We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE BUT NOT ENOUGH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Park Royal Huatulco
Ranked #13 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“NICE BUT NOT ENOUGH”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Beautiful views from the rooms, nice jacuzzi, big rooms, staff nice and kind , the food at the italian restaurant delicious but it is the same menu every day only pizza o chicken, the first day delicious, second day same menu, third day impossible to eat the same food.
The other restaurant at the beach club has buffet but not so good, after three days, the food is not acceptable, boring and tasteless.
Because it is an old hotel and they are renovating, some rooms have prolems like the air conditioning not working, or the telephone lines etc.
When you arrive at your room, check everything is working before unpacking.

Room Tip: The level seven is the best, in front of the pool, the bar, and same level of the italian restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IRALELI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Cesar C, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this review, August 8, 2015
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate the time that you took for us

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    268
    160
    75
    74
See reviews for
305
300
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed at this resort when it was the CROWN. Amazing views of
Tangalunga Bay from ocean view room over the pool...the hotel is built into the mountain and even the ride up is lovely...They had the best sushi restaurant on the pool deck and the main meals were offered at the large open air restaurant on the beach...Staff was incredible....free internet in lobby.
Every taxi ride was 2.00 us to anywhere....even La Crucacita...
2 weeks was not enough...

Room Tip: rooms over the pool (second floor) are bigger and best view of the bay is here...terrific view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank islanddream80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Cesar C, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this review, August 8, 2015
Dear guest

We appreciate the time that you took for us, We hope see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Crown Feb 26 - Mar 5 for the first time. We had never flown with Sunwing before and we give them a top rating for the flight there and back. We were glad it wasn't a "cattle liner" plane but instead resembled the Westjet planes. Attendants were very courteous and they looked after us from beginning to end of the 6 hour flight. Lots of perks and a very pleasant flight. As for the Crown Pacific - for a 3-star hotel, it was a 5-star in our books. The hotel is a little dated, but the rooms are adequate, very spacious with huge balconies. For the amount of time you spend in the room, who cares, as long as it is clean and has everything you need. The hotel is built up into the mountain, so the views were awesome. We found the staff to be very accommodating and courteous. The food was awesome. The drinks were real booze and not watered down. There is a gorgeous pool on the 7th floor and another pool at the beachhouse overlooking the ocean. The beach was very nice and we enjoyed the daily activities at the hotel as well. The staff tried very hard to entertain us and the effort was very much appreciated. There were only Canadians in the resort so we made lots of friends and had a nice little community going there! I would have to say that the Mexican people and the Canadian people made our holiday all the more special and memorable. Sunwing encouraged us to only go on their excursions and not local ones. Their excursions are very good, but we found that the locals also offer good excursions. If you want to go on a great local excursion, please see a guy by the name of Starfish on the beach. He will take you (for $50/person) for a ride in his boat, fishing, private beaches, into town - whatever you want. He spent the whole day with us even helping us find places to shop in town and bartering. He is a very accommodating fellow with a kind heart. Pretty cheap for 9am to 7pm! We gave him a big tip. This place was very peaceful, not alot of people there and the area itself is very peaceful, quiet, and VERY SAFE! In Mexico? Yes! The people there also keep it emaculately clean both in the hotel and in the streets and in the country! In Mexico? Yes! In this area, they are very environmentally conscious and don't let anyone mess with their nature preserves in the ocean or the land. We were impressed. The weather was hot with a nice breeze coming in off the ocean all the time so that you didn't feel the heat as much. The shopping and restaurants in town were outstanding, very quaint, and more local Mexican feeling (and clean!!! and safe!!!). This is now one of our top 3 vacation destinations. Thank you to Sunwing and Crown Pacific and Mexico for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Any rooms from the 6th floor up afford the beautiful view. If you aren't happy with your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WTRutherford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Cesar C, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this review, August 7, 2015
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much por share your experience.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

What a shame about the reviews we have been reading over the Crown:- we have visited 5 fives every year had a wonderful time relaxing and the staff that were there were all excellent! Since becoming the Royal Hotel things have not been the same:- and we had problems with our safe last year, we notice a kind of scam going on - such a shame for all the good members of staff that were still there. We have enjoyed our times at the Crown but sadly we do not think we will be going back The managementt need to be better in dealing with things - after all its peoples vacations and many of us work all year for a week or two if your lucky in the sun. Bye Bye C.P

Room Tip: Higher Floors have a superb views - not good if you have trouble walking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Billybrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Cesar C, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this review, August 7, 2015
Dear Guest:

Thank you for share you experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hambrug Ontario
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

my wife and i were at the crown jan 29 to feb 5..for our second time. we were the only 2 people dropped off there from a whole plane load,overall no complaints from us,had a beatiful 7th floor top room over looking the pool,the 600.00 we saved from not booking at the other ai,s was well spent in town at resturants every night.also rented acab for a day,100 us and went to the market in pochula and beers in zipolite try to find a good english speaking driver,he will be with you all day.zipolite is a beautiful place and a totally different world.we very much enjoyed our stay at the crown except for the LOUD FRENCH PEOPLE ps i dont think the maid would steal money come on

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeDenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Cesar C, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this review, August 7, 2015
Dear guest:

Thank yoy very much for your commentes.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

The view from our 7th building balcony was amazing, the room was huge. The driver who took us up to our room was very friendly and accommodating. The pools were not overly populated with people, the pool towels were always available and clean. We were always able to get a lounge chair by the beach. The beach area was very clean. The bar staff and activity staff was very friendly. The public restrooms were always clean. BUT HOLD ON .....
Check-in was rough, even with our confirmation papers they had a hard time finding reservation. The room had mold growing on the furniture and the walls, the main door was missing the dead bolt lock, the tub would take over night to drain completely, on our last day we didn't have any running water in the room at all. The A/C was noisy, the elevator stopped on the 3rd floor each time even if it wasn't selected. We believe that the room maid got into the room safe and stole a few hundred dollars in cash and copied down our credit card number. It wasn't until we were back in the states that we found our credit card had been fraudulently used during our stay. The cc was never used by us during the trip - it was in the room safe the whole time. We were also missing 1/2 of our prescription medicine. Amazing view over security??

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 770SaraM770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Cesar C, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this review, August 8, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado Huésped:

Deseamos agradecer sus comentarios emitidos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Huatulco hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

O.K. Let's see, in all honesty, what this place is like?

Personally, in spite of some weaknesses, the place is an absolute jewel considering the realistic price for an all inclusive and as compared to many others in the Caribbean or even Cuba.

Sure there are more exclusive properties right on the beach such as Secrets, Barcello Premium, Zaashila, Las Brisas and a host of other biggies which come with a snobby price. However, in my mind, The Crown Pacific has its own exclusive charm especially since it is carved high up the mountain and at its highest point , dominates all the snobby places down below.
The place is immaculately kept and the gardens groomed to perfection. The scenery from high up is absolutely magnificent with a panorama unmatched.
The highlight for me was to have a very leisurely breakfast at the 7th stage building early morning whilst admiring the view and the exotic birds chirping and scheming to steal the morsels. Really, couldn't ask for better..
Guaranteed sunshine, fresh fruit, good coffee, Mexican pastries and Huevo Rancheros with habaneros.

Then straight to the beautiful and tranquil pool just one floor up and you can fry yourself to a colour you did not think was possible on a Gringo epidermis whilst enjoying Margharitas and Alphonsos to your hearts desire.

Room Tip: My choice of a room would probably be in building 7 . However, 8.9.10 are higher up with better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mashoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
J Cesar C, Gerente at Park Royal Huatulco, responded to this review, August 8, 2015
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your comments. We appreciate the time that you took for us. It will be great to have the opportunity to show our service again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,065 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
2.1 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barcelo Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco
#6 of 47 in Huatulco
3,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Royal Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Royal Huatulco

Property: Park Royal Huatulco
Address: Blvd Benito Juarez 8 | Tangolunda Bay, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Park Royal Huatulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Huatulco began as a surfing community far, far off the beaten path. Today with a first class international airport, 26 kilometers of stunning coast, 36 white beaches, and nine beautiful bays- it's a vacation paradise and, still, a slightly more secret destination. Tropical jungle and exotic highlands combine at the edge of a grand, grand Pacific like you've never experienced it. The Park Royal Huatulco's All Inclusive 133 suites come complete with a lavish beach club, two gorgeous swimming pools, two restaurants and three lounges serving drinks all day and into some truly remarkable evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Royal Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Pacific Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Crown Pacific Deluxe Suite Hotel
Crown Pacific Deluxe Suite Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing