We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Life couldn't be better”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Huatulco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mision de los Arcos
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
St. Albert, Alberta
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Life couldn't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our stay at Mision de los Arcos was a definate 5 out of 5. Prior to booking, we checked out other reviews on Trip Advisor. To our delight all the positive vibes were not exagerated in any way.
The staff was very friendly and even the cleaning staff took the time to introduce themselves to us. Although there are no mini-fridges, we were graciously provided a cooler, which was filled with fresh ice on a daily basis. This was very handy, as we took the whole cooler to the beach with us on an out-of-town day excursion.
Our room was on the second floor with a peek at the zocalo from the balcony. It was great to sit there in the evenings and watch the activities in the park. The central location of the Mision made it a quick taxi ride or 30-40 minute walk to most other places we wanted to see.
The Terra Cotta restaurant in the same building had really good food, as well as the best value and great tasting margaritas. Unlike other establishments in the area, they are served in frosted margarita glasses and not little plastic cups.
Should we return to the area, the Mision de los Arcos is definately where we would stay again. A huge thank you to Sherry, Sammy and staff for making our Christmas holiday so special.

Room Tip: The zocalo is filled with people late into the night for holiday events, and music and laughter carr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GekoPablo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    75
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
108
293
73
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

After 2010 we stayed a second time in Mision de los Arcos. With one word: Perfect!!
Indiviudal and nice decorated rooms (this time Junior Suite), very clean, great bathroom, designer air-con, top mattresses, Sky-TV, always drinking-water in the room, beach towels, safe in the office and and and. The Owners Sam and Sherry have been always very friendly and helpful in all needs. Also the staff. We felt not like being in a hotel but rather like visiting friends in their home.
And for the breakfast you don't have to make more than a few steps. Terra Cotta the restaurant in the hotel offers the best breakfast in town to very moderate prices.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toki18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is our second stay at this hotel and the experience was once again fantastic, from all the staff, the front desk who were always polite and accommodating, the maids who did a great job cleaning our room to the dining room staff who provided great service for the meals we had at the Terra Cotta. We are returning to Huatulco in March 2013 and have already booked the Mision de los Arcos. It is central to everything for us and provides above standard accommodations with very reasonable pricing. The air-conditioning worked great and we had plenty of hot water, the beds are extremely comfortable and provide for a great night’s sleep. Our host, Sherry and Sam are wonderful people and made us feel at home at all times, helping us with organizing some of our activities or just around to chat with us, they seem to be available at all times and both speak English very well. If you are looking for a good, clean, convenient hotel with a great restaurant then this is the place for you, Wi-Fi is available in the rooms and the restaurant, don't hesitate to book this hotel. If you would like any further information please feel free to contact me at niblets4@rogers.com.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewcastleOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights while visiting the area and we were very pleased. Great location right off the zocalo so it was quiet, but a short walk to everything. Really good restuarant in the same building makes it even more attractive. There is also an excellent coffee shop in the building for coffee and pastry, and it is open early and late for maximum convenience. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rbyrnes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINTON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Satyed here recently for seven days. For the price of the standard room, it was very comfortable. King size bed, walk in shower, clean linens, locally themed decor, nice TV if you enjoy that, balcony to lounge on, and a/c that works to keep ya cool!

The hotel is committed to environmental policies and promotes re use of towels and bedding. Room was cleaned daily and all staff very friendly and helpful. Spanish is mostly spoken, however some restaurant staff and the owners speak english.

Terra Cota is a great restaurant also. Good menu, affordable prices for food quality which prepares local dishes in good style. Morning smoothies are great!

Will stay here again on my next return trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have enjoyed 17 restful nights at Mision de los Arcos so far this year and am headed back in a few weeks for at least three more. My wife and I are having a house built in Huatulco and that has required lots of short visits. I guess I would be considered more a business traveller than a vacationer. Mision de los Arcos offers everything I require. The location is super convenient, being only a short walk to restaurants, retailers, architects, and lawyers, even the movies. The staff are efficient and friendly. The rooms are clean and simple. The beds are comfortable and the ceiling fans effective. I don't use air so can't comment on the conditioners or the TV. There is always lots of hot water. This is a very straightforward hotel. What you see is what you get. There are no gimmicks or angles. The restaurant, Terra Cotta, is the best place in town to eat. The menu provides an excellent variety of Mexican and North America dishes, always fresh and tasty. The prices are a little higher than other restaurants in the town square but the food is worth it. Wi-Fi internet is variable. Usually it is fast, but occasionally it disappears for no obvious reason.
Sherry and Sam are great hosts, helpful and accommodating. They create a homey, relaxed atmosphere which keeps me coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Before staying at Mision de los Arcos, I spent a week at an all inclusive resort on Bahia Conejos. I liked Mision de los Arcos better. Granted it did not have the "luxury factor", but my room was beautiful and had everything I needed except a coffee maker. It was on a corner with 2 balconys overlooking the town square with a table and chair to sit and have a glass of something cool or read and with beautiful bougainvillea on the wall. The bed was hugh and extremely comfortable with fine cotton sheets. I am a painter and was looking for subject matter. I got it here. A lovely small boutique hotel with terrific owners and the best staff. I can't wait to go back. They did have a big flat screen tv and wifi as well so that was a big plus for todays traveler. Great breakfast at the Terra Cotta restaurant. I highly recommend Also the room was clean, clean, clean, and the AC worked great. It was 96 outside when I was there. I cannot say enough good things.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newtraveler391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
0.6 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Huatulco
Holiday Inn Huatulco
#9 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
5.0 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mision de los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mision de los Arcos

Property: Mision de los Arcos
Address: Gardenia 902, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huatulco
#1 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Mision De Los Arcos Hotel Huatulco
Mision De Los Arcos Huatulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing