We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for families with teens”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The good: the hotel is of good size. There is a good variety of restaurants. We were two families with teens, and they all had something to do. The pools are large, the chairs comfy. The service was very good (like it is often in Mexico). The entrance of the hotel is gorgeous, open, always clean. The drinks were very good. Clean. Room service fast. There are vendors with permits in the beach, we bought two activities: snorkeling and river rafting. Don't miss them if you go, plus it will take your kids entertained. The river is amazing: we saw wild birds galore, and teens went on a different raft and and had a lot of fun. One night we went to Santa Cruz, the little town, beautiful, clean, don't miss the "agua de horchata". All boys got handmade bracelets, which they still wear today. Don't miss the Mexican night, which is once a week, the restaurant by the beach was the best meal of the week. And if are sitting by the beach and a young boy comes to offer you fresh oysters, and you like oysters, do not hesitate to say yes. We asked the hotel maitre d' and he said we could. They are unbelievable. The best drink is the frozen cucumber-lime. The Asian restaurant was top notch and had a gorgeous bar. The activity staff was friendly all the time, and the activities at night were fun. There are different types of singers/bands in the club at night. If you really want to escape the heat, go to the coffe-shop, where you will find not only great coffee and snacks, but it is the best air-conditioned room in the whole property, and it has a great view. The spa is super worth, specially the water treatment. Wi-fi was free and coverage was great almost everywhere.

However, keep in mind: we went in August, the sea was very rough. The boys (between 11 and 14) loved it, but the rule was there always had to be an adult watching them. The surf can get so high at times, they pull everyone from the beach for safety. It was high season so one of us had to get up and go put towels on the chairs very early. The main elevator in our building was wet most of the time, watch your step. The gym is small. And bring mosquito repellent - when the sun starts setting, minute little, almost invisible mosquitoes start attacking. We stayed a full week and in retrospect, 5 days should have been sufficient.
Overall, a great trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are happy that you had a great time with us and that you had enjoyed all the amenities that the resorts have to offer.
Once again thank you for choosing us. And we hope to have the opportunity to serve you very soon as we will be waiting for you in your home away from home.

Have a pleasant day

Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,199 - 1,205 of 3,420 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

The rooms were clean the food was very good.
The personel could not speak much English
They did not have my favorite rum (Captain Morgan)
The service by the pool was slow
The hotel was full of the locals
The adult pool by our room did not have a bar

Room Tip: rooms by the adult pool without a bar are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments, which are very important to us in order to take immediately action to improve our service.
Once again thank you for choosing us.

We you can give us the opportunity to have back with us in a near future.

Have a pleasant day

Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice all inclusive. We had been in Huatulco before. We really like it. This hotel was much superior to the other. Location was perfect. The service and amenities excellent (no bracelet, towels are plenty). Amazing pools. Awesome view of the bay from the infinity pools. It was a perfectly relaxing vacation. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DG_global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest

Greetings from Dreams Huatulco. Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are happy that you had a great time with us and that you had enjoyed the amenities from the resorts.
Once again thank you for choosing us. And we hope to have the opportunity to serve very soon as we will be waiting for you in your home away from home.

Have a pleasant day

Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First time at an all inclusive, and it was what we expected. Property, rooms, beach, pool were all clean and attractive. Food was good, but obviously not gourmet. My three teen boys enjoyed the food, though and especially the room service. The staff was all very friendly and helpful. Not worth upgrading to a better view. Disco/bar can be noisy if your room is above it. Great for relaxing and family time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuburbanMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please, receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Huatulco. We are very happy that you and your families have enjoied your time here in our resorts, thank you for having choosen us and
We look forward to be able to welcome you home, so you can give us the opportunity to serve you once again in a near future.

Have a great day!

Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dreams Huatulco Resort and Spa for our vacation this year August 2013. This is our first time in Huatulco. This place is one of the elegant place we stayed in. The services of ALL the staff are consistent, they are all wonderful and really treat you very special so that you will really enjoy your vacation. Mario was our concierge, and his great service was from the minute we arrived at the hotel. EVERYONE were very nice, professional.

The place was SUPER clean and BEAUTIFUL. Great atmosphere, restaurants, bars all have great ambience. The food was FANTASTIC !!!

The activities and shows are wonderful and so much fun.

This is a place to stay in and truly enjoy your vacation!!! Worth every penny spent !! We will definitely go back and stay at this hotel again in the near future!

Highly highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the best room 2212 !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Regina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Gerente at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Huatulco. We appreciate you have taken the time to share your feedback and comments about our resorts.

thank you very much for your comments and We look forward to be able to welcome you home, so you can give us the opportunity to serve you once again in a near future.

Have a great day!

Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa during July 12th through July 19th. I was looking for R&R and I definitely found it at this resort. This is definitely not the place to stay if you're looking for night life. I've stayed at other Dreams resorts which were much larger and nicer. The food wasn't that great. The resort isn't very large so there just wasn't enough variety. The quality wasn't bad and I never got sick during my stay. The service was great. I do feel that I got my money's worth at this resort. It was clean and the beach was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Louie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Huatulco. We appreciate you have taken the time to share your feedback and comments; we take very serious every review received through this forum as this helps us identify the areas of improvement, in order to provide excellent service to all our guests.

We look forward to be able to welcome you home, so you can give us the opportunity to serve you once again in a near future.

Have a great day!

Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at this resort from July12-19 (family of 4-kids 12,16). We did have flight issues due to Frontier and arrived at 10pm. We had upgraded to Preferred so our check-in was a breeze.
We have been to Dreams/Now and Secrets resorts in PV, Cancun, Tulum and Punta Cana so we are very familiar with this chain. First, it is a beautiful resort with a great beach. The undertow is crazy strong so be very careful. Grown men were knocked over. The service was spotty. The service the first few days on the beach was excellent but went downhill.
This is a resort where Mexican families vacation so being from the states we stood out. The staff speaks limited English but I was able to get by with my limited Spanish.
The food was average at best. The breakfast buffet was good with variety. Lunch ok. My kids ended up eating hamburgers a few days and that's unusual. We all prefer to try new dishes but they were lacking. The restaurants for dinner were probably our biggest disappointment. At the other Amstar locations we have had exceptional meals but we could only agree that Oceana offered us a good meal. We even went back a second time to Oceana and were then disappointed. At the a la cartes we found the food quality and taste as poor. Luckily, as Preferred guests we ate a lot of snacks from the lounge.
This is a quiet, family friendly resort. If you are looking for night life this isn't it the place.
This isn't a resort that we would return to.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
7  Thank Barb1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando R, Manager at Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Please receive the warmest greetings from Dreams Huatulco. We appreciate you have taken the time to share your feedback and comments; we take very serious every review received through this forum as this helps us identify the areas of improvement, in order to provide excellent service to all our guests.

It is very disappointing to read that we were not able to fulfill your expectations, Rest assured that the issues mentioned has been addressed to the correct leader to avoid any future occurrence.

Again, we apologize for the less than favorable experience. We look forward to be able to welcome you home and regain your trust in the Dreams brand. For further comments or questions, please do not hesitate to email us.

Kind regards,
Fernando Ramirez
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,798 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
209 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
2.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
254 reviews
1.9 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #4 | Bahia de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $191 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing