We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time at the Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort”
Review of Barcelo Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Barcelo Huatulco
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Paul, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Great Time at the Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

When we arrived at the Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort we were greeted by Argelia Morales. She helped us to check into our room and then proceeded to guide us in booking reservation into the various restaurants. She was very knowledgeable and professional. What a great was to start our stay!

We went on to have lunch at the Rona Rosa Buffet Restaurant and our hostess was Fabiola Mendez. She is a very impressive young woman who is as beautiful on the inside as she is on the outside. At various restaurants throughout our stay, she was our hostess and always made us feel like we were special. She has an incredible level of customer service skills and treated us like family. It was always a joy to see her.

Speaking of the Dona Rosa Buffet Restaurant, we ate delicious breakfasts cooked by Victoria Ruiz and wonderful lunch items cooked by Freddy Sanchez. Very appetizing and prepared so well! Elena Baca, our hostess, and Maria Reyes Garcia, our server of choice, also deserve a round of applause!

The Lobby Bar is a great meeting place and fun way to start the evening. One server in particular stood out. Irlanda made sure that our drinks were served with style, the table was wiped and snacks were placed with a smile. She is a hard working person with a very nice personality.

The Pool Bar that is part of the LaTortuga Buffet Restaurant is a good place to refresh after a hard day on the beach. Venancia Ruiz and his sidekicks, Alexander Merino and Cirino, were there with a smile and something cool to drink. Venancia always made us laugh and he makes a delicious Dirty Monkey!

On the beach, around the pool and as part of the entertainment, Edgar Diaz de Leon, is a most entertaining person. What a delight! If you have a chance to meet him, you’ll know what I mean.

The Agave Restaurant was our favorite, with two of the most incredible waiters who are five star all the way. Victor Leon and Victor Cabrera are a team and wonderful to watch.

If you come to the resort, be sure to book a ride on the Hobi Cat with Fidel as your mate. You would have to look far and wide to find a more kind and caring person than he. While we were on the water, he told us all about the Huatulco area and the resort. A truly memorable experience!

Our room was nice and well cared for by Roselia. I always appreciate being able to count on a clean area and she kept it top notch.

There were two other memorable people, Cielo and Veronia Gonzales who treated us very well and made our stay special.

These are just a few of the many people who made our stay at a wonderful resort so special.

Room Tip: We liked being on one of the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,682
    1,208
    390
    140
    78
See reviews for
1,603
1,083
42
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IN
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Our second visit to Huatulco via Apple Vacations. Barcelo rooms were ok, a little dated, but overall very functional. You don't generally go to Huatulco for the rooms, but for the sun,heat, and drinks. Lack of pool space, slow wait service, understaffed bar servers (who as a plus worked hard and were very personable), and difficult dinner reservations were the biggest drawbacks. They have several alacart dinner options, the Japanese and Mexican were the best in terms of food, but getting a resonable time to eat was challenging. Hint, make your reservations for the whole week as early in your trip as possible. Skip the surf and turf option, it was awful. The 2 buffets for breakfast and lunch were very good, better than I remember Dreams being, a bit crowded at peak times, but decent food. The activities group overall was pretty low key. They didn't seem to offer or encourage participation. It was nice, but last time we stayed at Dreams, which overall, I believe was a better deal.

Room Tip: Rooms seemed comparable, upgrades had better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fbjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well, let me start by saying I was totally impressed by this resort....I was skeptical as i have stayed in Mexico before but always at the larger more populous areas. My last Mexico vacation was at the Riu Yucitan in Playa..This place was better.
We went during march break and I was so impressed by the seclusion and privacy this resort offers. The pools were not crowded, the restaurants were top notch, even the Sushi falls into my second favourite sushi bar only after one in Charlotte NC!
The hospitality was superb, the service was excellent the staff are the most genuine friendliest people I have met in a resort to date....
The room was well kept, the services were excellent and the theatre shows rival something to see in Vegas.....( I even heard the performers from there go to Costa Rica and train the Costa Ricans..)
Granted it is a little older, but it only adds to the charm of the place, big deal the taps made noise when you turned them on.....kinda like me in the morning.....
The part i loved best that almost every guest was CANADIAN!!!! We are a polite bunch i must admit, and the locals can tell as soon as you start speaking to them.....They like Canadians...
The hotel even gave us a better exchange rate canadian dollar to pesos over the american dollar!!!!

so in short if you are looking for an awesome deal and remember what you paid, it is well worth it! It was one of my cheapest vacations in years but so far it was the best.
I would go back again for sure!
If you read any negative reviews, i can almost guarantee they are from the type of people that expect the absolute perfect experience.....i have travelled enough to know this is a rarety and embrace what you have at hand.....you will not be dissapointed......
one more thing....stay away from Concepcion the boat guy on the beach, he gets real pushy if you dont go out with him....We did 3 tours through the hotel and loved them all.
I hope this helps anyone who wants to go there, i recommend it!

Room Tip: all the rooms are good, they all offer something, pay for the ocean view premium if you want...we st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Jeremy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

2 week stay March 5 - 19 2013
I would rate this hotel 3.75 out of 5

PROS:

1. Super friendly staff
2. WIFI on the beach
3. Compact resort easy to get around.
4. Average buffet for size and quality of food
5. Close to the airport and towns
6. Safe
7. Staff and service in the Club Room.

CONS:

1. Not enough beach to walk compared to DR or other loactions.
2. Sand is not very hard making it difficult to walk.
3. A la catres below average . Inconsistent service and food quality. Menus confusing.
4. Not enough pool chairs.
5. Unenforced dress code at a la cartes

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Wilmar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vernon,B.C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Hi all.We decided to take a trip to Hualtuco this year .We stayed at the Barcelo for a week in February 2013,checkin was a breeze,we were in room 107 and could basically climb over our patio wall and were on the beach.The nightly entertainment was fantastic the staff do an excellant job.Our main reason for coming here was we had heard the weather is hot and it was not a commercialized area like Cancun,we werent diappointed!!We went snorkelling numerous times off the beach and were able to capture alot of underwater pictures,the water here isnt as clear as Cancun side but I think the coral is healthier and that reflects on the sealife.We went for nightly walks outside of the resort and we always felt safe.We did two excursions.We would definately come Back to Hualtuco but would rent a condo next time in Santa Cruz or La Cruccieta,both very nice towns.Hope this review helps,see you next year!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dodivernon_B_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived at the Barceló and as we had premium club we had express check in. We were in our room within 10 minutes. Our room was beautiful and had a beautiful view of the ocean. our maid Violeta cleaned our room thoroughly on a daily basis. We always came back to wonderful towel art on the bed.
We did find you had to get up at 6:30 a.m. and hit the beach or you wouldn't get a chair. Once down at the beach you should spend some time there, have coffee on the beach and then go for breakfast. There is no problem if you leave your chairs for 30 minutes or so for meals. People do get upset when towels are put down and no one comes out for two or three hours. The hotel did put up another palapa and did put out umbrellas so they are trying to accommodate the guests.
The food was good, no complaints at all and I am a picky eater. Usually by the end of two weeks I am tired of the food but that was not the case, the buffet had a great variety and I never had to have pasta once. The Steak and Seafood alacarte was very good, Filet Mignon was great.

Staff is very friendly, our waiters on the Beach Emmanuel and Jose were excellent and worked very hard to get everyone drinks as quickly as possible.

Sofie in the beach restaurant always had a warm smile for everyone.

We usually take travel mugs for drinks but didn't even use them as the glasses were large enough to give you a decent sized drink. The glasses were also very clean.

We enjoyed the premium club and would definitely upgrade again. The lounge was handy when you wanted extra beer to drink in your room and booking ala cartes was so easy.

You also get free wifi in your room with the premium club so it was easy to keep in touch with family.

The hotel was set up so it didn't take long to get to the restaurants or beach or pools.

The hotel was very clean and the gardens were well kept.

We will definitely return to the Barceló next year.

Remember to tip waiters, bartenders and the maids as they all work very hard and appreciate their hard work being acknowledged.

One other point is when bartering for handmade goods make sure you are fair, take into consideration the time and effort put into making whatever the item is.

There is a shop across the street next door to Aventura Mundo that has area rugs and tablecloths. You can get a good deal but make sure your offer is fair not insulting.

Good tours from Aventura mundo, also ask them about booking a fishing date with Tino or Tino's brother. Tino's brother took us out and we asked to see dolphins and he went out of his way to find them for us, it was amazing, a site we will never forget.

Room Tip: upgrade to premium club
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank RodandMarilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Missouri, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband, my self and some friends just returned from this resort. What a beautiful resort. This being my first experience with an all inclusive resort I was not sure what to expect but I loved it. The resort was beautiful, staff very helpful and attentive. Fernando was great with pool side service. My only dissapointments would be lack of chairs at the pool and the hours of the bars. But when you look at the complete picture those two things are minor. Appreciated the adult only pool. Food was great. Quite the variety. Would most likely return. Fernando and Sofia went over and above. I appreciated the clean room too.

Room Tip: Higher floors, above 4th, are the best. Your view is the not blocked. rooms were very clean.The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,488 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
2.1 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 47 in Huatulco
207 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Huatulco

Property: Barcelo Huatulco
Address: Paseo Benito Juarez, s/n | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#6 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Huatulco invites you to experience the hottest new resort All Inclusive location in Mexico without the hustle and bustle of a big city. Huatulco Bays is quickly becoming a key tourist Mexico beach attraction, offering well-preserved natural landscapes combined with luxury accommodations. This resort is well-positioned in the center of a cove, overlooking dazzling golden beaches and the sapphire blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. Live your dream vacation as you bury your feet in the sand, sip a cool drink and watch the waves roll onto shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Hotel Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort
Barcelo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing