We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 crazy Canadian women”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 5, 2014

2 weeks of great food, laughs and memories made. The entertainment team at Dreams were the best we have encountered yet. Thanks Milly and Alexandria, Daniel and Edgar and others. Rooms were great too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Viviane-Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are happy that you had a great time with our entertainment staff, this comments will be passed to them so can see how great the clients express themselves about our staff. Once again thank you for choosing us, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you very soon as we will be waiting for you in your home away from home.

Have a pleasant day
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,120 - 1,126 of 3,583 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2014

Upside,, beautiful beach, three lovely infinity pools overlooking the ocean, poolside and ocean service was excellent, staff very friendly and courteous. Beds were very comfortable as were the pillows, ( first time in ten years of visiting Mexico) , scenery was breathtaking. Cheap taxi's to nearby towns. Not commercialized and busy like the Mayan side of the country.

Downside,,food very repetitive and overcooked, seaside restaurant always full of flies and birds, bird droppings on tables and chairs, although the workers tried their best to keep them away it was just very unappetizing. Although the pools were kept clean and were lovely to look at, because the air temp was always so hot it was hard to keep the pools cool enough to be refreshing. They do not wash beach/pool towels , they throw them in the dryers only and refold. In my opinion this is a very unsanitary practice. One thing that was annoying at the restaurants was how they would hover to remove your plate, but just try and get them to move as quick for a drink which they had to serve. Why not let guests get their own water,coffee, juice,or pop? At least at the buffets. Did not like the fact they were booked for weddings every second or third day of our two week stay. Parts of the hotel were taken over and closed off, not to mention the music pounding late into the night. If you do decide to book here and you get a room over the Japanese restaurant, get moved asap! You will have to put up with the smell of cooking grease that wafts into the room starting at 5:00 pm. I have left the worst for last, I had two rings stolen from my makeup case that was left on the bathroom counter while we went to the beach. We have been going to Mexico for ten years and never have we had anything stolen, mostly because we usually always use the room safe, but on this morning I did not. After ripping the room apart we then reported it to management. Within a few moments a form was put in front of me to fill out along with a waiver to sign stating I would not sue or hold liable the hotel for the theft. I therefore assume this happens on a regular basis at this property. Their "investigation" consisted of two security guards searching our room which was fine but then that was it!! this happened on the third day of our two week stay, I never heard one word about what happened afterwards from anyone! I had to ask upon checkout what further was done to find my rings, and as you can imagine, after signing the waiver not much. I will never return back to this hotel after this incident regardless of how beautiful the surroundings were. To add to the fact that they have a thief or thieves working here, while sitting in the lobby two days after the theft from our room, two men came to report missing binoculars and iPod from their room.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room above the Japanese restaurant, reeks of cooking grease.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Debbrad78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you very much for sending along your feedback, as we take all comments written through this forum very serious as part of our improvement process to provide all our guests the best quality service possible. It is very disappointing to know that we were not able to fulfill your expectation. Rest assured this has been revised with the management in order to be improved and prevent any further occurrence.

We apologize again this was the outcome of your vacation; please know it was never our intention. Nevertheless, we hope to be able to welcome you to be able to serve you and turn this experience around and regain your trust in the Dreams Huatulco. For further comments or questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were most impressed with the food. I am a bit of a fussy eater so 2 weeks can get a bit long but not at Dreams. The only thing we had trouble with was drink service at the beach and the adult pool, had to get our own a lot of the time. Heard this from others as well. Room was great, bed and pillows as well. TV didnt work and balcony door wouldnt lock but they fixed them within minutes, couldnt believe the prompt service.
Best bartender vote goes to Francisco he got more done in a minute than the guys at beach bar did in a day.
The towel game oh boy. Watched same people save 8 by pool and 8 by beach lots of times as you can take as many towels as you want.
Loved the no bracelets and the no book a la cartes.
Took a taxi to La Bocana one day and Barra De La Cruz another to boogie board. No problems there. Taxi driver named Valentine was an awesome tour guide.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRBNNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are pleased to hear your vacation time was nothing but wonderful, and we thank you for choosing our hotel and spreading the word and for reading you would come back which it means, we are in the correct path, we apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the TV but any way we will double check them.

We look forward to having you back soon to your home away from home.

Have a pleasant day
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

My wife, 21 yr old daughter, her 21 yr old friend, and I spent a wonderful week at Dreams. We went during Spring Break week to get away from Minnesota snow. We all had a great time; sun every day and temps in the 90'sF (32'sC). We are all beach people and the beach is awesome. Lots of sand and nice area to swim in the ocean. We went through Apple Vacations, so the checkin was very fast. Our room was a Deluxe Tropical view, which in this case was 2215 and 2216, which meant we were near the end of the hallway in Bldg 2, so we had a nice partial view of the ocean off the balcony. The rooms were very clean and the two-a-day maid service kept them that way. My daughter's room had a leak in the ceiling one day, and they had it repaired within one hour. The only downfall to the room's location, is that right outside the wing we were in, is where the wedding receptions take place. So, the music is loud and does go to about midnight. There are weddings every weekend, so if you are in Bldg 2, be prepared. We never lacked towels and the fridge was always stocked. I have to comment on the beds. We have stayed at many resorts in Mexico over the last 10 years and the beds at Dreams were by far the most comfortable. Some other resorts have rock hard beds and a good sleep is non-existent. Here, I had no trouble falling asleep and did not wake up with a sore back or hip. One thing, the hallways have marble floors, which allows sound to travel very well. Some early mornings, it was very easy to hear the maids getting ready for the day or talking on their cell phones or here late night partyers come back to their rooms. The beach was the best. There were plenty of chairs, although, I got up at 6:30 each day to reserve a prime location. The service on the beach was very good. There was someone there on a regular basis to get us drinks and I think tipping helped ensure good service. The drinks seemed a little lax in alcohol, but that didn't bother us. Edgar did a great job keeping us hydrated. The food was a little above the standard AI fare; nothing spectacular, but none of us went away needing something else to eat. The breakfast omelets were excellent. I even added some other things from the salad bar. The Coco Cafe was also very good. Ana made the best Capacino. Visiting her became my morning ritual, as was sitting in the beach chair watching the sun come up. Next came the best part for me. The resort offers outdoor Yoga every morning, except Sunday. The instructors were excellent and very knowledgable. The morning practice sent the tone for a relaxing day. The entertainment at night was OK. We did not attend all the shows, but the ones we did attend were good. This resort is very nice if you want a peaceful vacation and don't care about nightly entertainment. There are no clubs or anything like that in the nearby cities for young people. We did not participate in any excursions, so other posts will have to comment on that. The airport in Huatulco is very small, so if you get there early, you have to wait outside until the security opens, which is about one hour before the flight, then you go inside and wait. Although, outside, there is a nice restaurant area to wait.
Bottom line...We had a wonderful relaxing vacation at Dreams. We would go back.

Room Tip: Bldg 2 at the end near the ocean has a nice partial view of the ocean. It can be noisy due to the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank savagecycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this amazing experience.

We are honored to know you chose us as your vacation destination, and had a very pleasant and remarkable stay. We are really happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort.

We also want to thank you for the time you have taken to inform us of how it all went for you. We strive to constantly improve the quality of our services and your comments are very much appreciated.

We look forward to having you back to your home away from home called Dreams huatulco.

Have an excellent day!

Fernando Ramirez
Room Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We brought our family back to Dreams Huatulco, kids ages 6,8 and 11. The staff is amazingly kind and sincerely wants to make sure their stay is fun. Kids crafts, kids pool time, the Explorer's Club games and the Activities center made sure that every day they are having a wonderful vacation. When they are happy, we can relax and be happy too. The rest of the staff is attentive and friendly. The wait staff, pool side servers, maids, concierges all are very friendly and happy to help with requests. Good coffee in the cafe. Drinks with top shelf liquor. Sit-down restaurants for dinner with good service. Food good enough to make a Food Network aficionado pleased for the whole stay-never a questionable item served, not once.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodyG858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. We are happy that you had a relaxing vacation in our resorts and that you had enjoyed all the amenities we offer as the Explorer's Club games and the Activities center. Thank you for choosing us. We hope to have to have you back very soon in your home away from home.

Have a pleasant day
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed at Dreams Huatulco in March and agree with most of the positive descriptions given on this site. Rather than repeat the descriptions, I'll try and give some ideas and views that may be helpful if you have decided to go here, or are seriously considering it.

Arrival.
Be dressed for heat on leaving the plane. If you arrive on a normal sized charter aircraft, you may well overwhelm the immigration facilities. There were just two officials on duty when we arrived and the lineup stretched out of the building and some spent about 30 minutes lined up in the sun. Once in the immigration building, it is still hot and not air conditioned, (some fans). It took about 1 hour to clear immigration. You may be checked by a sniffer dog who seems sensitive to food stuffs such as candy in your carry on. Don't be worried if they want a look.The rest of the procedures are quite quick. Be aware that your baggage may be already taken off the carousel and be sitting awaiting your pickup. A quick press of the customs button for the red/green light and you are through and can easily see your tour representative, who will guide you to your waiting bus. (I did not see any timeshare people). It is also hot in the evenings, compared with many other places (28-29C). My sweater etc. went unworn. (The airport departure lounge is now air conditioned and comfortable to wait in.)

A short 25 minute drive later and you are at Dreams. After leaving your luggage in the bell boy area, you proceed to registration. If you are in a large group, you will be waved past the registration desks, on your left, to a set of tables where, on giving your name and signing, you will receive your registration package. You then return to the bell boys, show them your luggage and give your room number and then off you go to find your room, your luggage following later. Your package will probably only contain one room card. No problem, more are available at the front desk when convenient. (we had 3 for 2 people.)

Finding your way around.
Most maps I found of the hotel before coming can not be relied upon as entirely accurate. However, the room numbering system is as follows: The first digit of your room number is your building. Forget the maps that show them as ABCD. As you face the ocean in the lobby, buildings 1 &2 are to your left and form the outside leg of the U shape. 4 is to your right and forms the other outside leg. 3 joins the two legs and directly faces the ocean. The next digit is the floor in your building and the last two digits are the room on that floor. Elevators are available to your left and right on the lobby level.
The lobby is actually on floor 2, as are the shops, Coco Cafe and the theatre. All restaurants are at 1st floor level, as are the pools and the beach. However, though Portofina is at a first floor level, it is accessed down a staircase from the 2nd floor lobby level to the left of the lobby. Though this may sound complicated, you will soon get the hang of it. It is a fairly compact resort.

Towel Game/Shade.
You will need shade. If you want a shady spot on the beach or overlooking the infinity pools, you will need to get it somewhere between 6-7am. As new towels are not put out until around seven, this may involve, either keeping your previous days towels or taking out personal stuff to bag your spot. However, if these prime locations are not a high priority, you can go out at 8, 9 or even later and get chairs under an umbrella at one of the other pools. The adult pool away from the beach often had umbrellas much later than this, as did the children's pool area. I was worried about not being able to get the much needed shade without getting up at the crack of dawn, after reading many of the reviews. It turned out not to be an issue, provided I didn't want a view of the bay. However, as the afternoon wore on, shady spots usually became available in prime areas and you can move

Food.
We largely enjoyed the no reservations policy, though it did give a feeling of uncertainty. The only restaurant we found it an issue was Oceania and that was a matter of our timing. (7-7:30pm appears to be a peak time) The food at all the Al a Cartes was good. The buffet was fine, but no better than that of many of the other AI's we have been to. Remember your room number you are asked for it in restaurants and for other services the hotel provides. We enjoyed the Japanese/Thai restaurant the most and went there 3 times. Men make sure you have a pair of long pants, a shirt with sleeves (either long or short) and shoes that cover the toes (brown runners worked for me). Those should get you into Portofina, which has the strictest dress code. The others are less demanding.

Service.
We found the service excellent. The staff were attentive and eager to please. Their level of English was better than my Spanish and there was no difficulty with common requests and when beyond that, we both did our best. Occasionally we got a surprise drink delivered, but I don't see that as a major problem. At the weekends, as has been mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel filled with Mexican patrons. I found this no issue and enjoyable. I envied their sense of family and general “joie de vivre”. I didn't feel I got less service on these occasions, though wait staff naturally spent more time talking to people who spoke their language.

Trips.
We only went on the City trip. However, we were glad we did as we were shown some wonderful viewpoints in the surrounding countryside. The city itself was clean and safe. We were taken to a number of stores, but other than the jewelry store, were put under no pressure to buy and learned a lot about the production of the various items. The company doing the tours for Air Transat, took CDN $ at par as long as you paid cash. The others may! You can book your tours with any of the providers in the hotel lobby, who may provide the same tours on different days.. At the airport, in departure, the liquor/ gift store accepted CDN at par too and even gave change in CDN. My wife was surprised to get loonies and toonies.

Drinks.
Bars stock a large variety of top shelf liquor. You should ask for what you want by name. The pool/beach service is normally quite good, but occasionally you may want to get your own. Mixed drinks vary from bar to bar. Make sure you have at least one drink on the bar stools at the Barracuda Bar, which provide a beautiful bay view. Your room fridge contains beer, water and soft drinks. Bottles of water are readily available from every bar and server, just ask.

Pools.
I have never seen pools cleaned as frequently as here, many times a day. The water is warm in the morning and gets warmer. The “jacuzzi” end of the pool by the World Cafe often becomes a “tots” pool due to the shallow depth and parental accessibility. Take that into account before setting up there, even though there are often free umbrellas between 8-9am.

Activities.
A lot of water equipment is available for loan from the activities centre by the Seaside Grill. I found archery sessions a lot of fun. Hobbie cats are available for personal use after taking a short lesson. Kayaks are plentiful. You will often see the red flag. This is posted according to the strength of the waves hitting the beach. The bay itself can still be quite calm. It has no bearing on whether water activities are available. Indeed, there may often not be enough wind for good sailing on a red flag day.
The waves hitting the beach may have a strong undertow and the beach shelves quickly. However, once through this narrow band, the bay seemed perfectly safe for swimming and older children enjoyed being pulled by the waves on the beach. However, be careful with smaller children. They could quickly be taken out of their depth. A daily newsheet delivered to your room contains the days activities and the times the various bars and restaurants are open. All restaurants are not open every day. Copies are available from the concierge, if you were missed. He also has the menus of the various restaurants.

Overall.
We found this is one of the most enjoyable of all the all inclusives we have been to. It is beautiful, clean and hot. The staff are well trained and eager to serve you. Is it perfect? Of course not! However, I recommend it for a relaxing enjoyable holiday in the sun. I'm sure we will go back.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. The Ocean facing rooms are above the lobby and disco area and can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Greetings from the sunny Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others. We are happy that you had a wonderful time in our resorts and that you had enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer. Once again thank you for choosing us. And we hope to have the opportunity to serve you one more time, in a near future in your home away from home.


Have a pleasant day
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We've been staying at Dreams since 2009 when it opened. Prior to the Dreams it was the Gala Hotel which was an excellent property with clearly a Mexican flavor.
We've continued to stay at the Dreams since it is by and far the best property in the Bahias de Huatulco area. The staff is what makes the difference. From executive management to the wonderful ladies who take such wonderful care of the rooms, all have the guests' interests at the center of their duties.
We will continue to stay there until, .........!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrWiz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

We want to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Dreams Huatulco as your holiday destination and we appreciate the time you have taken to write a review of your stay with us. And for being visiting us for so many years something that all the staff from the resorts really appreciate your loyalty.
We are very happy that your time at our resort has been excellent, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the use of our facilities; we thank you hugely for all your wonderful feedback.
We do hope you return to you home here in Huatulco where it´s always going to be a pleasure to serve you.

Kind Regards
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 48 in Huatulco
4,364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 48 in Huatulco
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#17 of 48 in Huatulco
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Isla Natura Beach Huatulco
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.9 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #4 | Bahia de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $240 - $650 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing