We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are ready to go back.”
Review of Barcelo Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Barcelo Huatulco
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We are ready to go back.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We were here from Feb 19 to March 5 2013. First time ever that we were not ready to go home yet. The weather was hot every day, the beache beautiful, and the people even better. We went of 3 excursions, all into the mountains, with excellent guides. We highly recomment Alphonse in the Jungle Tour, through Sunway and Signature Tours. Please treat the locals with honesty and ingrity - they are extremely hard working, and get paid very little. The shacks that they live in, is sad. Please support them and be fair. WE thought the evening shows in the Oaxaca Teatre were exceptional, as were the friendly waiting staff and cleaning people. Another great thing about this resort was that is was truly family friendly, and great for married couples, away from the noise and partying. Can hardly wait to go back.

Room Tip: Most rooms have an ocean view - ask for a room not on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    1,119
    365
    129
    72
See reviews for
1,386
1,031
39
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were at this resort Feb 12-26,2013. This was our first 2 week all inclusive and we thought two weeks might get boring. I really was not ready to leave.It is a smaller resort so it is so easy to meet people so you never feel alone unless you want to be. The entertainers are very good. In the 2 weeks we saw the same show in the theatre only twice. It is the same 2 singers and band in the lounge, bar and the theatre. They are very good, but a little more variety would be nice. We got tired of the Spanish music all the time. It would have been nice to get some variety especially in the bar/disco after 10PM. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean. The staff work very hard to keep it that way. We thought the food was very good. Men had to were pants and shoes to the a-la-cart restaurants. We do not have a problem with this as long as it is air conditioned. The Toruga on the beach is not. It is a great atmosphere, but being open to the air, men should be able to wear dress shorts with sandles and dress shirt. Our only real issue was the problem of few beach chairs under palapas on the beach. That meant we had to be at the beach before 6 AM to get a good spot for the day. The resort is in a beautiful location. Beach is wonderful. We would return again. The weather was fabulous! Hot and sunny every day until the last day.

Room Tip: Ask for pool and beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Okay folks. I have been to a lot of countries and stayed at a lot of resorts. I loved Barcelo and Huatulco. I went for 2 weeks in January, 2013. I am a single woman and I went alone. I felt SO safe. Security was top notch but even so, Huatulco is so old Mexico that it was safe even without security. Sure the rooms are outdated but that it part of the charm. They are spotless. It was +36 Celsius everyday and never a cloud in the sky. The food in the buffets was a bit blah but the al a cartes were awesome and easy to get a reservation. I would recommend upgrading to premium though. Totally worth it. The staff were so friendly. My only complaint was with SunWing but that is a whole other story. Definitely going back next year.

Room Tip: 4th floor premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Funandsun550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

From February 5 - 12, 2013 we stayed at the Barcelo at Huatulco. While a little bit smaller than other hotels in this location, the hotel had everything you needed. First of all, the weather was dependably fabulously hot every day. One morning it was a little foggy early on but that burned off quickly. Beware because it gets so hot that this is one place where you NEED to use the sunscreen .. even for those hardy sun seekers. The pool is nice and was kept clean. The swim-up bar was convenient although there were only two places to get drinks during the day and generally only two or three bartenders working. The server that ran drinks to the beach was very busy but he was very friendly and tried his best to get back to us as quickly as he could. The ocean was beautiful and nice swimming and snorkling right in front of the hotel. The water was a little murky but still worth snorkling. The food was the typical Mexican buffet food .. nothing special but passable and I managed to find fresh fruit and salads every day. The buffet in the Tortuga lounge by the pool was better than in the main buffet and not nearly as busy ... recommend checking that out for breakfast and lunch. The ala carte restaurants were ok. The best one was the Sushi restaurant. We didn't care for the Mexican restaurant very much and the Spanish one was ok.

We upgraded to the premuim package and feel it was well worth it. The premuim lounge was air conditioned and a welcome and quiet place to go for a break from the heat. There was always something to snack on ... chocolate dipped strawberries were my favourite. We generally had breakfast in the premuim room so we could use the internet. There are computers available to use. I brought my computer but didn't use it at all. Others who brought their computers and didn't have the premuim package said that internet connection was not reliable and I think cost $12 per day. The premuim room also had cold wine and bubbly and an good assortment of premuim liquors.

We did buy an excursion from Tony who took us boating and whalewatching. He took us to San Augustin for snorkling ... highly recommend a trip here. We saw sea turtles and lots of fish and even a humpback whale. It was a fantastic day ... ask for Tony when you are on the beach.

I don't have any complaints about the hotel. The staff tried hard, most were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean. The only issue we had was getting a chair in the morning by the pool or on the beach. People were going out before 6am to reserve a chair before going to breakfast and off on their excursions. By 7 am there would be no chair available anywhere near some shade. We didn't reserve a chair but planned our excursions for the morning. We always found some place to sit when we returned, usually around 1 or 2 pm. But if you are planning to stay at the hotel all day, best advised to get out there early and find what you want.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked fine. Depends on what you want. Some had hammocks on their balconies, other had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BudgetTraveler010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steinbach, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our first time visiting Huatulco, we has a wonderful time. The weather was consistent hot and sunny which we loved since this is why we go away in the winter. Staff was great and it was obvious to me that they had been trained to make our stay a fantastic experience. We booked a trip with Pilo Vazquez, he took us snorkelling and fishing, we told him we would really love to see the dolphins if we could. He watched the waters as he was touring us around in his boat and scoped them out and took us to them. The resort itself was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CPA285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Just got back from a great week in Huatulco. Weather is absolutely outstanding. HOT everyday and only a slight breeze.

Overall I would rate this hotel a High 3.5 - 4 star. My explanations below.

The beach at the Barcelo and surrounding resorts (in Tangolunda Bay)
are stunning for a Pacific side beach. Water is very warm and turquoise/blue in color, and the beach is long and full of plenty of activities, including snorkeling, sea-dooing, kayaking, windsurfing, boating etc.

The resort itself is a bit outdated. Understandable, considering this area has a very mexican "feel" to it. Which I am totally ok with.
The resort was fairly clean and kept up. The rooms though, could have been a bit cleaner and better kept up. Overall, not too bad considering. The staff were always cleaning around the resort, at nite, during the day, whenever.

I will say as well, if you are looking for a younger crowd, this is not the place for you. At least when we were there anyway. I would say that 90% was 45+ and many of them were in their 60's-70's.

The food was actually not too bad. The buffets were a tad on the limited side, but the food was always fresh and tasted pretty good! Lacked presentation but who cares? Breakfast had awesome omelettes, little breakfast sausages and pancakes (these were my favourites, there was other food too) Lunch had burgers, nachos, pizza (get the pizza fresh), pasta and more too...
I mean really, what can a person expect when visiting a foreign country like Mexico, and especially this fairly newly toured southwest corner??
We only made it to 2 al a cartes (Tortuga for Steak/Seafood and Don Quitos for Spanish) as we tried some of the restaurants in town (will talk about those in a bit). They were both great! It was the best steak I have had at a resort before! And the shrimp were pretty good too!

Overall the staff were decent. No issues. I found it odd that alot of them actually spoke to me in english as opposed to spanish.. If I would say,"Gracias", sometimes i would get "Your Welcome" as a response.. I am not complaining, I just thought it was odd. Maybe them just being as accommodating as possible?

The one thing that this place did lack was decent bars. The lobby bar is small and isn't exciting at all. The Jaronga Disco bar at nite was lame and attracted no one. So to say the least, the nite life at this resort needs to be looked at.
We made it to one of the theatre performances and it was actually pretty entertaining! Just the "night life" wasnt there.

WiFi was an added charge ($14/day) - MAJOR thumbs down for this. It was only included if you were Club Premium (upgraded) If you don't want to pay, go to the Italian Coffee Shop across the street from the Barcelo, buy a coffee for a buck and they will give you their wifi.

Ok... Now the must do's while in Huatulco..

We went to a pub in town (town of La Crucecita) called SENOR PUCK'S. Its owned by a Canadian guy so he has lots of sports Memorabilia there (Go Riders!). We went in to watch the Oiler's game and wow! Awesome food, awesome service and a great atmosphere. Its very easy to get to. Only a 4 dollar cab ride from Barcelo. They go out of their way to accommodate. Must try..

The famous La Crema Pizza Joint in La Crucecita - also a must try.. Awesome wood fired pizza and good prices. Just make sure you get there by 6:30 (they open at 7pm) otherwise the lineup will be a block long.

We also rented mopeds from Huatulco Activities, right across the street from the Barcelo, beside the Italian coffee shop. That was an absolute blast!! $33USD per moped for the entire day! We toured all over Santa Cruz, La Crucecita and the local beaches. The traffic is not bad either and its easy to get around. An awesome experience. Talk to CARLOS at Huatulco Activities. He will hook you up!

Overall - It was an awesome trip and I will be back to the Huatulco area without a doubt.
Next time, depending on flight costs, I would probably rent a condo, as there is so much to do there!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jerguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I love Huatulco, the weather is great the people at the resort are so friendly and very helpful. I must mention Franciso Abarco the Reiki Master at the spa, he is truly amazing.
The Barcelo resort needs to update their rooms, but where always clean and the a/c works great.
If your looking for great pool service call on Alexander, he was fabulous.
I enjoyed meeting all the staff but Sofia in the beach restaurant was a wonderful pleasure each day, she is so full of life.
Thank you to all who made this holiday special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Val R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,891 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#15 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Huatulco

Property: Barcelo Huatulco
Address: Paseo Benito Juarez, s/n | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#6 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Huatulco invites you to experience the hottest new resort All Inclusive location in Mexico without the hustle and bustle of a big city. Huatulco Bays is quickly becoming a key tourist Mexico beach attraction, offering well-preserved natural landscapes combined with luxury accommodations. This resort is well-positioned in the center of a cove, overlooking dazzling golden beaches and the sapphire blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. Live your dream vacation as you bury your feet in the sand, sip a cool drink and watch the waves roll onto shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Barcelo, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Hotel Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort
Barcelo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing