We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit to Dreams Huatulco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
wisconsin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“2nd visit to Dreams Huatulco”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at Dreams Huatulco, April 19-26, 2014. Used Apple Vacations, and flew a straight flight with Frontier Airlines out of Chicago OHare.

We love the AM resort chain, and have stayed at this resort in the past, so we thought we would give it another try. We had some problems last time we were but felt that we really wanted to go back to Huatulco and the resort would probably be is in a great location. You have easy taxi service to La Crucecita for shopping, and Santa Cruz which has more market type shopping. The area is beautiful and feels very safe. You do not have a huge tourism crowd, like you find in other parts of Mexico. The people are friendly and not pushy. It is very laid back.

Pros - The resort guests were mainly Mexican people, as it was their big Easter holiday. It was probably at least 80% Mexican. Many of the other people we met were actually on the same plane as us. Although the resort was running at top capacity, you never felt like you were crowded. There were no lines for meals or at the bars. They had excellent alcohol choices at all of the bars. And service was good, even around the pools. We stayed in the adult only pool and you actually forgot that there were kids all around! One day, we saw the staff, setting up a huge dinner area outside the buffet. We thought it must be a wedding although it was huge. but they put out beautiful table cloths, and chair covers, and made the area very beautiful. The next day, they did the same thing and we found out it was for the evening buffet! They did it 4-5 nights of our stay! This was very impressive as it was taken down every night also! We ate at the buffet and Oceana. The food was good, and we always found something we liked. There was a dinner for Apple vacationers one night and the meal was excellent. We enjoyed breakfast everyday, outside of the buffet. It was very nice, quiet and always a cool breeze. We loved the way they played the Good Morning song every morning. It was a bit hokey but very uplifting! Our room was nice. Very well maintained by housekeeping. Always had fresh amenities and washcloths and towels. Refrigerator was stocked everyday and we loved the treats they left with the beverages! That was something I've never seen before! We did have preferred club status and liked to sit in the preferred club in the evenings after dinner, it was cool and relaxing. Room service was excellent, the couple of nights that we used it! The staff at Oceana were very pleasant! Our room was always cleaned very nicely. The resort is very easy to get around, with 5 minute walk times from one side of the hotel to the other.

Cons- We did have a bad time with room issues when we arrived. It was handled very poorly, and we felt like we were treated like we were unwelcome guests. They put us through alot and when we finally got our room situation figured out the next day, we had a view of the roof of Oceana, but at least we didn't have speakers blaring outside of our room as was the case with our first room. We have never been treated poorly like this and it put a bad feeling in us. I won't go into the details as it would not matter. I would like to say that we have only changed rooms one other time, on vacation, and that was because an incident that made our room not safe, in Jamaica. We believe that we are the makers of our own good travels so we put this aside and didn't let it ruin our vacation. We frequent Am resorts, as I have said, and always had a Welcome Back banner, or Happy Birthday, or Happy Anniversary banner on our door. We had an anniversary package, and although we questioned our Apple Rep, Pedro, we never received banners or our package. It isn't a big thing but when we have it and are told it was noted by our names, and we didn't receive it, it puts a bad feeling to the guest. These are small things that make guests feel special. Somehow, that is what I felt this resort lacked. The attention to the guests was not a big focus. There were a few staff members who stood out, but mainly nobody seemed to care to even get to know you. The Preferred Club lounge did not have a concierge, except one night. The food there was not kept at the temperatures it needed to be at, and most of the time we had to mix our own drinks there. This is absolutely not the way we are used to Preferred Clubs being run. The Vacation Unlimited staff were everywhere in the lobby and even called us one day, to try to get us to come get our coupons. They even lied to me and told me they were VIP not Vacations Unlimited, which is what it says on their desks! We only had turn down service twice in the week we were there. Not a big deal, but it is nice coming back to a freshly made bed at night! Tried to go to the disco one night, but there was nobody there. I also wanted to note that while the buffet has decent food, it is not all marked as to what it is. This was not good for me, as I have a couple of food allergies and couldn't always eat things as I didn't know what they were. Also the condiments for the mexican food were located at the end of the main food station, and was not marked and we did not find it until the end of the trip.

I would like to thank Daniel and Jesus, pool drink service. Alma, breakfast server. Fernando, Luis, and William at Oceana. And I am so sorry not to be able to remember his name, but the young man at the lobby bar, who always remembered us and came to talk to us, and make us great Bloody Caesars, and Peach Bellini's. We were always happy to see him! Although we didn't do daily activities (they were done in other pool and not by the adult pool) we enjoyed talking to the activity people.

In closing, we may go back to this resort, when we go back to Huatulco. It is unfortunate, that once again, there were problems here. We have never had any problems at other AMresorts. Something just sort of falls flat at this one, and it seems to start from management and the front desk, and it is noticeable in the way the staff does not interact alot with its guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conphuzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are happy that you had a great time with us and that you had enjoyed the amenities from the resorts. We appreciate your comments ether positive or suggestion which are very important for our resorts and even more when it comes from someone who knows Very well our property, thank you very much again for your all your feedback, because it helps us to work in areas of improvement for the wellbeing of all our clients.

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you very soon as we will be waiting for you in your home away from home.

Have a pleasant day
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,875
    916
    293
    123
    64
See reviews for
1,309
1,103
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estevan, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went for 2 weeks and had such a good time. Rooms very clean, our maid was excellent, food was great. Never had a bad meal the whole time we were there but our favourite was the Japanese. Spa was relaxing but a tad over priced. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Beach was to our liking but they do need to add more huts for shade. Lots of choices for tours and we took in 3 while there. We had such a good time there and will defiantly return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are happy that you would definitely return to your home away from home here in the beautiful Huatulco. We appreciate your comments regarding the spa and our Japanese restaurant and also your suggestions.

Once again thank you very much for visiting us and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you very soon.

Have an excellent day!
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock,il
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

just stayed here last week for a week with my wife and we enjoyed our stay very much. We had stayed here 25 years ago when it was the Royal maeva. the grounds have changed but the beauty of the ocean and beach have not. check in was simple, but we did get asked to go to the UVC club presentation for a free dinner on the beach for 2. we went. it was 90 minutes exactly and no high pressure to buy. the dinner on the beach was romantic and wonderful. lobster and wine cant be much better. Dreams made it a special night for us. the resort is in low season and it was quiet, especially at night. we had a pool to ourselves many days. the food for the most part was very good, but I felt Portofino wasn't worth getting dressed up for. the Asian place on site was my favorite. the drinks were free flowing especially if you tipped the bartenders. we did a fishing excursion and caught several bonito and mahi mahi, which we had cooked at a restaurant at Maguey Beach. doesn't get any fresher. the room was great, nice view, soft bed, free minibar, room service included. the shower was nice with hot water and good pressure. soft plentiful towels. no wrist bands. no towel cards. all in all a very relaxing vacation. I just wish there were more frequent flights to Huatulco from Chicago. We will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBurbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Huatulco. We appreciate that you have taken the time to comment on your recent stay at Dreams and we are extremely happy we were able to fulfill your expectations.

Thank you for your comments concerning the dinner on the beach we feel happy that you have enjoyed it.

We look forward to welcoming you pretty soon so that you are able to re-experience and enjoy what Dreams is all about. See you soon!

Have an excellent afternoon!
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
165 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed there for 4 nights, it is a very nice hotel, very clean and the staff really helpful. The hotel is divided by zones whether you are with kids or in couples, went there only with my wife and friends and we enjoyed the pool at the very end of the hotel were only adults can go, very quiet perfect to relax, and when we were with friends the other pools were ideal. I wasn't so convinced by the food, I think in general was average quality, maybe try some local restaurants, you can find very good italian food, made by italians, and local food is also very good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler4Leisure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Will try to give the good points as well as the bad. The good is that this resort is beautiful, well taken care of and in a wonderful area with spectacular water. The food is average at best, except for a few speciality places. The main downside for us was that the staff nor guess seem prepared for guess that don't speak Spanish (Mexican). All the activities were done only in Spanish, so we felt left out. One guess finally spoke up during bingo, and yelled please say the number in English also. It was hard to even find worker who understood your request. My wife and I also had to deal with guess who would stare at us as if they have never seen people of color before. Often they would avoid the pool that we were in or go to the other end of the pool. I can't count the number of times people would find chairs at the pool we were in, start to put down their towels and then move to a far away pool after seeing us in the pool. I went there because I was told by a dear friend of mines, who was born in the area that it was more laid back, with a lot of beautiful waterfalls, and less developed than Cancun without all the young people partying all the time. A true place for couples to relax in a romantic area, and it is true, but I had no idea that so many people would find it strange to have us there. 99 percent of the guess was from Mexico and we were the only black couple there the whole time we were there. I can deal with people who haven't been around other races yet, but it is hard to be in a 5 star resort that isn't even prepared for English speaking people and didn't even try to do anything that we could get involved in. On top of all this, I got a stomach virus my last night there, so I am back home dealing with that now because I just left two days ago.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jimmyc1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Battleford, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We have went to Dreams, Huatulco twice in the last couple months. Once in December and once in March. Since we were a repeat guest we were welcomed with a banner on our door as well as champagne and apples in our room. The staff is always friendly and wanting to please. They helped me plan my boyfriend's birthday supper by the ocean and it was so fantastic! On our trip in December, my boyfriend went boogie boarding with friends and dislocated his clavicle. The doctor at the resort was very helpful and nice. He personally drove us to the hospital and made sure Grant was looked after right away. I cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We figured out that the hotel works in sections. The last time we stayed here we had room 4155. Sect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bailey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Huatulco. We appreciate you have taken the time to share your feedback and comments; sorry for your boyfriend´s clavicle we hope he will gets better pretty soon.

We look forward to be able to welcome you home once again.

Have a great day!

Fernando Ramirez
Rooms División Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My family has stayed at this hotel 5 times over the last 3 years.
The pools in Dreams are excellent. There are side pools which are quiet and shaded in the afternoons and 3 big pools on the beach front.
The adult only pool is great for getting in some laps and is relatively quiet. The main pool is huge and we spent most of the vacation in it.
The ocean is crystal clear and full of fish so great for snorkelling.
The entertainment staff are helpful and work hard to get everyone up and moving.
The kids club is one of the best we have seen and our son loves it. A couple of years ago they threw a birthday party for him out of the blue.
Our kids enjoyed the shows in the evenings and also the movie each night that is projected against the hotel wall while they chill out on sun loungers.
The food and drink selection is very good for an all inclusive.
I recommend the hotel for families although older kids (older teens) may be bored.
We will go again for sure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Famni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. We are happy that you had a relaxing vacation in our resorts and that you had enjoyed all the amenities we offer.

Thank you for choosing us. We hope to have you back very soon in your home away from home.

Have a pleasant day
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,067 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.5 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.9 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #4 | Bahia de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing