We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a budget holiday” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Royal Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Park Royal Huatulco
Ranked #13 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for a budget holiday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2010

Nice hotel, rooms have character and ours had a nice view of a forest. Only problem is the rooms are on a hillside (some shuttled buses run) and the beach club which has the majority of food is 5 min away. Again there are some shuttle buses but this is an inconvenience and was a surprise. For sleeping hotel was quite at night.

For food, breakfast and lunches were good but dinners were poor so we went out most nights to restuarnts close by. Staff were friendly and service was good. Would recommend hotel for a budget holiday.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Van1Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    250
    141
    68
    70
See reviews for
263
275
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

We stayed at the Crown for 20 days this December. We happily ended up on the very top of the tenth floor (it has 4 levels) and had a fab view!! So very nice to have a big deck to catch some morning sun and watch the evening sky. The room, or suite, was dated but nice. The mattress was awful....I am used to Mexican hard beds but this one acutally hurt me...oh, my poor hips..and the pillows--well, only one was usable, the others were like rocks.
Air conditioner worked well, but did go off some evenings (maintenance??) which left us waking up hot and bothered...There was always hot water for showers. There was a big jetted tub but I would not use it as I did not think the jets would ever be cleaned...and just the thought....ewwww
The room was very quiet except when there was a wedding...sounded like it was in our room, even with ear plugs....but it didn't last too far into the night and the band was really good, so it was just fine.
Food was good, surprisingly so. Very repetitive though. great salads and desserts. The sushi bar (seventh floor) was good but lacked salads. We would head up there for some good protein after having a salad at the buffet. There was sushi, grilled chicken breast, beef, rice and desserts on the 7th...very quiet and a great place to just hang out, have some coffee or tea and enjoy the view of the bay!! One of my favourite places!!

The one a la carte is available only two nights week. Menu varies but when we went it was great. Hubby had prawns and I had chicken....salads were amazing! Wish I had done it more but we were often off resort when the sign up for the dinners was available.

Coffee is terrible!! We resorted to drinking instant.....I love coffee but what they serve is not coffee...yuk!

Beach is ok....we rarely went there and instead went off resort to our fav beaches. They had only ONE kayak...bad, very bad. Both pools were nice, Loved the 7th floor pool. Wish that they had an adult only pool.....there is just something about babies in diapers in the pool that distresses me, lol.
We saw a lovely childrens area that was NEVER used...a trampoline, wading pool, swings and more...and never a soul there, what a shame.
Always lots of water.
Don't drink so can't comment on that.

We walked to our room most days but there is a "cab" service that takes you to the food or up and down the hillside.

Staff is very nice. Met some wonderful people.

Towel service is odd. Can't get towels at the beach club, just at reception or the 7th floor pool.

All in all it was great for what we paid. We have stayed at Las Brisas before and would return there. WE would stay again at Crown if we got a screaming great deal. It lacks the good beach (yes, you can go up and down the beach for better swimming but there are lots of hotels that share the beach), they need more water sports stuff, eating tables for 2 and 4 people (only have big tables for big families), more practice with the big Christmas crowds, new beds..but honestly we really enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank itchyandscratchy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2009

I stayed at this hotel in February 2008 with a friend. The price was very good and so was the staff. I always found food that was tasty. I have a tummy ache for 2 days in the middle of the week I was there, but was fine the rest of the time.

I took the snorkel tour and loved it. It was a fun day and worth the money.

My room was nice and clean and the air worked well thankfully. The scenery was beautiful.

It was a lot of walking up to your room as each area was on an incline but okay for 2 young women.

It is not a great party spot, but more of a sedate pace. A lot of mature couples or younger ones...no single men were there when we were :-( There were local bars you could go to and we did and they were reasonably priced and a lot of fun.

Overall, I would say it was a lot of fun.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Libraislooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

It is cheap enough. Got to town to eat. They have great transportation throughout the site and down to the beach so get a room high with a great view. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whistlersunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcliff
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

This was my first time in Mexico and we i had a blast. The staff at the Crown Pacific were fantastic. Very friendly. Night shows are very entertaining. Made alot of new friends from all over the world. Book a private boat with Valentino from (deep sea fishing) tours,you will not be disapointed. A very good tour guide. We will be going back. The best vacation my family have had in a long time

The Bourassa's.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grch40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2009

We returned to the Crown Pacific on March 26th for one week, having already spent 2 weeks there in December.

It was just as good as the first time. Because we already knew the area quite well, we were not as keen to go sightseeing again so were able to totally relax. The whole Entertainment crew and many of the staff recognized us and welcomed us back. They were all extremely friendly and very hard-working!

Someone asked about the frequency of the shuttle – there is a sign at the front entrance, where the shuttle begins and ends, saying that it runs every 15 minutes, but we found that as long as we were ready to board at that location it ran every few minutes, and not once did we have to wait for it.

I can hardly believe that one reviewer had a problem with maintenance and the water in their suite, because we did contact the front desk once with a problem, and the maintenance man was knocking on our door 5 minutes later.

We enjoyed the food, with the exception of one night when the Chicken Mole and some other typical Mexican foods were served. However, we do like most Mexican dishes, so it wasn’t a problem.

We had a wonderful evening and Pizza at La Crema in Crucecitas, where we listed to an older “ex Californian hippie” singing and playing guitar to songs that we requested (Hotel California, etc). We also had a great shrimp lunch at the little restaurant on the beach at La Bocana Beach.

I would return to Huatulco and specifically the Crown Pacific anytime

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cymru2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2009

We just got back from the Crown Pacific on March 24th (we stayed for a week), and I can't say enough about how fantastic it was.
The rooms were large and cleaned well every day.
The activity staff put on GREAT shows every single night, and worked hard all day to liven things up around the pool.
The food was fine, there was always something that we liked . We ate at Alebrijes just up the street, for a change from the buffet, and the food was amazing (Ribs are the specialty)
Everyone was so friendly.
We went on the ATV (jungle) tour, it was a lot of fun. Next time (and there will be a next time) we will not miss the BBB (bays) boat tour.
Only thing I would have done differently: Learn more Spanish before going.......unlike some other areas of Mexico, the locals do not speak a ton of English. (although they try really hard to communicate, it would be nice to be able to get to know some of these great people by being able to speak at least a little of their language)
If you are looking for beatiful beaches, clean, clear water, amazing staff, and relaxation, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deejay67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
0.8 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,393 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Huatulco
Holiday Inn Huatulco
#9 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Huatulco

Property: Park Royal Huatulco
Address: Blvd Benito Juarez 8 | Tangolunda Bay, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huatulco began as a surfing community far, far off the beaten path. Today with a first class international airport, 26 kilometers of stunning coast, 36 white beaches, and nine beautiful bays- it's a vacation paradise and, still, a slightly more secret destination. Tropical jungle and exotic highlands combine at the edge of a grand, grand Pacific like you've never experienced it. The Park Royal Huatulco's All Inclusive 133 suites come complete with a lavish beach club, two gorgeous swimming pools, two restaurants and three lounges serving drinks all day and into some truly remarkable evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Park Royal Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Pacific Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Crown Pacific Deluxe Suite Hotel
Crown Pacific Deluxe Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing