could be a consideration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb-in-Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    76
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
109
299
75
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2013

My first time at La Mision was about 5 or 6 years ago, and I loved it then. I just spent a week there again and still love the place. I found that the restaurant was a great development to their establishment and has some of the best food in La Crucecita with good service and competitive pricing with other top notch restaurants.
What made this stay different for me was that rooms on either side of me offered a few interesting surprises: one couple came from the same small town I grew up in, and in the other room were folks from where I currently live....so, either way we had things in common....what a pleasant surprise.
The beds had tremendous mattresses, an issue that folks traveling Mexico will appreciate. The airconditioning was quiet and efficient...
La Crucecita has a lot of hotels that are good options to the all-inclusive way of doing things....and La Mision is my top choice from what I have seen.

The hotel is located kitty-corner to the zocalo and is in the heart of La Crucecita....so the sounds of the town may be the only issue that some people might find disturbing....didn't bother me. The hotel does not have a pool, but a wide range of beaches are only a $6 taxi ride away.

Thanks Sherry and Sam !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motoged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell River
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed here last year and It was wonderful. We are returning Mar 20 for an extended stay in the Junior Suite. We are fairly independent travellers, hitting different beaches every day, touring around town and going for long walks away from the touristed areas. That said, it was very nice to have such a comfortable home base from which to venture. All the staff were very pleasant, patient and helpful. We had great meals at the Terracotta, kept a cooler full of cold drinks in our room, and ate at many places around the zocalo. We enjoyed local services such as the nearby laundromat , taxied everywhere, and even caught a couple of Canucks games at a pub around the corner. This year our visit extends into Holy Week so we are hoping to experience some Mexican culture...parades, processionals, and the joy of watching the Mexican families having fun, too. Thanks, Sam and Sherry. See you soon!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenGone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed here for one week to try something other then the A/I type of vacation. Pre booking months in advance with Sherry was easy who kept in touch and when they had a cancellation for our time period, she contacted us via email to let us know we could have the Master suite for our entire stay. Great customer service.

So we had booked the Master Suite, room 205 which overlooked the park, entrance to the school which had a smaller balcony. The room was clean with a huge bathroom and tiled bathtub. The shower had great water pressure with no temperature issues. The ammenities were limited with shampoo, soap, and drinking water. The towels were actually soft and fluffy with beach towels available when requested at front desk. The king size bed was SO comfortable and probably the best we have ever slept in away from home. If you ever needed more of anything you just had to ask. Also a cooler was filled with ice everyday for us which was awesome as there was no fridge.

A few minor points we could of seen being added was maybe 1 or 2 nightstands by the bed and maybe a fridge at least for the master suite?? There was no telephone, but I guess who needs one... maybe??? We did have a strange smell from the A/C unit but by day 3, staff had cleaned it (the filter maybe) with vinegar to remove that smell. When we used the A/C it worked well. We did have ants from the balcony doors and in the fresh flowers but we are in Mexico. Also maybe add a "do not disturb" sign....I know small things but a maid just walked into our room late one afternoon after a quick knock on the door and then just came in.....awkward if you know what I mean :)

Our biggest issue I guess was the noise, we knew we were staying in town and with that comes the sights and sounds. So a couple of times we attempted an afternoon siesta but it just wasn't possible. Noise came from outside but also inside the hallway during the day. The room next to us, under constuction/storage area had people going in and out ALL day long. The door slamming kind of got old. But by 11pm it was mostly quiet and we had a good night's sleep.

We were unable to see other rooms due to none being available to be seen.

Yes there was no pool and again we knew that but we did kind of miss it a few late afternoons.

Sherry was fantastic with advice of what to see, where to go and we recieved many stellar tips from her. We would choose a different beach/area everyday and just explore. We did the jet ski tour which was highly recommended.

The WiFi worked very well the first 3 days and then for whatever reason it became blocked on our tablet. We could never figure out why but Sherry graciously let us use their computer to check on our flights.

Terra Cotta restaurant which is attached to this hotel is also very convienent when staying here.

In summary this is a very good choice if you want to stay "IN" La Cruecita and explore with very good value. This was our 5th visit to Huatulco and during this 1 week we saw and did more than all of our other visits combined. We would not hesitate to stay here again but we may look into other options like renting a condo, villa, or B&B for a little less noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luv2travelManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our second extended-stay visit to this hotel did not disappoint:
- Sherry and Sam (owners for 20+ yrs) are on-site and managing day-to-day.
- Room are well-appointed, with tiled showers, comfortable mattresses and plenty of hot water.
- Air-conditioned rooms with cable television.
- Friendly, competent staff.
- Terrific location, adjacent to the La Crucecita plaza.
- Best restaurant in Huatulco - Cafe Terra Cotta - is located on the street floor of the hotel. Check Trip Advisor to confirm restaurant ranking.
- Very, very affordable.

Room Tip: We were in 206 for two weeks and loved the balcony view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed there Nov.6-14, 2013. I chose Mision de Los Arcos for your nr.1 rating and was
not disappointed....in fact it was more than we expected. The value of the accommodation is outstanding.....very well appointed throughout with A/C. Our room was cleaned each day with fine bed linens/pillows and the bed was very comfortable, better than a 4 star hotel at 1/4 of the price. The service is very good....if we wanted an ice bucket for wine, it was delivered to the room with a smile. Beach towels for the asking. Sherry arranged english speaking taxi drivers for our outings....and was extremely helpful. Her desk staff was very service orientated and cordial. Ideally located just a half block from the main Plaza of La Crucecita, the townsite of Huatulco. Their adjoining restaurant La Terra Cotta is excellent with a varied menu to suit all tastes. The coffee bar just outside the restaurant opens at 7am each morning with great coffees, lattes, and bakery goods, fresh juices at reasonable prices. I would highly recommend staying in La Crucecita which is just a short taxi or bus ride to the many beaches of Huatulco....and no better place than Mision de Los Arcos. The owners, Sam and Sherry are bilingual and very professional.....we look forward to returning some day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senior_royers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel, particularly for the great price. The rooms are spacious, peacefully decorated, and best of all the beds are premium. The well-trained and friendly staff are there to please and offer great tips regarding the local beaches. The restaurant is the best in Huatulco, every meal was delicious. And try the ice cream! If only there was a pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
0.6 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Princess Mayev Hotel
Princess Mayev Hotel
#10 of 47 in Huatulco
158 reviews
5.0 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision de los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision de los Arcos

Property: Mision de los Arcos
Address: Gardenia 902, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Mision De Los Arcos Hotel Huatulco
Mision De Los Arcos Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing