We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation”
Review of Barcelo Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Huatulco
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent a great week in December at this resort. Previous reviews indicate that the property may need some upgrading but we were very pleased with all aspects of this resort.

Our room was on the third floor with a lovely balcony overlooking the pool and beach. It was spacious and had a very comfortable king size bed. The bedroom had plenty of storage space, and included a mini bar. The bathroom and linens were great.

We never experienced a lengthy wait time for the elevator to arrive, which is worth noting, I think!

The customer service was great! Abril, working at both the front desk and customer service desk is wonderful. Her English is great and her smile and service exceptional. We had no problems with either communication or lack of good service.

The food....the food is exceptional. We ate at the seafood and steak grill, seaside, one night. There are four specialty restaurants offered on the resort as well as the ongoing buffet: Steak and Seafood; Mexican, Spanish and Japanese. The general consensus was that the buffet was the best. I cannot verify that as, of the four options, we only ate at the seafood and steak grill. We enjoyed that thoroughly. The setting and service and food were great...but we did have to make a reservation.

The buffet is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner with only a short change-over time between each. The choice of food is exceptional...both Mexican and NorthAmerican as well as other theme nights. All is of excellent quality and provides a good opportunity to sample many different dishes. The menu is not repeated each day so if it looks appealing, try it! We were very impressed with the quality and choices at each and every meal. Truly an exception at most buffets. The staff is extremely attentive and their supervisors are on hand and accessible.

There were a number of bars on the property. You can upgrade to a higher grade of beverages but we found the standard grade to be very good. Poolside service is, for the most part, very good. The only exception we found was one fellow who ignored those of us who did not tip him at every delivery. Others, including Giovanni and most of the bartenders, did a super job whether they were tipped or not (Supposed to be a no-tipping resort.). On one occasion we overstayed at a special function and the staff was both patient and gracious.

We spent a wonderful week at this resort. It is not cheap to stay here but we definitely felt it was money well spent and would recommend this facility highly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sheila C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,806)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 3,806 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

The view was awesome. The staff was nice and friendly. The staff at the kids club (Barcy) was great, specially Alma who is so kind and an angel with the kids. The hotel was nice and clean, but the rooms need a full renovation. The food was fine. Overall it was a great experience!!.

Room Tip: Choose a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from this resort and would like to inform anyone considering going in that it's def not a 4.5 star as advertised. At best it's a 3 star. Pros: location is excellent. Pools are located at a central spot which makes it easy to access. Beach is 2 mins from hotel. Mexican restaurants were good.

Cons: mosquitoes in rooms specially at the ground level. We had to change to another room on the 4th floor and even then get room fumigated each morning. It was a hassle dealing with mosquitoes. Bought some repellant from there but it did not work well. Suggest u take your repellant.

Rooms were old - cracked tiles, low lighting, technically challenged. No coffee mate in rooms for coffee. Was not impressed.

Food was same everyday almost at the buffets. Not the best. The Spanish and sushi restaurants were okay. Not kid friendly. Had to stand in line for half hour to get reservations.

Spa was okay. The room where pedicures were done were smelly. I could not stand there for two mins.

Overall I would not go there again. Wish the reviews warned us.

All the best.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank CS792013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wow!! did we have a good time at the Barceló. Stayed Dec 24 - 31. Rooms on the 5th floor have great views. Lorenzo made our trip awesome. Our room had an incredible view. Food was good. The night we arrived there was a welcome supper. It was incredible. Food was good continually. Edgar in the Dona Rosa cared for any needs we had in this dining room. Victor at the pool was funny & friendly. Adult pool was refreshing. We went snorkelling everyday. Fresh fruit & juices everyday. The omelettes in the morning were so good. This hotel is so CLEAN! Staff were extremely friendly. The night we left there was a big barbeque for Sunwing travellers. It was very nice. In the lobby there was a Mexican band that played and took requests. They were very good. The beach is very nice. The water was not rough at all. Enjoyed the ocean. We loved the Barceló. We will return.

M & N Edmonton. AB.

Room Tip: The fifth floor rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the Barceló Dec 2-9, had absolutely no complaints, well very few, our room was clean and comfortable, water and bar was stocked everyday, maids were great, the food was good and tasty with lots to chose from, the beach and the water was wonderful, and the bar service was the best I've had anywhere, Fernandaze was the best on the beach!!!! Staff were very friendly, not everyone spoke the best English but you always managed. I felt very safe in Huatulco. My only complaint would of been the steak and seafood ala carte, the steak was very tough, but spoke to others who said there steak was perfect, otherwise everything else was great, would return there tomorrow, actually I'm gonna back March 4th......and looking forward to it!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donnab2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We just returned from one week at this resort over Christmas. The resort staff did a great job with the Christmas celebration. The bottle of tequila and gift from the resort for New Year's was a nice touch.
The resort is kept super clean, the lobby was beautiful and looked like it was newly renovated. The staff are attentive and friendly. The buffet was typical of other resorts we have visited. The evening shows are better than many we have seen. Our main recommendation would be for the owners to invest in renovating the rooms. The tile, bathroom faucet, etc., need to be replaced . (I can only speak for our room as we did not see any other ones.) As with other resort buildings such as this one, the echo in the hallways is quite loud. People knocking at 3:00 in the morning wakes everyone in the area. The echo is quite bad.
The staff were great. Our toilet twice needed some work and the work was done quickly after being reported. We appreciated this.

It was fun spending time with the many Mexicans who came to this resort to spend Christmas.

The Barcelo is well located in the area. It was only a $3.80 taxi ride to La Crucecita, an interesting and authentic town to visit. There is also shopping across the street.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ka--Alberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

So happy to be coming back at the Barcelo Huatulco in 2014

I was at the Barcelo Huatulco in January 2013 with my husband and we enjoyed it so much that we're going back next January, it's a very nice place to visit.

The service was Fantastic and the employees were Superbe .
We enjoyed Alexandro with his Splended service and also Edgar with his Fabulous animation, very entertaining. The staff was just Fabulous!

Best breakfast I ever had, and I have travelled a lot.
All of the « À la Carte » restaurants were absolutely Excellent and Delicious!.... Best cheese cake ever, and I have never seen a Beach Party like theirs.
The weather was absolutely fantastic 36 degrees every day and no rain at all.

And what I also liked a lot, it's a small resort so everything is close by.

Huatulco received the gold certification by EarthCheck since 2005. It's a very clean place no pollution, a very good destination.

sandras4562013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandras4562013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
4,125 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
2.1 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Isla Natura Beach Huatulco
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Huatulco

Address: Paseo Benito Juarez, s/n | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#5 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $199 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Huatulco invites you to experience the hottest new resort All Inclusive location in Mexico without the hustle and bustle of a big city. Huatulco Bays is quickly becoming a key tourist Mexico beach attraction, offering well-preserved natural landscapes combined with luxury accommodations. This resort is well-positioned in the center of a cove, overlooking dazzling golden beaches and the sapphire blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. Live your dream vacation as you bury your feet in the sand, sip a cool drink and watch the waves roll onto shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Barcelo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Hotel Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort
Barcelo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing