We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't understand "accessible suite needs"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 48 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We returned Huatulco for the 3rd time in 3 years and the 2nd time to Dreams. The weather, food, drinks, maid service and pools were wonderful like last time. However, my wife is in a wheelchair and although we booked almost 2 months in advance we could not obtain an accessible suite till the 2nd day.
That ruined what could have been another wonderful holiday. How come you can book a room on a cruise but not in a hotel?

Room Tip: If you require an accessible room ask for 1111. Be aware they changed the King bed to a uncomfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,454 - 1,460 of 3,640 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the resort for a family wedding in January and had a wonderful time! The service was better than expected and staff were pleasant and accommodating to whatever was asked. Entertainment staff worked very hard, especially Rafael and Edwardo. they were very kind and became like friends after a week, we enjoyed the sailing and kayaking. I would definitely bring my family back again! Great resort, clean rooms and good food! My only suggestion would be to have more dancing on the rooftop bar with live music!!

Room Tip: The ground level rooms overlooking the pool area are very convenient and have a patio space by the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CarrieJo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I just got back from a two week vacation at Dreams Huatulco. I loved the fact that I felt safe going by taxi into town and the marina. The little shops and restaurants around the resort (walking distance) were great if you just wanted to stroll about taking in some of the local color. The Entertainment staff was super friendly and helpful, especially Jean, who with Lorena and Dulce, Edwardo and Raph, and led by Mario made everyone in our group feel so welcome and included! They threw a great Super Bowl party....hats off to them. I would certainly return to this resort, it was truly a five star in terms of cleanliness, service, location (the site is beautiful) and entertainment.
If I were to complain about anything it would be the lack of a bath tub in my room...sometimes after a day of shopping or too much fun in the sun a good soak is in order
The spa was great and coupons were provided to make the experience a bit more affordable....I wonder (as I do about some "deals" at home) why they can't just lower their prices and forget about making us go through the exercise of going to our rep to get spa coupons?

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

From the moment we stepped off the plane the service was impeccable! Cool drinks were handed out upon arrival and our luggage was delivered to our room promptly! The beach was fabulous for swimming, there was snorkelling, sailing, and kayaking available daily for no extra charge and the staff were ALWAYS there to assist you with everything, especially Rafael. The drink service on the beach could not have better, Ana was always there with GREAT service and a smile too! The food at every restaurant was great, and again the service was unbelievable. The staff would bend over backwards for you!! Often in Mexico one gets annoyed with the vendors on the beach, but again this was not a problem. There were vendors, but they were respectful and polite - all you had to say was no thank you and they left you alone. For evening entertainment you did not have to travel far. There was a show every night featuring professional dancers, live music on a beautiful outside terrace and other things such as kereoke in the disco bar. We preferred the shows where the entertainment staff from the day were always there to greet you, it was amazing how they remembered who you were and always gave you a warm welcome - especially Eduardo (Lolito), Jean and Rafael. I did not bring my kids with me, but was amazed at the activities available from the stuff already mentioned as well as the kids club, which is open from 9am - 10pm. I would feel totally comfortable leaving my kids in the hands of this amazing staff and plan to bring them back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sunshinygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Staying here right now. Has anyone had experience with booking a King Room and being told at check in that only double bedrooms are available? We checked in on Sunday and we were told to check back on Tuesday (today) to see if they might have a king. We checked back with the front desk and we were told that we could have one tomorrow. Nothing special. No upgrade. Same building. No compensation for the hassle of changing rooms and the lack of a king for the first 3 nights. Any suggestions?

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank rickwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I and our very good friends stayed at Dreams Huatulco Resort for two weeks in December 2012. I can not say enough good things about this resort. The rooms were beautiful, views were awesome. We had preferred club deluxe ocean view rooms. The beach was perfect, loved feeding the fish as they swam around you every morning on the beach. There was never a problem finding the perfect spot on the beach. The swimming pools were also awesome. Beach service around the pools and on the beach was also very good. We enjoyed all of the restaurants, the food was simply amazing. The staff was very friendly, always wanting to do more for you! We found lots of fun and interesting excursions to do in the area. The small walk outside of the resort was alot of fun, always felt safe. Make sure you stop in at the Tipsy Blowfish!! All in all it was a perfect vacation and we would love to return to this area and resort again.!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Donna453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We just got home from a week at the Dreams in Hualtuco Mexico. Our vacation began with Zivoin walking us to our room, right after we checked in. We never thought he would remember us with all the other guest. But the next day, he remembered us by name, when we ran into him. The little things can make a trip seem so special. All the employees seemed very nice, but Zivion was very eager to please and was always asking us how everything was going. We only had one meal that we really didn't care for, other than that the food was good. The pools all were nice all 6 or 7 of them, but we did really miss the swim up bar. the beach in front of the Dreams is very nice. Our room was very nice too, bed a little hard but they cant please everyone with that. Only complaint is that 7 days is just too short ... I wish there was a direct flight for 10 days :) ... I would stay there again ... we had a blast!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank robyn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.2 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 48 in Huatulco
4,560 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 48 in Huatulco
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#17 of 48 in Huatulco
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Isla Natura Beach Huatulco
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
1.9 mi away
Secrets Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa

Address: Blvd. Benito Juarez #4 | Bahia de Tangolunda, Huatulco 70989, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Business Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $237 - $702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular resort offering 421 luxurious rooms and suites, 6 shimmering outdoor pools, 6 restaurants and 6 bars, SPA & fitness center and endless activities for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Huatulco Hotel Huatulco
Dreams Huatulco Resort And Spa
Dreams Hotel Huatulco
Gala Huatulco
Gala Beach Resort Huatulco
Gala Resort Huatulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing