We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Gala and the Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Loved the Gala and the Staff”
Reviewed March 3, 2005

My wife and I (and another couple) just got back from our vacation at the Gala Resort in Huatulco. GREAT time, loved the weather and loved the resort. Actually, the Gala is the best resort on the strip (right beside the Barcelo). We've seen more exquite resorts at other vacation spots that some would rate the Gala as 4 stars but, as for the service and cleanliness, it warrants the 5 stars.

The weather is always around 32C (90F) and NO RAIN! The staff at the GALA are great; very helpful and accommodating. On our arrival at the resort (1:00 am) we were greeted by our rep (Sylvie) in a big reception room with beer, various drinks & sandwiches. All the rooms and keys were ready on arrival. NO WAITING! We found them very organised! The rooms are big and exceptionally clean. If you can book ahead of time and wish to "upgrade", we recommend getting the corner suites with the jacuzzis if they're available... however, how much time does one spend there anyhow?

The buffet food is quite good...(trust me, you'll never go hungry) with a different theme every night. As for the "a la carte" restaurants, the Italian stood out the most and the Mexican was a close second. However, we were not fussy with the Meditarranean one. The nice thing here, is, that you can go more than once to the "a la carte" restaurants. The drinks are NOT watered down as some people believe; they offer most international brands at no extra cost. Their brand of beer "Negra Modello" is dark beer but very tasty.

The nightly entertainment is not "Las Vegas" calibre but they were entertaining.

By the way, we found that most of the Gala employees speak English very well. Just goes to show how hard the resort goes the extra mile to accommodate its customers.

The beach has coarse sand but it's clean and free of debris. It gets very hot at mid-day...but the ocean water is warm and there are loads of fish. GREAT for snorkeling. The pools are cleaned every morning and checked regularly during the day.

We encourage travellers to take the Catamaran Tour with Signature as well as the "real Mexico" tour. For about $60US each, it's well worth the experience. Also take day trips to La Crucecita Village by taxi for $2.50US... great spot for shopping and eating at the restaurants and bars. We favoured SR Cactus... awesome steaks and lobsters.

We cannot say enough about the Gala staff and our Signature Rep (Sylvie). They certainly made our stay that much more enjoyable. We certainly will be booking another trip there in the future. If you're planning to go, don't hesitate...you won't regret it!

Helpful?
48 Thank gibroz46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,908
    929
    298
    126
    64
See reviews for
1,355
1,105
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 1, 2005

THIS IS NOT A FIVE STAR RESORT….BUT…WE WILL RETURN. We just returned from a wonderful week at the GALA BEACH RESORT. The resort was very clean and the staff friendly and helpful. Although the beach was difficult to walk on, due to its slope and depth of the sand, the beach area was great. The beach staff was attentive and the drinks were icy cold. My first impression of the resort was that it was “tired looking” and dated to the 1970’s…after the first day, the cleanliness of the room more than made up for the dated appearance
My only beef was in setting the alarm clock for 6am (the sun was not up and it was still dark!!!) to go to the beach a “reserve” two deck chairs (with beach towels) under one of the fifty palapas (huts). By 6:30 most of the chairs were reserved and you would have to spend your day by the pool if you waited until 7:30am. There were guest who “reserved” chairs and didn’t show ‘til after noon and still other reserved chairs that were never used all day….what a waste….the resort has to do something about this!!!
A few of Hints….#1- watch your property while on the beach…I lost my diving mask-next to my beach chair- the first day…and on our last day a camera was stolen from a palapas next to ours. #2- bring a Walkman (or such) no radios in the room #3- bring an insulated mug…the servers will fill them without problem and they beat the small plastic cups that the drinks are normally served in. #4 – watch the weight of your baggage…some passengers on Sky-Service were being hit heavy for over weight suitcases…some as much as $60-100 us.

Helpful?
39 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 28, 2005

Just got back Feb. 27th. Direct flight to and from Denver. Huatulco airport is not ready for a large influx of tourist. Three planes arrived at the same time and it took almost three hours to get luggage and get through customs. I guess that this is a good thing and huatulco has not been ruined by crowds still! A 20 minute bus ride gets you to the hotel. Check-in had a 40 minute hitch as the room was not ready. They quickly got us in a different room. Stay away from the disco as it is very loud tuesday through Sunday until 2am. We have stayed at four 5 apple AI in Mexico and this by far has the best buffets! The specialty restaurants were marginal. Service by the hotel staff was very good. Liquor flows freely and never had a problem with a wait. The kids club was not as good as the Copacabana in Akumal, which as fantastic. We were not there for the entertainment, but did catch a show, marginal. The grounds are always clean and well kept. Staff always very pleasant and with a smile. The pools where always clean. A lot of activities around the main pool. Try the Tequila vollyball if you need some physical activity. The beach is great and don't let anyone fool you, it is a golden brown color, the water is a clear green, with about 40 feet of visibility. The undertow can be a bit much as the beach drops off rapidly. Hold onto the little ones that can,t swim! The weather this time of year cannot be beat. Each day started out with a slight breeze and a temp of around 70'. The temp always topped out at 84'-85' with a great on shore breeze. Go fishing as early in the morning as possible. Caught 22 yellow fin tuna in four hours. Look up Raymond by the beach, he speaks great english and is a good person. Tell his David from Golden, CO sent you. Take spare clothes with you to give to the locals. They are very poor and are very appreciative. Don Porfinos has great Lobster, the steak is terrible and did not come from cattle. Great trip, recommend Huatulco and the Gala to anyone except the Four Seasons crowd. Take sun screen!!!!!! David P.S. Hear that the jungle tours provided by Apple were not very good. No english is spoken and be aware to take bug spray on this tour. No-seeums and these little black wasplike bugs were on the hotel grounds but only seemed to bite the sweeter female tourist types.

Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona,Wi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2005

Just flew in from Huatulco last night (1:30 A.M.- Ouch!) and wanted to let all know that we really enjoyed our stay at the Gala. We were part of the Royal Gala package and appreciated the concierge services through Sylvia and Fabiola. Our rooms were clean and well maintained during our stay. Truly, the only criticism we have of the Gala is of the beds... pretty hard, etc. The food was plentiful and good. We ate at the "specialty" resturants four times; probably two times too much. The Italian resturant was the best of the three, in my opinion; but I wish we had eaten "off" property more. Had wonderful meals at the Quinta Real resort and at Casa del Mar; both had great food and beautiful views.

Also, went fishing and caught many fish... yellow fin tuna and bonita... had the tuna prepared at the Italian resturant... they did a nice job! Had massages at Quentenda (sp?) Spa...very nice!

We've been to Mexico before (10x), also Costa Rica, D.Republic, and Jamaica. We always enjoy Mexico and especially Huatulco and the Gala!

P.S.- Very kid friendly... Our 15 y/o and 10 y/o boys really had fun! One last word of caution...VERY HOT and SUNNY... you have to enjoy both. Have fun!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank timmym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2005

My wife and I have recently returned from our first trip to the Gala Beach Resort and overall we had a great time. The vacation started off a little rocky because the transport bus taking us from the airport to the hotel could not leave. We sat on the bus for 45 minutes as other guests who were staying at our hotel roamed the airport bar. We could not figure that out when the drinks are free at the resort! My suggestion if you are a Signature vacation traveler, is to skip the bus and take a taxi because the fare is only $13 US. Remember this information at check-out. We had an extra hour and forty-five minutes at the resort because we decided to take a taxi. Other guests got on the bus at 8:00 am and the bus never left until a little after 9:00 am; while we were sitting and enjoying our breakfast. Signature loves to have their guests wait.
The food, although breakfast and lunch were repetitious, was good. We spent our dinners mostly at the ala carte restaurants and only ate the dinner buffet once. We had no problems making reservations (usually done around 10 am) at any of the ala carte restaurants – the Mexican was clearly the best choice, followed by the Italian, steer clear of the Mediterranean. Drinks were very good and if you ask for top-shelf liquor in your drink, you’ll get it. The Gala Resort is a 10+, very clean, friendly staff, and the ocean view is breathtaking.
Some of the negatives was this was a much older crowd than we were expecting. We’re a young couple in our early 30’s and even though we weren’t expecting a party atmosphere like in Cancun, it was surprising to see such an older crowd. When music at the activity pool was turned down because it was too loud for some older ears, it is very disappointing. The biggest negative was the Gala Royal Club, to those thinking about doing this option – DON’T, save your money! To wear a different color wrist band than others means absolutely nothing to staff in the hotel. You receive the same food, drinks, and amenities than other guests. If you enjoy one fruit plate and 3 small candies (only when you arrive) and two nightly chocolates with your nightly turn down of your bed, then do it. The special “VIP” room for Royal Club guests is a small, cramped room serving the same drinks as you can receive anywhere and “special” hors d'oeuvres consisting of mozzarella sticks, chicken fingers, and fried shrimp. Some nights you could not even tell what the hors d'oeuvres were. The exclusive pool area for Royal Club guests is very quiet and did have a nearby bar, but the special roped off beach area is very far from everything – and the Royal Club beach bar was closed.
Our room was very neat, clean, and had a great view. Another downside of the Royal Club is, although we paid extra for our room there were other guests whom did not and we’re still on the Royal Club floor. We never received our free gift (although printed on our itinerary) for being a Royal Club member because they stopped doing that; nothing was offered or given in replace of that.
The staff is very friendly and always there for you. We feel obligated to tip and it is much appreciated by all. The ocean is beautiful and perfect for swimming or snorkeling; it is not rough at all. The nightly shows gave us something to do and were not bad; Huatulco is not a place to go for activity at night (with only one Mexican bar across the street). The weather was perfect and the beach was always clean; vendors were out there but did not hassle you (bargain with them for better deals!). Taxi rides into both towns for shopping is cheap, around $2 each way. The towns are very safe and give you a great experience of Mexican life.
My wife and I plan on returning next year, although not as Royal Club Members.

Helpful?
30 Thank schwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 22, 2005

Spent a week a the the Royal Gala, from Feb.7/05-Feb.15/05. The hotel was nice and clean and the staff were very friendly. Most of the wait staff spoke good English. The one big complaint - getting a chair at the beach or the pool. You have to be out by 6:00am with your towel if you want a spot. You wouldn't believe how many chairs had towels that never had people, all day long! The hotel needs to do something about this. If you went out for a tour for the day and wanted to relax by the water when you got back, forget it! The food was okay, more variety would have been nice. We have travelled quite a bit in Mexico and this was the first time I came home without having to wear stretchy pants. The area is absolutely gorgeous. Most of the area is protected by the government, there are many quiet bays and beautiful empty beaches to explore. Had a nice quiet holiday, just what was wanted. Did the coffee plantation tour, not for the queasy stomach! The mountain road is a narrow dirt road that just keeps going up and up. Once you are there though, it is well worth it. The plantation is really old fashioned and still in operation.
Will definitely go back to the area, maybe retire there one day!

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2005

We just returned from the Gala 2/19....I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised. I have always visited the Playa Del Carmen area and was in love with the water there. Being on the Pacific was a concern to me. But it was beautiful in its own way. The hotel wasn't my style either being what I call a high rise, having to use an elevator, I'm used to a more bungalow type resort. But it was VERY NICE! I think above all it was the people we met on this trip, staff and other guest. We have traveled to Mexico for 10 years and have never met so many nice people.

Ofcourse there are always a few things that they could improve on, but they are so minimal I won't even bother with them. I would reccomend this resort for someone looking for something different. If you have any questions and would like to email me feel free to do so.

Helpful?
13 Thank stahrgazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
205 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
2.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
233 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #4 | Bahia de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing