We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back again...Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will go back again...Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Very nice hotel with everything you could ask for. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The beach is wonderful and the pools are also very nice and not crowded. The buffets had good food and room service was great. The one thing we thought could have been better were the A la Carte restaurants. The grounds were kept in immaculate shape. Any garbage was picked up within minutes. I would recommend a bay tour or deep sea fishing with Chrisantos and a visit to Alejandro's silver shop in La Crucecita. He also comes to the beach with his silver.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,926
    940
    301
    127
    64
See reviews for
1,381
1,108
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Out of Toronto with Sunwing, Feb 8-15. Things went smoothly with transfer from airport, with hotel staff waiting at resort with beer/champagne etc as you checked in. Everything was well organized with check-in packages prepared ahead of time and we were on way to room within minutes. If you don't want to wait for the bus, you could grab a cab for the $15 ride to the resort and get there maybe 30 minutes ahead of everyone else. It's about a 20 minute drive. Suggest that might be of more value on the way home to beat the line-up at airport check-in and security as that's quite an interesting and time consuming ordeal.

Hotel is spotless, well laid out, with lots of restaurants/bars and friendly staff. Room was large, with balcony. Combined with the weather, the nearby town which seems quite safe, and various things to do, makes this a great destination. Sunny every day, with temperature in the low-mid 30's with minimal humidity.

Seems to be primarily a Canadian destination with Sunwing flying in 6 or 7 planes from across the country every Tuesday. This is likely why the hotel is so organized for arrivals on that one day. Some Americans on Apple Tours and Mexicans primarily for the weekend. Given so many Canadians being there, I'm not sure why english tv is all US, as I've been places where I can get Canadian news, but other than early morning, or while spouse is showering not a big deal.

Beach is nice, but with a bit of an incline to the water, so get a spot close to the wall, otherwise, you feel like you're on quite a slope. Sand isn't the easiest to walk in, but that's good for exercise. Sand gets hot as day goes along. Beach continues for quite a ways, past a couple other resorts. There is a bit of an undertow, so pay attention to flags. There is good service for the bar at both beach and pools although always quicker to get up and go yourself of couse.

We loved the "no reservation" policy for restaurants and no bracelets. We were told the hotel was about 70% full, and never had to wait for a table. The Italian restaurant is indeed serious about "elegant casual" dress code and men need long pants to get in. All other restaurants are casual, although their website implies otherwise. We wore shorts/tees to all others with no problem. Our favourite restaurant for lunch/dinner was Seaside, due mainly to the location/view by the water. The daily fish at lunch was great. The Italian and Mexican restaurants are inside, so gets a bit warm, although the food was good.

We golfed a few times. Make sure you get the coupon at the concierge (Paulina/Everett are great), rather than paying at the actual golf course, as it's cheaper. $75 for green fees incl cart. We rented clubs ($26) and had caddy ($30+ tip). It's a $3 cab ride to the course. Beer is $3 on the course. Rental clubs nothing to write home about. Course plays long and is a good challenge. The caddy is helpful and always a good idea to support the local economy. The course was never busy the 3 times we went early in morning.... Just showed up at 7:30 and were up right away.

For excursions, we went on "Rough Guide", which is basically a bit of site-seeing combined with a shopping trip. You see a couple of nice vistas of the ocean and they take you by the Secrets resort being built, and then into town. Most interesting was the Mescal/Grashopper store, where we drank some mescal and ate a couple grashoppers, which they say has the impact of "mexican viagra". The grashoppers were OK, but when you put it on a tortilla, and put cheese, salsa, and some other topping on it, what wouldn't taste ok.... No comment on the medicinal virtue of this combination.

The wave runner/snorkel excursion was fun, but this isn't your father's form of waverunning. At least the day we went, the sea was somewhat rough and you go out of the bay to go down the shore 3-4 more bays and are out in open water a bit. The swells were 10 feet or more, which made for an exciting but bit scary ride. The day we went there were lots of jelly fish, so couldn't snorkel. Guide said it was one of the worst days he'd seen for jelly fish. Great scenery and interesting excursion.

Did one of the romantic dinners on the beach as it was Valentine Day week. Not sure I understand the value of paying $120 for dinner when you're at an all-inclusive, but maybe I'm not romantic enough. The server (Laura) was excellent and we had the area of the beach to ourselves, so it was nice and romantic.......

The activity people do a good job of providing opportunities to do stuff if you want. We tend not to, but Katie was fun with the archery. We went to a couple of the nighttime shows and as long as you understand this isn't Broadway, it's a nice way to put in an hour. Shows run from about 9-10 pm.

Definitely a place I would return for vacation. Spotless, well run and responsive to requests.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DogDaze12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

While we had a nice time at the resort, our group decided that this resort could be even better with a few small changes.
Check-in was a breeze, but the hotel map is less than helpful. None of the room buildings on the map are labeled, so you are forced to ask about room locations. Once we were told the first number is the building, the second number is floor level, and the last two are the room, we were off.
The rooms seem to be average sized and were designed well. We were happy to see a seperate and enclosed bathroom. Too bad the exhaust fan seemed to be present only for looks. Each shower fogged the mirror and made the entire room damp. We solved the problem by opening the patio door or by turning on the AC. The dual sinks were a nice touch, but they swallowed up much needed counter space.
The bed was average. I'm not picky, but my wife is because of her back. When we stayed at Royal Suites Turquesa Palladium in Punta Cana last year and they had memory foam mattresses. We bought one when we got back to the states because of how well we slept.
The alarm clock/Ipod dock was one item that really needs to be addressed. Every day we heard people's alarm clocks going off at all hours. Not because they set them, but because they were impossible to understand.
The grounds were very well kept and overall cleanliness of the hotel and beach were incredible. They are fantastic about cleaning at Dreams.
The beach was useable but dropped off sharply. The waves were not large, but they did push you around a bit. There was usually a lack of beach or pool loungers. As with most resorts, people here played the towel game before breakfast. Dreams says they have a 30 minute reserve policy, but we never saw it enforced. The beach is public, so plan on getting bothered about every 10 minutes by a vendor.
I'm still on the fence about the food. Everyone in our group came down with some sort of "stomach issue." It may have just been from the switch in overall diet, but some of us are still getting back to normal after being home for a week.
Service in the restaurants was always very good. We ate at the Asian, Mexican, Seafood and World buffet restaurants. All were average to good. No reservations at any of the eateries, so first come first served. 7:00 at any of the specialty places seemed to be peak.
Our favorite was the Seaside Grill. Our group had gone fishing and caught a Mahi-Mahi. The guide cut off a huge fillet and the resort cooked it for us. It's really cool that Dreams does that.
The hard alcohol selection seemed to vary from one bar to the next. Some places had top shelf, others did not. We were stuck drinking Corona beer because we were told that's all they offer. Lame. There seemed to be a bit of a language barrier with some of the bartenders. Dreams offers a "drink of the day". At one bar we asked for the drink of the day and received a blank stare. Shots were interesting. A favorite of the bartenders seems to be a coffee based shot called a sombrero.
When leaving the resort by cab, the security staff would take room numbers to keep tabs on the guests. This was a nice gesture considering all that's been going on in Mexico. Huatulco seems to be unaffected by the current drug wars. We were outside the resort plenty and never felt uncomfortable.
One thing at the resort that had us scratching our heads were DVDs that could only be checked out from 9a-5p, but they had 24hr room service. Another irritation was the fact they charge $10 per hour for internet access.

Overall dreams was a nice place, but I don't think we'll be back. There's just too many other resorts in other places that are doing more for the same price. I think Apple was a bit off on the six golden apple rating. I would give them 4.

I know this review sounds like a bash on Dreams, but it's not meant to be. We had a really nice time but the atmosphere just wasn't for us. We would encourage anyone to visit Huatulco before it gets too touristy. It's a great area, but it will get overrun soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CombustionJustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Mountain,Mi, USA
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2011

The resort was so clean and the staff was great. It's more quite than other resorts we have been to- they could add a bit more music entertainment around the pool during the day. It's a smaller resort so you meet alot of people. The area is very safe. We recommend a tour fishing, snorkeling with Tino..that was awesome. We have traveled alot and this vacation was great. We will be going back!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina_01_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 811 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We stayed at Dreams Huatulco from Feb 1-8/11 & chose the ocean front junior suite with jacuzzi, which included concierge (preferred). Our modern 4th floor room was spacious, clean, had a large patio with jacuzzi tub & faced the ocean. I had notified the resort both ahead of time to request the honeymoon package. I tried to show them our proof of marriage when we checked but was brushed off. Needless to say, the package wasn't in place so I had to ask about it the next morning. We got almost all the package but a couple of things still weren't provided to us. That was disappointing.

Our room was spotless every day & we also received turn down service every night with a list of the next day activities. Our mini bar was restocked & we requested more beer & received it every day, as well as little bottles of hard liquor. We also got a mini can of Pringles, nuts and M&M peanuts daily. There is a coffee maker, ice bucket, ipod docking station & dvd player (we brought our own movies but you can borrow them from the concierge if you leave a deposit).

There are 5 pools, with one being "adults only". One frustration was trying to get a spot by a pool &/or on the beach with shade. Guests get up very early (likely around 7am) to place their belongings on chairs, often taking 2 in the shade & 2 in the sun. The resort claims they enforce a 20 minute rule but they don't. The weather is spectacular so the water temperature of the pools was perfect everyday.

We enjoyed all the restaurants, especially the Japanese & seafood. The service was usually attentive & the food excellent. Our private dinner on the beach was wonderful, as was our room service breakfast. The house wine is very good (or you can buy from the menu) & they provide top shelf liquor (Corona in your fridge too).

The spa was fabulous! We had two couples massages & body scrubs. I also had a facial & manicure. They advertise spa specials every day so I took advantage of it. A spa treatment includes an hour long water circuit which is very enjoyable too.

During the day there are activities that you can participate in (including early morning yoga, archery, bingo, volleyball) or just chose to relax by the pool. Drink service around the pools is a nice feature as well.

We enjoyed the cafe for after dinner cappuccinos & desert but we didn't take in any of the nightly entertainment other than watch some karaoke one night. There is also a disco that is open from 10:30-1am.

The main lobby bar, Rendezvous, was a popular spot for guests to gather & enjoy the refreshing breezes of Huatulco. They had live entertainment there nightly as well. Dreams Huatulco did a great job in hosting a Superbowl party & a great time was had by all that attended (even the Steelers fans!).

We hired Candido on the beach to take us on a private snorkeling & bay tour. His email is: [--] and highly recommend hiring him for fishing, snorkeling or a boat tour. We also went to Senior Pucks one night for drinks, dinner & to watch a NHL hockey game. It's a new restaurant/bar that is 5 minutes away ($3. cab ride) at Marina Park Plaza. They will show whatever sport/team you want to watch on one of their 9 flat screen tvs...it's owned by Canadians.

The resort is at one end of the beach in a bay with a bit of undertow. Dreams has a lifeguard on duty & we did see him rescue a young girl & her father one day as they had difficulty in the waves (even with life jackets on). A girl cut her foot & she received immediate attention as well. We enjoyed the water trampoline & they have jet skis, kayaks & hobie cats to use as well. There are two other resorts in they bay which are interesting to take a peek at as you walk down the beach. There were a few weddings taking place during our stay it they looked lovely & well taken care of.

We did notice that Dreams filled up from Friday-Sunday with families coming from surrounding areas for the weekend. On both Saturday & Sunday we had difficulty finding anywhere to sit around the pools. Without towel cards, it's difficult to tell if someone has truly left their chairs or not as guests usually left them behind. Other than on the weekend it didn't seem overly busy at the resort.

With Huautulco mostly seeing Canadians chose this destination, they readily accept Canadian dollars, even at the airport, so don't bother bringing US dollars. The airport checkin & waiting area is outdoors so pack your winter woolies in your carry on & wear your shorts & a tshirt until you're on the plane.

It's been fun to share my experience of Dreams Huatulco with friends, family & Trip Advisor so please let me know if you have any questions.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlbertaChristiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2011

We have stayed at several all-inclusive resorts in the Carribbean, and Dreams was by far the nicest. The employees were all very friendly and helpful. The cleaning staff was constantly keeping the facility and grounds spotless. The food, in all was good. Nothing was amazing, but good. The buffets had great selection for all types of diets. None of the restaurants take reservations. We had 10 people in our group, and had no problems dining together. The spa was wonderful! Well worth the cost. I wish I could have stayed a second week!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtsm53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My husband and I along with another couple just returned from this hotel. We have been traveling to all-inclusives for over 20 years and we found this hotel to be outstanding. No wrist bands, no towel cards, no signing, just a totally carefree pampered experience. Go here!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0xercrazyindiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
207 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
2.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #4 | Bahia de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing