We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Zaashila
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel! We had a room with ocean view and found the beds confortable. The breakfast was excellent, and was next to the pool and the beach so you had a nice view. Dinner [restaurant bini] was disappointing but the service was good. The beachbar served delicious sandwiches, and tasty cocktails.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pascale c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 665 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

The Camino Real may not be for everyone; situated on it's own cove, it presents a very peaceful and private setting. Loved the view; the well maintained grounds and gardens; and the pool. Beach is swimmable, but can be rough at times. I'm not a strong swimmer so won't venture out if sea is rough, but still managed to swim quite a few times. You do not see the neighbouring hotels; therefore it adds to the feeling of privacy which is what we were looking for. If you are looking for all inclusive, activities, noise, people, action, this is not for you. We had wanted to come here for many years, we finally did and were not disappointed. Prior to our arrival, we had planned to eat out at the many restaurants in both Santa Cruz and La Crucicita, but found both the atmosphere and food to our liking at "Azul Profundo" in the hotel. While, the restaurant is not open every day, we "ate in" at every opportunity. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed it !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maracescato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great experience, very quiet and private. Beautiful, manicured scenery, views from our balcony were exceptional. The privecy of the beach was amazing it made all the difference.Only downside was the timming of our travel which was the last week in Jan, the hotel was a bit DEAD.Overall a wonderful trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mahnaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Camino Real is a gorgeous property on a private bay,which makes it even more special.It is not cheek to jowl with other resorts.The grounds are immaculate.We opted for an upgraded room with ocean view and private plunge pool..a treat,but well worth the extra cost for views and luxury.The restaurant's were not all open when we were there,probably due to a quiet period.This place is also not so " touristy",on the quiet side,which was exactly what we were looking for.Very friendly staff and food was more than adequate..no gift or magazine shops.
Overall,a very pretty and relaxing property..

Room Tip: Worth the upgrade costs to get a room closer to the pool and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spiritedtraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Loved this hotel, it's in a great place: Huatulco! We had a room with a private pool in our terrace, enjoyed both our private pool and the giant public one. Breakfast was great beachside, service was excellent. We had an interesting experience one night as we had a small intruder: a small scorpion, the good thing was we caught it.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anlof9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Zaashila for two weeks and loved it. Of all the places we saw in Huatulco this one seemed to be the most private, set apart from the strip of other hotels by a rocky outcropping. It has a lovely sandy beach which is good for swimming and snorkelling. The hotel is also visually charming, more reminiscent of southern Spain, with its white washed buildings terraced up the hillside overflowing with an abundance of archways and lovely gardens. Although there are quite a few rooms it seems well designed and manages to still feel spacious and private. The rooms were clean and simply, but nicely, decorated. The staff were friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank igirlVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We love the Zaashila and Huatulco. We have traveled to almost every Latin American Country (missing just 5 within Central and South America) and to every resort town on both the west and east coasts of Mexico. Our first trip to Huatulco was in 1993-4 and then again in 1994-5 when driving there was the easiest way to get there. The weather in December and January is some of the best you will find anywhere, seriously! The people for the most part are some of the most sincere and kind Latinos you will meet. We spent 6 years in a row from 2000 to 2006 every Christmas and New Years while our son was small. It is an area that has minimal crime, next to no beach peddlers or timeshare pushers. We returned this last December 2012 / January 2013 after 7 years traveling to other corners of the globe and were amazed at how many of the staff still remembered us like old friends! Granted every hotel we have stayed at has either some outdated furnishings or amenities or if they are brand new still have bugs to work out but such is the case anywhere you go. We enjoyed seeing the things that were refreshed and felt a little time warp for things that hadn't.
Huatulco itself has grown in almost every area which leaves you sad for the times when it was a secret but happy for the locals and how they have many new opportunities.
We have always stayed in the one or two bedroom suites or condos when at the Zaashila which for longer stays gives you a real chance to settle in and super relax. When you become a returning patron you can begin to ask for some little extras and price breaks. To be truthful we have stayed at the 5 star all inclusive cattle drive hotels and for short stays (less than 2 weeks) there are benefits but you do not get to experience what the area truly has to offer.
If you come to the Zaashila to have a gorgeous beach, incredible pool, perfect weather, great food at the hotel and surrounding locales, the chance to meet very nice people you’ll be hard pressed to find a more ideal place, if you are coming to kill brain cells by partying endlessly thankfully there are better places you can go. When you come here relish the things you like and don’t lose sleep over the things you don’t and you will find this to be one of your best vacation memories.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Lloyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.3 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
4,144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 47 in Huatulco
212 reviews
2.4 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.6 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 47 in Huatulco
3,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Zaashila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Zaashila

Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez Lote 5 Bahias de Tangolunda | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Price Range: $155 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Zaashila 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco has a unique design, with a Contemporary Mediterranean style; this place submerged in an astonishing natural surrounding, where one can enjoy a swimming pool like no other, 120 meters in length, was sculpted in front of the complex, with a view of the bay and the extensive blue of the Pacific. A masterpiece of the Mexican Architect Javier Sordo Madaleno, (who is one of the most renowned architects worldwide and is specialized in designing tourist projects), who made this dream a reality, and on April 2, 1993 one of the most beautiful beach hotels in Mexico opened its doors.Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco is located in the beautiful Tangolunda Bay, one out of the nine bays of Huatulco in the state of Oaxaca. A hotel embracing the shoreline and boasting an exclusive beach, 25 minutes away from the airport. RESTAURANTS - BEL LA GRILL (Grilled fish): The perfect place to enjoy the breakfast (buffet) with a beautiful bay view. Open from 7:00 - 11:00 H. - BEACH CLUB: Exquisite fresh seafood and snacks. Also you can appreciate the spectacular sunset. Open from 12:00 - 18:00H. - CHEZ BINNI (Welcome home): The most select international cuisine, with a regional touch. Open from 18:00 - 23:00 H. - AZUL PROFUNDO: A place under a starry sky. This is a new delicious gastronomic concept with a Thai - Mex fusion, and a slight tendency of French cuisine. Open from 19:00 - 24:00 H. (Reservation required). - BAR BITZA (SUNSET): Your favorite beverage in a relaxed environment. Open from 17:00 - 23:00 H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Zaashila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing