We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A FABULOUS PLACE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camino Real Zaashila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Camino Real Zaashila
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A FABULOUS PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and two friends just returned from a two week vacation at Camino Real. It was our first time in Huatulco (a hidden treasure on the Pacific deep in the southern Mexican state of Oaxaca) and Camino Real. The facilities, the views, the pool and the beach are all incredibly fabulous. But the quality of each of those is surpassed by only one thing--THE SERVICE.
The service at the hotel is above and beyond any I have experienced anywhere in the world. The service is personal, polite, immediate and thorough, and if you have special needs they go beyond anything you would expect to see that you are taken care of.

Room Tip: Get a room with the best view of the ocean that is available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Padrecito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    205
    101
    42
    29
See reviews for
189
241
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I am currently staying at CR Huatulco and agree with others, the setting is beautiful, the hotel is physically what you would expect for the grade, however there seems to be a lack of training in basic service for some staff. I arrived for breakfast on my first day and was not greeted nor shown/told anything, found my own table and got on with it... Some level of welcome would have been nice! The service on the beach is slow and sporadic and some of the waiters in the restaurant for dinner would clearly be better working at McD's. Finished my main course, no offer of dessert or coffee just a quizical look from the waiter... I asked for the bill and left.

That said other staff are exceptionally polite and helpful, however at the moment I have to say I am disappointed. It would seem to be a bit of a CR backwater where standards in customer service have been allowed to slip and nobody is really keeping their eye on the big picture.

In all this is a shame as there is good potential here for a great hotel in a prime location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EJM1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
141 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Nice quiet hotel with friendly staff. However, not a hotel for those that enjoy luxarious rooms, a nice wuiet beach and wonderful meals. While it's very well located, this hotel's beach is not recomended with people with children unless you want to spend the day at the pool. The beach has a steep slope attracting big waves with a lot of schells more suited for experience strong swimmers. The food is not out of the ordenary and it's quiet expensive for the value. If you need to eat, hire the $3 dollar cab and go to the village. You'll save more than 60% and you'll eat much better. The hotel also has a lot of stairs and it's not easy to get around. The room are far too simple and do not go with the design of the hoyel.

Room Tip: choose the rooms that are close to the beach, all the others are too far and the view are not that g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank celta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

A great place to relax and escape. Recomended for couples but you can also find families. The rooms are big but a small renovation will make them look better.

The food and services are good and reasonable prices.

I will definetely stay here on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VaneBoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Camino Real Huatulco is a nice hotel with a lovely scenery, you are truly sorrounded by nature. Although rooms furniture looks a little bit old ( maybe Camino Real can improve on that) the services , the people , the pool and the beach were just awesome. This hotel in my opinion is for families , just married and people who just want to relax enjoy the view , have a nice drink or have a nice meal.

If you plan to go with teenagers or you are the kind of guy that is looking for night life , Discos, and Bar, huatulco is not the option.

For an extra fee you will get a private pool in your room. For honeymooners this should be a must. For bigger families I might not suggest this option since you might probably take advantage of the great pool

Food is very good, try the sea platter aand if you are in the mood of having something new ask for the grasshoppers. This is a traditional local plate , very delicious

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IvanMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I use to stay in this hotel with great atmosphere and an excelent pool in my 4 years living in Mexico.
For the price was the best option, breakfast was great and I'd never ate in the hotel due to the excelent choices in town. There is an restaurant right in front of the hotel which has the best shrimp pasta i've ever seem. The hotel pool is really great, you have pratically a private beach, people treat you good. They offer some rooms with a private pool and I stayed there once and it's not worth since the hotel pool is so much better. Take a car and in 20 minutes you are in Barra de la cruz, one of the best righthanders in the world while your girl and family stay comfortable in the hotel. Can't miss.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akb06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuxtla Gutierrez, Mexico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I just arrived home from spending a 3 day weekend at Camino Real Zaashila in Bahías de Huatulco. It's like... another world. The first night I thought it was too "uppitty" for me, but it's not: it's very welcoming to everyone, relaxing, uplifting, enjoyable, and just plain great.

The beach is gorgeous -- you can't swim there, but there are swimmable beaches very close by. If you have children, I advise taking or renting a car to make moving to them easier, and I strongly recommend Playa la Entrega, at a 5-10 minutes drive from the hotel. Or you can just walk the hotel's beach (very secluded and enjoyable) and swim the huge pool. The pool is not deep, my 8 year old could walk it from one point to the next, but it's loooooooooong, and by looooooooong I mean... what? 500 feet, I think it said.

The rooms are nice, roomy, and clean. Nothing exceptional, but certainly comfortable. The ones we took had little private pools, which we also made sure to enjoy.

The staff is very nice. Not just nice as 'polite', but they have that Mexican warmness that is naturally amicable and easy going (as well as polite). The food is OK: I enjoyed the buffet breakfast a lot (particularly the 'pancita'), but the seafood at noon was average in my opinion.

The only downside is it's a bit pricey for me to be able to return any time soon. WiFi at the room was not free (or cheap), and you have to pay for it per computer, not per room. And the rooms should have a coffee brewer (I said that in the suggestions box, hehe) :)

Oh, and the birds! There are birds everywhere, they sing all day long, it's AWESOME!

Truly a great experience, I strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: I took a ground-level room, they have a little private pool in the terrace. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alinalitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.6 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
2.5 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.1 mi away
Villas Fa-Sol
Villas Fa-Sol
#1 of 5 in Crucecita
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Zaashila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Zaashila

Property: Camino Real Zaashila
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez Lote 5 Bahias de Tangolunda | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Camino Real Zaashila 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco has a unique design, with a Contemporary Mediterranean style; this place submerged in an astonishing natural surrounding, where one can enjoy a swimming pool like no other, 120 meters in length, was sculpted in front of the complex, with a view of the bay and the extensive blue of the Pacific. A masterpiece of the Mexican Architect Javier Sordo Madaleno, (who is one of the most renowned architects worldwide and is specialized in designing tourist projects), who made this dream a reality, and on April 2, 1993 one of the most beautiful beach hotels in Mexico opened its doors.Camino Real Zaashila Huatulco is located in the beautiful Tangolunda Bay, one out of the nine bays of Huatulco in the state of Oaxaca. A hotel embracing the shoreline and boasting an exclusive beach, 25 minutes away from the airport. RESTAURANTS - BEL LA GRILL (Grilled fish): The perfect place to enjoy the breakfast (buffet) with a beautiful bay view. Open from 7:00 - 11:00 H. - BEACH CLUB: Exquisite fresh seafood and snacks. Also you can appreciate the spectacular sunset. Open from 12:00 - 18:00H. - CHEZ BINNI (Welcome home): The most select international cuisine, with a regional touch. Open from 18:00 - 23:00 H. - AZUL PROFUNDO: A place under a starry sky. This is a new delicious gastronomic concept with a Thai - Mex fusion, and a slight tendency of French cuisine. Open from 19:00 - 24:00 H. (Reservation required). - BAR BITZA (SUNSET): Your favorite beverage in a relaxed environment. Open from 17:00 - 23:00 H. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Camino Real Zaashila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing