We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho hum, Zzzzzzzz.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rhinelander, Wi
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Ho hum, Zzzzzzzz.”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We love the Huatulco area and weather but hadn't been there in seven years. We had experienced poor weather in other areas of Mexico since then so we decided to get back to where we knew the weather was fantastic. And it did not disappoint. But the Dreams did.
First of all, there is no smoking at the bars or at the pools (supposedly) which was a mild inconvenience for my wife. Second, there is no swim up bar (which we knew beforehand and which was only a mild inconvenience as the pool waitresses were pretty capable). Thirdly, although there are six pools (three of them infinity pools overlooking the bay), there is not a one that encourages a "good time". The one pool that has music off and on throughout the day throws a wet blanket on any potential fun when it shuts the music off at 3pm for BINGO!!! The entire area pretty much falls asleep at that point. AND THIS IS THE FUN POOL!!! Granted, we may have been able to create a little more fun for ourselves had we not been battling intestinal troubles for half of our two week stay.
The food in the buffet, which has been good enough for us in 13 of our previous 14 vacations, was poor (other than breakfast). We had a difficult time finding something edible from day two on. We never ventured to the ala cartes as we felt Mexican and Italian food would not be the best things for our sketchy diarhea issues. We heard mixed reviews on all of the ala cartes which gave us no reason to risk it.
The beach is nice, with schools of fairly large fish in ankle deep water. We were fortunate enough to see a release of baby turtles right on the beach by the property.
The bars were decent and had premium liquors that you had to ask for. They generally hid the premium bottles so they wouldn't catch your eye if you didn't know they had them.
Entertainment staff was pretty friendly but were all pretty new to the resort. There seems to be a lot of turnover for some reason in this area as a few entertainment staffers were even changed while we were there.
In the room they provide some SPF 15 sunscreen which is nice, but unfortuneatly it all expired in 2011. And we told three resort employees about this but kept getting the same expired product in our room in the subsequent days.
Jonathan at the theater bar was fabulous! He grew up in the Houston area so he spoke very good English and was pretty Americanized. He was very funny and a good guy.
The resort is very clean. The floors are always shining and the bathrooms are constantly being cleaned (sometimes to our displeasure).
Overall we were a little disapponted. We had stayed at the Dreams in Nuevo Vallarta and found the food to be much better. We missed having a swim-up bar or even an area to let loose on a day if you felt like it. If you are just looking to get away and relax (sun or shade), this is a good resort for you if you can find something you like to eat. The Huatulco area is safe and our favorite place in Mexico or the Carribean. The weather is always HOT and SUNNY and La Crucecita is a nice little city nearby. Weather we give the Dreams another chance is yet to be determined. There aren't a lot of All-Inclusives in this area. I feel most travelers would enjoy there stay at the Dreams.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DebLRhinelander-Wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,926
    941
    301
    127
    64
See reviews for
1,382
1,108
36
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

My time at dreams was the most amazing vacation i have ever been on in mexico, the rooms were extremely comfortable and the food is very very good. the area is super beautiful and there is an abundance of wildlife to be seen from whales to turtles to crocodiles.The best part of the vacation was the staff, they are the most kind and accepting people that make you feel like your family. These people working there such as Fermin from the resturants, or Jose from the buffet and especially the entertainment staff such as Lorena, who makes your stay go from good to excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Devan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage la Prairie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Dreams Huatuclo

We just recently stayed at Dreams and yes it is still a Dream! Our room was meticulously clean and kept that way daily. The mini fridge was always well stocked daily. The food was very good at every place we tried. Staff was very friendly and courteous at all times to us. One night we ordered room service and ate it outside on our balcony and sat and “dined” and watch the most beautiful wedding in progress! I might mention that the club house and fries we ordered were probably the best ones we have ever eaten!

As for the wedding…well it was simply beautiful. Our Daughter got married at Dreams Huatulco last February and Pilar and staff did such a fantastic job with their wedding from beginning to end. They could not have picked a better resort for their wedding! If anybody is thinking of a destination wedding, in my opinion you’ll find it here at Dreams Huatulco!
We hired a local fellow from La Bocana to take their wedding photographs and he too was a perfect choice. His name is “Miguel Angel Luna Gainza”. We still keep in touch with him as he is such a nice fellow. Check out his work on his Face Book Page @ photographer huatulco.


Back to the resort…..Fernando (at the front desk) was always there to help with anything. Whether it was for a restaurant opinion or making a reservation for us. He was my “go to man”. He always went above and beyond. He was always smiling and you could tell that he loved his job and really cared about the guests at Dreams.

The 6 pools and pool areas were always clean as were the washrooms. The Resort was always being scrubbed, wiped and polished. The beach area was also kept very clean of drink glasses, water bottles, garbage, etc. And the waiters and waitresses on the beach were always around when one needed a drink. Personally, we mostly got our own drinks as I needed a bit of exercise! Lol

Although it is nice not to have a towel card, in my opinion people take advantage of that. I witness on many occasions where people would take a rolled up clean towel just to dry their feet and then toss it in the dirty basket. Crazy wasteful and disrespectful in my opinion. I would be ok with one towel card per day. That is a perk that some people take advantage of.

We went on a tour this year with a fellow named Miles May. He is Canadian but has lived in Huatulco for 8 years now. His tour was called The Thingy Tour. He parks his jeep type of vehicles out front between Dreams and The Barceló. It was a great “off the beaten path” tour. The best we have been on that’s for sure. He can be reached at mexicomiles@gmail(dot)com , he took us up the mountain to the Rio Zimatan and to a quaint little village and then a stop at a casa where the ladies made us a fantastic lunch. The price was very reasonable and he had a lot of knowledge and information of the area. We will do it again next year for sure!

As for Huatulco and the area in general…it is a great, clean and friendly place to visit. Never once did we feel the need to look over our shoulders when we were in La Crucecita or Santa Cruz or any of the beaches.

We hit up Playa La Entrega (great snorkeling), Playa Maguey, La Bocana (mud baths), Playa Conejos, Playa Santa Cruz, and Playa St. Augustine (great snorkeling). All the beaches we went to were simply gorgeous! We even went to a secluded beach where the Rio Zimatan meets the ocean and we were the only ones on it! I have no idea where that beach really was though, lol. But it too was a beauty.

Sorry this review is so long but I had so much to say about this Fantastic, Beautiful and Friendly Resort called “Dreams Huatulco”!

See you next year Dreams!

Room Tip: We prefer Block one by the Adult Pool and the Himitsu Restaurant. It is quite and so nice to wake u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank beechwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Flew in with Sunwing out of Montreal. Had Elite plus - thought it was worth it for express line, extra legroom and baggage weight.

We stayed at Dreams Feb 18 –26 in preferred ocean front room 5th floor.

CHECK IN
We were given hot towels and cool drink when we got off bus – which was nice surprise because in our experience most resorts don’t follow through on this.
We were sent to the check in desk and after getting to the front of the line we were told it was the wrong place for the preferred check in – we had to wait in line again at preferred area. There is no sign saying preferred check in but FYI - it’s the concierge desk.

ROOM – 5th floor building 3
1st room we rec’d was not great. Cigarette burns and stains on chairs, very dirty lampshades (which hang at eye level so it really noticeable), headboard, the sheets had blood?stains, shower had hairy floor and mould in it. We went back to concierge and Fernando apologized profusely and gave us another room down the hall 3542. Fernando was classy about it.
It was better – still mould in shower, and a bit of stains on chairs – but nothing too terrible.
Maid service was good all week – whenever we asked for something it was done promptly.
We tipped the maids daily. Air conditioning worked well. Beautiful views.

WiFi – really sucked!!! If you have to do any work like we did, and need a reliable internet connection --bring some patience. Everything takes 3 times as long to do – very very slow and you have to log in with a password every time. Kicks u off the internet frequently. They really should fix this if they want to be 5 star, or don’t advertise this amenity. As a result we spent way more time in room than we wanted to every morning.

FOOD
We are not picky in food dep’t. We like to try different things, that’s part of travelling. The buffets were not fancy, but we were always able to find something we liked, breakfast lunch and dinner. . We tried the Mexican and Asian restos – and would have went back to both if we had more time. If you are picky - stick with the a la cartes we thought they were quite good.
We totally loved the Ocean surf resto, it’s on the beach – has a beautiful breeze and a beautiful view. If it had loungers we would have stayed there all day!

We never got sick.

BEACH
Totally awesome. We have done 5 trips to playa del Carmen area, also Riviera Nayarit, Cuba, and Punta Cana. All these places are special in there own way – but there is something about Huatulco beaches – the waves crashing on the rocks, the sand, the weather, the beautiful scenic rocky backdrop, the weather, – kind of reminds me of Italy. I just loved it. And the weather was perfect the whole week – mid 30’s no clouds – loved it. My new favourite place. [the only slightly negative is the beach vendors – I know they are poor and only trying to make a living, and we did buy stuff from them, but there is a different vendor literally every 5-10 minutes – no joke – was getting a bit tired of it by day 6 – sorry!].

We always got to the beach late [see Wifi section] and we were lucky that someone was either leaving or scooted their chair over so we could have some shade. Lots of nice people out there.


PEOPLE
We always return to Mexico because of the friendly people. Our friends think we are crazy cause they always hear bad stuff in the news, tell us not to leave the resort etc… but we have always found them to be very service oriented, helpful, friendly, always smiling and really make you feel that they appreciate you choosing to visit their country. We are always respectful, we don't get drunk and rude, we are always polite and we get back what we put out there. We have not always felt this way at other beach destinations. Some places you feel like they really don’t want us there. Whenever we try somewhere else – we always regret not going to Mexico. Love the people.

TOURS
We did the Safari adventure in the VW things with Miles – would recommend (will do review for this soon)
We went in to La Crucecita for a few hours - short cab ride – was cool to see a real small Mexican town with no familiar big chain stores.

GUESTS
When we were there it seemed to be 60% Canuk. Some US and Spanish speakers (various).
We like meeting folks from everywhere & it was fun trading war stories with other snow refugee Canadians. [Winepeggers win the worst winter war stories – hats off to u guys]

GENERAL
We thought there are some issues that really should be addressed to make this a 5 star resort. The décor in general, boring lobby, lots of cracked floor tiles, leak spots on ceiling of world cafe, damaged furniture throughout, weedy gardens etc. led to a general run down feeling and everything needed a reno/updating - & the bathrooms really need proper venting as it is causing mould problems.

We would recommend this resort to friends and family but for us it was more of a good 4 star - it is not polished enough for 5 star status.

We will definitely be coming back to Huatulco as we loved the non-touristy vibe, although we did enjoy Dreams we would like to try Secrets next time.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms in building 3 have the sun on balcony most of the day Most ocean view rooms had s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RosyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just returned, stayed Feb 19/13 to Feb 26/13.

The only thing that stops me from rating Dreams excellent is they could have had better music available. You can tell they want to attract the more mature crowd but it doesn't mean you have to listen to SPA music almost all day long ! As well, the shows were 'fair'. We booked 3 weeks in advance and got a great deal via selloffvacations.com.

Otherwise it is a fabulous resort! The service was fantastic, great food, premium liquor and lots of it. Grounds are kept spotless, beach is the best.

Went on the Snorkel Express tour - only $25.00 - and had a wonderful time, would recommend it to anyone. Booked it through Sunwing in the lobby and the tour guide, Alfonso, was unbelieveable.

Huatulco is the nicest area of Mexico that I've ever been to and I've been to many spots. It is the cleanest - even outside of the resorts - and we felt it is the safest area of Mexico. Highly recommend going.

If you are younger and looking for more of a party atmosphere either try the Barcello next door or go to Cancun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CorrineL375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just go-all is good. From a amazing check in procedure, excellent standard room, perfect beach with bar service, amazing pools, fantastic food and a great staff. Weather is hot and sunny and the ocean is clean and warm. Local towns are clean and fun with lots of fishing and jungle trips available. We were lucky to see Hump back whales, dolfins and sea turtles on our fishing trip. Tino was our guide and was excellent. Will go again next year. Crowd is mostly middle aged but has a good mixture of young couples and families as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed here Feb 5, 2013. We upgraded to preferred oceanfront this time around. Last year we stayed in a garden view room. Well worth the extra money, the views were amazing and loved the private part of beach for the preferred customers. check in is also way faster and they also leave snacks in your room daily. just a few extras that I feel were well worth the extra money.

Room Tip: oceanfront rooms are well worth the money, stayed on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,479 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
207 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
2.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
245 reviews
1.9 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Property: Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #4 | Bahia de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing