We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going to stay here next time” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Real Zaashila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camino Real Zaashila
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Patricia, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Going to stay here next time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We took at taxi from our hotel in Huatulco to spend a day at another beach area. Went in through the main gates at Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco and it looked beautiful. They let us in to use the beach (Tangolunda beach) and their lovely large pool for free. Occupancy was down around 30% beginning of January so not many tourists there at this resort. It looks wonderful from rooms with swim outs to regular nice rooms. We had nachos and drink in one of the bars with the hotel and it was great; service, quality. The beach is steep and waves so not great for swimming. There are some sun shelters and lawn chairs along the beach. I would go there and stay for sure. Must be a 4 1/2 or 5 star place.

Room Tip: We didn't stay in a room but just visited the resort. I would definitely book this one next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DPPWHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    205
    101
    42
    29
See reviews for
189
241
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had an amazing week at Camino Real Zaashila. We had one issue with our room-air conditioner was broken...we were moved to a bigger room with a separate bedroom also with a plunge pool but not as nice of a view, but still very beautiful! The beach, pool and restaurants all were excellent. Was so nice to have a relaxing, peaceful vacation without blaring music around the pool. Very friendly staff-happy to help in any way they can. Juan at the beach bar was amazing!! Looking forward to returning again!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dufffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our second vacation at Camino Real, and both stays were amazing. The hotel is clean, and beautiful. The staff is beyond friendly; when you stay at Camino Real Zaashilla, you feel like you are home. Staff members take care of your every need with a smile and a pleasant word. Our room was clean, spacious, our private pool was clean, as were all the grounds areas. I almost hate to tell you how wonderful this hotel is, because the best part is the peacefulness and tranquility. Not "Las Vegas" accommodations or high rises, and not a huge crowd of people. The grounds and hotel are a mixture of old and new Mexico. Transportation to the airport and wonderful towns surrounding the hotel is efficient and inexpensive. No need for a car. There are many, many good restaurants and shops all around the area. My only hope would be that the hotel itself would offer better hours for food and drink availability so one can chose more often to stay on property in the evenings.

Room Tip: This visit we stayed in a beach front room with a private pool....heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandiBrea_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

We just came back from there. This was our first trip to Huatulco, and we enjoyed the area tremendously.

We chose Camino Real as it is a smaller resort, with no disco or night entertainment, as we were looking for peace and quiet. We had that for 5 days, unfortunately it seems to be a popular spot for events. On our first night on Friday there was a wedding, and our second night on Saturday a quinceanera (like a sweet 16) party, very loud and very late (past 1am). If you have a room facing the pool it makes it impossible to sleep. We didn't get any notice and no apologies, and the waiters during the day told us this happens all the time so that's something to keep in mind. There was also a convention from Wednesday to Friday, so restaurants were quite busy.

Outside of that, it's been a wonderful experience. The food was good, although it could use a bit more variety. Breakfast buffet was very nice, and they changed some items daily with local specialties - everything was tasty. Lunch is always at the one a la carte and it got a bit repetitive, especially for my husband who is allergic to all seafood. The menu only has 3 or 4 non-seafood options so that was a bit unfortunate for him. Dinner was also a la carte, and although there are 2 restaurants, only one is open in the evening (they alternate nights). Azul Profundo by the beach is wonderful, very romantic. Chez Benni is more casual. Both had great food, but again can get a bit repetitive since the menu stays the same every day. We had room service a couple of times and it's a bit of a different menu, all was extremely good.

We had the all-inclusive with Air Transat, and we had to sign for everything all the time, which was a little bit annoying at times, since you had to wait for the bill every time you ate. But otherwise it was fine, no big deal. For tipping, you can register your credit card on arrival so you can add tips on the bill and not carry cash at all. Otherwise, cash is fine as in any other all-inclusive.

Service was great. Some people complained it was a bit slow, but it's Mexico, and really, where do you have to be in such a hurry on a vacation? ;) Anything we requested was provided with a smile, and everyone was helpful and friendly.

Room was huge, massive bathroom, nice balcony, comfy bed, and impeccably clean. And that held through the whole resort, all the restaurants, public toilets, common areas, pathways, everything was always spotless. There was water left in the room daily, and the mini-bar (all included) was stocked daily with pop, beer, juice, and snacks.

Pool is huge and very pleasant. We stayed on the beach, mostly. It could use a few more palapas, if you go on an excursion in the morning there won't be anything left in the shade in the afternoon. Beach is fantastic, water is clear and perfect temperature. Nice waves, and the beach is pretty much private as it is in its own little bay. There are vendors on the beach but they are not pushy.

Overall, a fantastic time, and we'd go there again.

Tips:

- Cab into town is fixed price at 45 pesos, very safe, and a fun shopping experience.
- To buy mescal, any of the markets in town will have decent bottles for decent prices, as well as cream of mescal, chocolate, mole, and coffee. For tequila, ask your cab driver to drop you at a liquor store in La Crucecita, you will save a bundle. I bought Don Julio 70 for 635 pesos instead of 900 at the airport.
- We took a day trip on a boat as a private excursion. $150 USD all in for the 2 of us (and no other passengers), included snorkel, drinks, fishing, and whatever we felt like doing. Our guides Antonio and his wife Jodi were very knowledgeable and friendly, and it was well worth the money. Antonio and Jodi can be found on the beach at Camino Real when they are not doing tours. Absolutely recommending them.
- Also went on a private tour with Oscar at Xpert Travel (they are the company working with Transat), and we booked him for the whole day to drive into the mountains and again basically cater to our every whim. He took us to La Pluma up in the cloud forest, then to Pochutla for a bit of shopping. He is very well versed in the local history and culture (he was our guide on another tour earlier to La Copalita archaeological site), so he can explain what you see in a very knowledgeable and lively way. Another unreserved recommendation.

Room Tip: Building 1 to 8 are closest to the pool and restaurant, but will be noisy if there is an event. Grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ysabelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

we were unable to visit Huatulco last winter, but spent two weeks at the Zaashila this year. After visiting every hotel in the Hotel Zone it is still the best. Most of the help remembered us even after two years.

the room price is great. One problem is the prices for food and drinks. the hotel needs to be more competitive with the economy. The grounds were even cleaner than in the past. Also the town is more alive, cleaner and just as welcoming. received many comments from visitors who were staying in the all inclusive resorts near by. Everyone of them said the Zaashila is what they had hoped they would find. If you want a wild time the Zaashila is not for you!

Room Tip: choose rooms 1-36. ground floor rooms have their own wading pool. next level better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BigIdaho533739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan V, Director General at Camino Real Zaashila, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Hello,

Thank you very much for share your experience at the Camino Real Zaashila. We hope to have you back as a guest in the near future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed four days at the Zaashila; booked independently and opted for no all-inclusive.

Enjoyed the room and pool....the quiet ambiance and low key feel were refreshing after staying the previous four days at the mega complex that is Las Brisas.

Hands down the best pool and beach front in Hualtulco...and yes, that includes the pools at Secrets where we also stayed.

Pool bar/service was adequate....but be prepared to fetch your own drinks upon occasion or you might die of dehydration. Main hotel restaurant was okay....some dishes were great, others marginal. The beach bar restaurant had better food but service was quite scattered....at one point we asked four different waiters for mustard and pico de gallo....finally got the mustard; still waiting on the pico...

Would stay again for the pool and the rooms with their great wine sipping balconies, but would plan on eating more off-property.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank SoloYYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is a beautiful resort !! The room was huge and clean. The view was gorgeous... I believe all rooms have great views... The landscaping was lush and tropical and beautiful against the ocean. Food was fantastic!!
The have just started becoming all-inclusive, so here are some things they need to work on:
-service at restaurant is deadly slow, I mean really slow
-bars don't stay open late enough
-when locals are there, we bec resortsame invisible
-no water sports equipment - have to rent from a vendor on beach
-no evening entertainment
But the ocean was beautiful...snorkeling off beach was fantastic (bring your own stuff)
Great place for quiet vacation - needs to address above to compete with true "all-inclusive"
Oh yeah - always a beach or pool chair available

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Corrinne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.1 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 5 in Crucecita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Zaashila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Zaashila

Property: Camino Real Zaashila
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez Lote 5 Bahias de Tangolunda | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Zaashila 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco has a unique design, with a Contemporary Mediterranean style; this place submerged in an astonishing natural surrounding, where one can enjoy a swimming pool like no other, 120 meters in length, was sculpted in front of the complex, with a view of the bay and the extensive blue of the Pacific. A masterpiece of the Mexican Architect Javier Sordo Madaleno, (who is one of the most renowned architects worldwide and is specialized in designing tourist projects), who made this dream a reality, and on April 2, 1993 one of the most beautiful beach hotels in Mexico opened its doors.Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco is located in the beautiful Tangolunda Bay, one out of the nine bays of Huatulco in the state of Oaxaca. A hotel embracing the shoreline and boasting an exclusive beach, 25 minutes away from the airport. RESTAURANTS - BEL LA GRILL (Grilled fish): The perfect place to enjoy the breakfast (buffet) with a beautiful bay view. Open from 7:00 - 11:00 H. - BEACH CLUB: Exquisite fresh seafood and snacks. Also you can appreciate the spectacular sunset. Open from 12:00 - 18:00H. - CHEZ BINNI (Welcome home): The most select international cuisine, with a regional touch. Open from 18:00 - 23:00 H. - AZUL PROFUNDO: A place under a starry sky. This is a new delicious gastronomic concept with a Thai - Mex fusion, and a slight tendency of French cuisine. Open from 19:00 - 24:00 H. (Reservation required). - BAR BITZA (SUNSET): Your favorite beverage in a relaxed environment. Open from 17:00 - 23:00 H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Camino Real Zaashila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing