We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people make the difference.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Langley, bc canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The people make the difference.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The employees at this resort make the difference.
FOOD-
We ate at all of the restaurants. Portofino was my favorite, beef with cheese sauce had so much flavor. It was unusual that with every restaurant we tried we had fantastic nights one night and ok nights another. They lacked consistency. I thought the Mexican would be good but all in our group found it to be lacking. I think the menu needs some changing. The buffet is very good all of the time for breakfast lunch and dinner. I would say the food at the dreams is very good. If you don't gain some weight I would be surprised.
Cleanliness-
The Dreams resort is very clean with employees posted outside of every bathroom. After a few people use the bathroom it gets cleaned. All public bathrooms are kept clean and this is important to me. The rooms are also kept very clean. The beds get made before 16:00 and around 16:30 the ladies start coming around to turn down your bed and give you a chocolate. Sometimes when we tried to have a short nap. This should start after 19:00.
Drinks-
Whatever you can dream of or desire they will make for you. You are never left without service on the beach or by the pool. All waiters are FANTASTIC. Such nice people to talk to and certainly a pleasure having them serve us drinks. The waiter at the lobby bar is only one at night so he is very overworked. Waiting for drinks is ok but to see someone this busy when all they need to do is add another waiter.
Entertainment-
We tried numerous times to go see the shows but could not stay longer than 5 minutes. I am sorry but these types of show are not for me. It might help getting a larger room and changing the type of show. Comedy is more my style.
At night in the lobby bar they have musicians that play until about 23:00. Some are fantastic like the gentleman that plays on Sunday night. Some play the same songs each night and tend to be boring. First week is fine but second week they should change it up a bit.
Beach-
If you go down to the beach on the east side there are large fish that role with the waves and swim around your feet waiting to be fed. Very nice beach. Went kayaking and enjoyed the exercise and scenery.
Pools-
There are many pools but the most popular are the front three infinity pools. You will have to get up at 06:30 to get a chair otherwise people put towels on the chairs and don't show up all day. Some even have two chairs one for the sun and one for the shade. We had one incident on a Friday where a local couple came by the pool while we were gone for lunch and took our items off of the the chair to claim as there own. After 30 minutes and lunch we arrived to see them in our chairs. Security asked us to move which I was very surprised by. The local couple said they are Mexican and this is their country and they can do whatever they want in their country. The resort had a chat with these people and everything seemed OK. This was the only time I did not feel safe at this resort and wished I could go someplace else. Numerous Mexican people show up for weddings on weekends. Some of the staff treat the locals better and the tourist less than desired when they arrive. Most of the employees continue their FANTASTIC service but you can see the difference.
Overall-
I really like the Dreams resort but something is missing. You shouldn't have to struggle every day to get a chair at the pool that could cause a fight. With a few small changes this resort could have more shade what people want and a better view which could make it more appealing. Small changes would make this resort Excellent otherwise I would say it is only Very good. I believe it to be a 4 star resort, not 5 as reported.

I hope I have provided an honest review so you can decide on where to spend your hard earned money. Be safe and alert rather than get hurt. Have fun.

I will watch to see what other people post before I decide to go back to Dreams Huatulco. . Safety is a huge concern to me and I never want to feel as unsafe as I did when the locals took our chairs. I had one local at the pool tell me on a Saturday " Anything can happen in Mexico, murders and kidnappings. " The weekends are the time to be on alert.

Room Tip: The only rooms that I would not want are the main floor rooms as there is no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Harry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,875
    916
    293
    123
    64
See reviews for
1,309
1,103
36
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (591)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We just returned form a week in Huatulco. The Dreams is the old Gala and is a wonderful setting. There is typically a nice breeze that can fool you into underestimating the power of the sun.

PROS
Staff is very attentive and professional. Building and rooms are very clean. View is fabulous as is the winter weather. Room service is available and the fridge/minibar kept stocked. The beds are comfortable and the shower has good pressure. Nice bath products. Rooms have a small Lanai with a couple chairs and table. Very easy to get around and very safe area. Lots of pleasant people to meet and chat with.

CONS
Food is buffet with a couple specialty spots. It is all consistently mediocre as is typical, in our experience, of AI's. The place was sold out and it felt crowded all the time. Beach and Pool chairs "reserved" early by folks who are often not there. The best restaurants is town are crowded and hard to get into for dinner (Folks looking for better food). Many Beach vendors. Pools are all shallow, maybe 4'.
There are a lot of people in the pool and a steady stream of beverages delivered. When we were almost the only ones to get out of the pool for a trip to the banos, we realized the water was not just getting warmer from the sunshine. A shower after pool time is highly recommended. Not as bad as some of the swim up bars in Cancun, but still....

Summary
Great vacation spot, but has become too crowded for us and even the "specialty" restaurants have mediocre food. We discovered Huatulco in the mid 90's and took many winter vacations there, so we have watched it become popular. This 100% full house took us by surprise with how crowded it felt.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I've never written a review while at a resort before, but need to in this case. While the scenery and weather is are great and the food and staff are generally good, some other things are such negatives that I cannot recommend this place. The resort blares music (as in way too loud) until 11 pm so you can't sleep even if you want to, the housekeeper knocked at door with standard chocolates at 10:30 pm (could these not have been left when the room was cleaned?), and a pre-requested king bed could not be met until mid-trip. I would never come back to Dreams Huatulco.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

If you want to pay 5 star fees for a 3 star resort, go here.

The room is nice on the surface, but I don't need to here the conversation happening next door in the adjoining room. Many people are complaining about this. Why they don't put some foam or sound proofing material between the adjoinng doors is beyond me. It's such an issue that I overheard another patron ask where she could get earplugs!

Food during breakfast is good, lunch is ok. But the dinner buffet is awful. Beware of the service at the bars and restaurants as it can be very hit or miss.

If you plan on ordering a mixed drink, be sure to order a shot on the side as the alcohol content in the drinks is weak.

Front desk is staff is useless. Ask them a question and it never gets answered.

The only thing this resort has going for it is the weather and the beach.

We will have to think long and hard before returning.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank kgtibor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is by far the nicest vacation we have ever had. The resort and it's staff are exceptional and the location is amazing. I have avoided going to Mexico because of the violence but if you do your homework about the location you will have no problem. We ventured into town on scooters more than once and the people we encountered couldn't have been nicer! We are definitely going back and will stay for two weeks next time. My only comment would be to create more shaded areas on the beach, the sun is hot!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123Martie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Finishing one week here and loved it- rooms clean and beds comfortable. Food good and many different choices. Excursion booked on the beach with Veferino Martinez "Capt. Starfish" was one day to the bays...sea turtles, amazing dolphins. Price was $200. U.S. For two people and he is a nice guy. Snorkeling was good on the coral reef. Hotel is safe and weather awesome. A bit loud at night if you go to bed early but it stops around 11p.m. - will come again. I found the staff always pleasant and helpful. They want you to have a good time.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank dib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We spent the first two weeks of February at Dreams Huatulco.
We really liked:
*Tangolunda Bay and the hotel's beach. Calm, swimmable, sailable. Sailboats & kayaks, no charge.
*No wristbands, no struggles for restaurant space
*Outstanding staff
*Amazingly consistent weather during dry season, 30 degrees and humid every day.
*Decent Wi-Fi everywhere, not just the lobby. Sometimes good enough for Face Time.

Our room was in the eastern wing (1xxx) and faced a beautifully gardened rock face that separates Dreams from its neighbour. We'll take quiet nights over an ocean view and bar noise anytime. An early morning bird symphony each day. Adult pool, usually quiet, within a short walk.
The room was sizeable and in very good condition with current furnishings and decorations. The bathroom was among the best I've seen in several Mexican trips, plus there was no odd smell. Its minibar was well-stocked and restocked. Maid service daytime and evening could not have been better, and although we are daily tippers it wasn't a lot.
The place is sold out in February, which results in people behaving badly in search of an umbrella or palapa. The hotel took partial action only on one day of our stay, scooping the towels and books that were planted pre-dawn commando style on chaises longues, but then only on one beachfront row. Soon enough, guests started dealing with a few chair hogs, occupying spots that were left vacant for hours. One manager had the task of going around and trying to scare up some spots, but we only saw him once. No confrontations to report, but who could object if the hotel tightened things up a bit in high season?
Food was a hit-and-miss situation. The top-level menu restaurant (shoes, please) served us some really mediocre stuff and some that was good if not exceptional. The Mexican restaurant was generally better, although I again received a cold dish that was sent back for reheating. We also got a sad pile of pan-fried vegetable strips instead of the vegetarian enchiladas that were ordered. But the appetizers and soups were generally very good, including tacos hand-made on the spot.
The restaurant by the beach was seldom open for dinner, but served a dandy steak when it was. Once a week there's a big Mexican buffet on the plaza and it's very good. Oddly the indoor buffet supplied some of the best food but only at lunch. Sunday dinner-style turkey, roast beef, prime rib and shellfish would show up. Breakfast in the same room was generally pleasant, although the pancakes were cool and the waffles cold and tough. On the other hand, some days they served smoked salmon! This was great until that lady grabbed half a tray of it to go with her scrambled eggs, french toast and sausages. As usual, fresh fruit including papaya was abundant.
In an insult to the nearby Pacific Ocean and its occupants, fish dishes are labelled "Fish." Press the staff and they'll tell you it's Mahi Mahi or possibly sea bass. Quite disappointing except for the one small whole fish we had at lunch.
Do you drink decaf coffee? Well if you know someone who does, prepare them for the disappointment of... INSTANT COFFEE. The place refuses to brew decaf, so have a jittery day.
As mentioned the hotel staff are professional and attentive, some of the best we've encountered. Drink service can be slow when the place is packed. Servers on the beach are generally incredible, as are the events and recreation people.
The crowd at Dreams is generally older, except for the many wedding groups, and not rowdy.
We got off the property several times, notably for the coffee plantation tour (booked through Transat's desk). Thanks to our Zapoteca guide, Oscar, we got much more than was described in the brochure. A cab ride to the archeological site/Copalita/La Bocana was also well worth it. La Crucecita is nice but avoid nearby Santa Cruz and its legions of hungry vendors. You can also enjoy walks/runs in the area surrounding the hotels.
Would definitely go again if it were a January or February visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Likesjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,070 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
203 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.5 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
1.9 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #4 | Bahia de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing