We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can’t wait to get back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Real Zaashila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Camino Real Zaashila
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Can’t wait to get back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

We are so excited to be returning to Camino Real Zaashila at the end of January for our 7th annual stay. The hotel staff is the most competent, accommodating and friendly that we have encountered anywhere. Combine the great service with the magnificent setting on a gorgeous secluded beach and you have the recipe for a perfect relaxing vacation.
The hotel restaurants are very good and accommodate special dietary needs. The most romantic of the restaurants has only a few candlelit tables that overlook Tangalunda Bay. It’s a magic spot.
The standard hotel rooms are spacious and well appointed with marble floors, comfy beds and a balcony overlooking the ocean and are kept meticulously clean. The same cleaning lady has been pampering us for the last 4 years and we look forward to seeing her smiling face again this year.
Happy Hour at the beach bar is a great place to meet other hotel guests and reestablish old acquaintances. Like us, many of the guests return year after year.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean and have great views. Some have plunge pools. One and two bedroom suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ktmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    205
    101
    42
    29
See reviews for
189
240
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We booked this trip Last Minute through Escapes.ca and were quite surprised to find that as other guests mentioned the Resort is just becoming an All Inclusive and having to sign for all your meals and drinks was a pain.

As we were travelling with our older sons (23 & 22) I was quite worried about the lack of entertainment. Surprisingly, both Sons adapted quite well and we spent quite a bit of time in the Bar Bitza with our awesome server Gustavo. We played cards, pool and had lots of bevies. We also ordered off of the room service menu and the food was very simple with none of the heavy, rich sauces that were served in the restaurants. You can order Room Service and eat it while you are in the Bar Bitza. The Pizza from the beach ovens was really good too.

The New Year's Extravaganza was very well organized - loads of great food and right next to the Beach. We had spent the day at an ATV Beach excursion and were super tired so we had dinner and headed up to the Room which turned out perfect as we were able to watch the phenomenal fireworks right from our deck. Excellent !!!

Huatulco is beautiful, the weather was awesome, only downfall is that the Golf Course was closed.

If you get a chance check out the River Rafting with Aldo and Winby - it was a great day !!! (Even after getting flipped out of the raft).

The two Transat ladies Sophie and Izabella were wonderful and spoke very good English.

This turned out to be a great family holiday and we spent all of our time together which in this day and age is amazing with older children.

I think that once the All Inclusive issue gets straightened out this will be a great place for a family to take a peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great view. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan V, Director General at Camino Real Zaashila, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you very much for letting us know you experience, it´s great to know that you spent a great time and enjoyed our new years eve party. Come back soon to this your home away from home!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel almost has a boutique feel to it. Not huge and impersonal like the Barcelo just down the beach, but private and serene.

We were some of the first travellers to have an all-inclusive with the hotel through Transat Holidays. No bracelets to wear, but it was awkward and slow at times, as each meal needed to be "signed for" on the bill. They do not seem set up for the charter traveller yet, although I expect that will improve with time.

Pros:
Very Mexican. We met many families and had a great social time meeting new people.
Beautiful room. We had a very nicely done-up room with marble flooring, huge bathroom, good shower, stocked mini-bar with beers, pops, chips and cookies (although we needed to remind the maid once to refill it). We also had one of the "club" rooms with a private plunge pool. Very fun for the kids. White fluffy duvets. Flat-screen tv.
Beautiful grounds. It's worth a walk around the resort over to the tennis courts. Many iguanas, rabbits, bats, and other critters.
Stunning pool. Freeform and long, with lots of room for everyone. Small wading pool for kids and an unheated jacuzzi at the end.
Good to excellent food. Mexican flair included! Love the clay-pot coffee and I tried crickets in my morning omelette. Seafood was particularly excellent in the beach restaurant. Steaks were good to very good and well cooked.
Friendly service, albeit sometimes slow.
Exceptional beach. I have rarely seen as good a beach. It's blocked off on one side (Barcelo/Dreams) by a large outcropping of rock that you can cross over, but no one does. I took a look and their beach was SO BUSY!! The other side is blocked by cliffs, so Camino Real essentially has it's own private beach. Very very quiet. Good swimming.
Snorkeling onsite. The far west side of the beach has a small reef. We swam it multiple days and saw so many kids of fish! Two kids of puffer fish, many smaller fish and spotted eagle rays. This snorkeling was as good as the tour we went on, although smaller site.


Cons
Stairs. Everywhere. Not suitable for strollers or anyone with walking difficulty.
Kids club. Only open for part of our vacation and closed for the year on Jan 5. My kids didn't want to go at the beginning and almost missed their chance. Went on the last day it was open by shear luck and had a wonderful time. Made t-shirts and hats, then painted their hands on the wall by the pool. A fun remembrance, but for only two weeks a year? Check in advance if the kids club is open.
No playground or other activities for kids.
Food can be slow. Especially in the restaurants. We found it was faster to order at the bar or even room service.
No evening entertainment or activities. Could be a plus. Makes it very mellow and relaxing.
Beds are very hard. Fine for my heavier husband, harder on lighter me!

I would recommend and return. The whole Huatulco area is amazing and extrememly beautiful, but be prepared for a different kind of holiday. This is NOT Cancun, Mayan Riviera or Puerto Vallarta!

Room Tip: Get a club room with the plunge pool if it's in the budget. Try for one of the rooms on the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lesleyanneb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan V, Director General at Camino Real Zaashila, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi, first of all I wanna thank you for giving us the chance to know how was your experience here at the hotel, your comments are very important for us to improve our service. We hope to see you back soon in this your home away from home.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is great for anyone who is looking for a beautiful and friendly place to escape Canadian winter and just relax. Perfect weather, not crowded (nearly private) beach, pleasing architectural design and compact layout, excellent food, friendly staff, no evening shows, easy access to wide range of activities by choice (from professional massage to jet-skiing, snorkeling, sailing, running etc.). Our all inclusive package included impressive New Years party (dinner, dancing, fireworks and more) and it was well worth the money. We loved the overall atmosphere and the mood of this hotel.
Useful advice: turn off A/C just before going to sleep (if you want to have very quiet room at night - it will not get hot in Dec and January).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan V, Director General at Camino Real Zaashila, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We will wait for you!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannington, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were the 1st of 22 all inclusive vacationers at this resort - it was a little bumpy at first but Sophia from Transat Holidays had them straightened out in no time. The hotel was a bit dated and beds were a bit hard but the room was spotless. The grounds and views were beautiful. All the washrooms in this resort were very clean. They didn't have any activities or shows at night which was great. It was a very peaceful vacation. The service here was great. One of the items in the omelet bar was grasshoppers - I didn't try lol. The food here was quite good but with only a couple of places to choose from it got kind of boring. Taxi to town was around $3.50. There are many places to eat in town. One thing that is nice is that while in town the vendors don't bother you and the town felt very safe.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Family Vacation

This hotel is OK. The beach is beautiful and it has nice view, but the $$$$ that they charge is not worth the cost. We booked this hotel room through a web site and the hotel's promotion photo showed a room that looked nice, but when we arrived, the room was not what we booked. It looked like they had done the old Bait and Switch tactic. The managers were very arrogant that they really didn't care. We were traveling during the holidays, which is when wealthy Mexicans travel, and if you are not one of them, then you are not treated well by the management.

The staff were very nice and pleasant to talk to. The location and town are very nice and worth the visit. However, I will not come back to this hotel, but instead (for the amount of money this hotel charges) would rent a condo or stay at the neighboring hotel (Dreams) which shares the same bay and looks OK. The room furnishings were outdated and need to be upgraded. The restaurant food was passable (at least we didn't get sick), but not recommendable.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Guillermo M Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Although we've travelled to Mexico at least once per year for over 20 years, this was our first time in Huatulco. We wanted to try somewhere new. We stayed at Camino Real during Christmas week - Dec. 21-28.
I looked at Trip Advisor and liked the reviews for Camino Real -- quiet, private bay, and the photos looked nice. I tried to book a suite directly with the resort, but had a difficult time, so went through My Huatulco Vacation -- Big mistake. 40% premium (actual room cost showed up on bill at resort), and little, if any, value-added.
As advertised, the location is first rate. Private and secluded bay -- very different from Dreams, etc. which I walked through during our stay -- Camino Real was quiet and calm. Perfect for us.
However, we don't plan on going back, as the resort itself wasn't up to standards for us and certainly not worth the price (even at the reduced resort rate).
As has been reported in several reviews, the rooms are "dated", but I would take it a step further as compared to our other experiences in Nuevo Vallarta, Playa Del Carmen, Cabo, etc. Our room (two-bedroom suite) was more than tired. The layout is "OK" -- two bedrooms on either side of a main area and breakfast area. The bathrooms are actually very nice and the furniture is OK, but our room was drab and "old" feeling. Biggest area of disappointment was the "kitchenette" which was ill-appointed and the most dated. It had a 70s era refrigerator that made constant loud and abrupt noises that I was unaware a fridge could make. Loud enough that it would wake me up at night -- like a bucket of rocks being dropped. As far as appointments go, that was about it -- no coffee maker, no microwave, no utensils, nothing. There was also a door that went to nowhere in this area, which concerned me because it had gaps around it and I killed not one, but two decent sized scorpions during our stay. My concern was the locked door led to an outside area that was unattended and bugs, etc. could come in.
Each bedroom had an old crt TV. One was barely watchable. I hear what people say about not spending time in the room, so TV not being a concern, but I have two teenagers, and they would watch in the evenings. We'd brought DVDs (including Elf for watching as a Christmas tradition). Every suite we've ever stayed in had a DVD player, or at least the option to rent one. Not here.
Also, no TV in the main area to watch anything together -- only the bedrooms.
We did have the pool balcony, but didn't use it much. We'd rather have a larger balcony to enjoy, but the balcony we did have had old and dirty furniture on it -- two chairs and a small table.
The resort units are stacked, and it's nice that each unit has an ocean view. However, it does come at a price for the rear units -- the view is only so-so, as it is at a good distance and can be obstructed. The other issue is the walk to the room, as has been mentioned. It's a good hike up a "goat hill" and then some stairs. Not a big deal, but could be trouble for some. It was definitely a hassle twice, when we came back late from dinner and none of our keys worked, so someone had to go back down and then up again to let everyone in.
So, rooms and amenities... not so good. Also, charge for Wi-Fi and even local calls.
One last note on the not so good... I had read numerous times that "even when the hotel was full" it seemed empty -- no one around and no crowd on the beach or at the pool. I can only guess that the hotel was no where near full. Christmas week was definitely crowded and the hotel was likely full. Lots of people constantly at the reception desk, at the pool and on the beach. "Beach chair bingo" was in full effect, with most beach palapas "reserved" by 6:30 am (I was unwilling to hike down any earlier). Frustratingly, 80% of these same palapas remained unoccupied by noon.
On the plus side... the staff is very good, especially the Bell Staff and Restaurant Staff. Both were very responsive, positive and engaging. The bell staff helped us with local information and always had a smile and a hello as we walked by. The restaurant staff worked very hard to support the crowd, but remained engaging, as well. We ate mostly lunch at the beach restaurant -- food and service was excellent (go to La Crusecita for dinner -- lots of choices). Maid service was excellent -- they cleaned every day during Christmas week, and did a great job (they also sprayed the interior/exterior after our scorpion incidents). Reception was the weakest of the bunch. Very nice, but probably the least spoken English (next to the maids), making it difficult to give/receive information.
Overall, we'll likely look somewhere else for our next trip. Love the area and the beaches, but not so much Camino Real.

Room Tip: Two-room suites are available only in the middle and rear units. Single rooms are up front, and adj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liner1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,365 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.1 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 5 in Crucecita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Zaashila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Zaashila

Property: Camino Real Zaashila
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez Lote 5 Bahias de Tangolunda | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Zaashila 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco has a unique design, with a Contemporary Mediterranean style; this place submerged in an astonishing natural surrounding, where one can enjoy a swimming pool like no other, 120 meters in length, was sculpted in front of the complex, with a view of the bay and the extensive blue of the Pacific. A masterpiece of the Mexican Architect Javier Sordo Madaleno, (who is one of the most renowned architects worldwide and is specialized in designing tourist projects), who made this dream a reality, and on April 2, 1993 one of the most beautiful beach hotels in Mexico opened its doors.Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco is located in the beautiful Tangolunda Bay, one out of the nine bays of Huatulco in the state of Oaxaca. A hotel embracing the shoreline and boasting an exclusive beach, 25 minutes away from the airport. RESTAURANTS - BEL LA GRILL (Grilled fish): The perfect place to enjoy the breakfast (buffet) with a beautiful bay view. Open from 7:00 - 11:00 H. - BEACH CLUB: Exquisite fresh seafood and snacks. Also you can appreciate the spectacular sunset. Open from 12:00 - 18:00H. - CHEZ BINNI (Welcome home): The most select international cuisine, with a regional touch. Open from 18:00 - 23:00 H. - AZUL PROFUNDO: A place under a starry sky. This is a new delicious gastronomic concept with a Thai - Mex fusion, and a slight tendency of French cuisine. Open from 19:00 - 24:00 H. (Reservation required). - BAR BITZA (SUNSET): Your favorite beverage in a relaxed environment. Open from 17:00 - 23:00 H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Camino Real Zaashila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing