We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All was great until...we were Robbed”
Review of Barcelo Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barcelo Huatulco
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“All was great until...we were Robbed”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We vacationed from December 27, 2011 until January 3, 2012. This my third time in Mexico, a place we love to visit. Huatulco has a nice small airport which was a nice direct flight from Toronto through SunWing.

Rooms were clean and spacious, but tile floors and bathrooms starting to show the wear of time. The resort is right on the beach with easy access to all amenities. We were on the Western end of the hotel, and could hear the resort next door external bar until 3 am one night.

The resort was nicely decorated for the Christmas/New Year’s holiday. They have a couple of nice buffet restaurants with excellent fresh local food. We enjoyed sharing the resort with many local Mexican families over the holidays too. Sofia, in the oceanfront restaurant, was always smiling and very attentive to our family needs.

The New Year’s Eve outside dinner was outstanding with a buffet of lobsters, quail, shrimp, pork. The evening entertainment ended with Fireworks!

The only disappointing incident was a member of our party having her purse stolen right in the lobby bar area. The purse was left briefly unattended, under a chair. The security director had video of the lobby, but wouldn’t show us the time sequence in question. He confirmed he could see us arrive with the purse, but didn’t see it leave. Can’t imagine the reluctance to share the video?

Overall, a nice hotel, good food, great weather, but you need to keep your personal items close at hand.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Gregory566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,515
    1,119
    366
    129
    72
See reviews for
1,387
1,031
39
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (550)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We love Mexico and mexican people.We stayed at Barcelo resort in December 2011. We found the front desk manager/Jorge/ to be most helpfull and courteous to all his staff and his guests. Thanks to Michelle at front desk,Omar Ramirez/bellboy/Yuridia/maid/and all the staff for a wonderful and pleasant stay.Biggest attraction was to sit in lobby lounge between 7-9pm and listening to an amazing voice of a Cuban girl and her band. Food excellent and good variety.Resort extremely clean.We highly recommend this resort for family or singles.Can't wait to go back.
Eva,Bill -Vancouver,BC

Room Tip: rooms older,extremely clean,in the middle of remodelling all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Eva U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We vacationed from Dec. 10 thru Dec. 17. First time there in Dec. Have always gone at the end of Feb. or first of Mar. Had a wonderful time. Food was excellant in the buffets & loved the Spanish restaurant. Omar the bellman is great. Always willing to help. Liked him the minute we met him. New to us this year.
Francisco Rosado the bar waiter at the beach always made sure we had the drinks that we needed. Never seemed to run out. Best waiter we've had.
Noticed several updates to the resort since last Feb. There will be more updates from what we understand. The main one was that the beach bar stayed open later in the evening. Nice to clean up, have a meal & relax outside by the ocean. The oudoor Mexican night was new also with a great meal. Spanish restaurant was wonderful as always,. Never had anything bad there. The Dona Rosa restaurant has great fish, steak & chops cooked in front of you after 2 in the afternoon.
Ate in La Crucecitas at Le Creme one night, at Don Porfiro's and Alejibres (sp) around the corner across from the Barcelo 2 other nights. Had lots of fun at both places. The staff is wonderful entertainment.
The rooms are dated but very clean. Huge king size bed that was very comfortable. After all all you need here is a place to shower & sleep. The rest of the time you are outside.
We will be returning again & again!!
Make sure you get off the resort & see Huatulco. The church in La Crucecitas is beautiful. Ride up to the lighthouse. Snorkel in the different bays. Always something to do.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room location in this resort. We've stayed in different locati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rts1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We went here in March, finally getting around to reviewing. Overall it was very good. Probably the best feature here is their landscaping, which is beautiful. Resort is very warm feeling. There were quite a few locals and in country tourists. It was busy. We enjoyed the self serve beverages, which you don't get at Dreams next door.

The two resorts which sit next to each other are really very different. Barcelo feels like "home" and Dreams feels like a really nice "house" that your visiting. Not sure how to explain that, but it just felt more comforting.
I'd recommend both resorts, but really, think about what you want to experience. Barcelo is cheaper and a nice stay, while Dreams leaves you nothing to want. Either way, you're in Huatulco, so you're already in paradise. One of the most beautiful places we've ever been and we've been all over Mexico and the Caribbean. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Send a (Nice and friendly) email in advance (in Espanol) to them and ask for a room with a view. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoogieDown71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My husband and I chose this resort for our honeymoon in August 2009, not February 2011. Tripadvisor doesn't let you choose travel dates from the past. :)

We decided to do all inclusive as it was the most cost effective and we didn't want to deal with choosing where to eat outside of the resort. Big mistake.

The food was mediocre but that's what you get with all inclusive resorts. My husband got sick the first night after eating at the hotel's 'fancy' seafood restaurant. He couldn't finish dinner. He left early and threw up in our room. Breakfast was OK. They offered the standard items like eggs, fruit, yogurt, cereal, etc. Lunch was awful...hot dogs and hamburgers. Yuck! But I guess they tailor this to the guests.

I guess the only good part about the all inclusive package was the free drinks.

The rooms were OK except we heard everything in the next room and in the hallway. We were up really early with the sounds of kids running down the hall.

The location was not bad at all. It was about a 15-20 minute ride to the main square. The private beach was great and the pool was nice. The staff was nice.

I would say this is probably a good place for families but not for couples. Too many kids running around.

Lesson learned. No more all inclusives after this. Only bed & breakfasts for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB_Pesce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Place has all to get you witout leaving the property for a week, several restaurant options( some with surcharge) , variety of shows, beach activities/rentals, and great morning and night buffets. And priceseems to be just right.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Armendariz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We can't get enough of the Barcelo in Huatulco. It has great service and good food. Sometimes the food can get a bit repetitive but with the price you're paying for an all-inclusive, you can just hop in a cab and go to the Crucecita to eat at another restaurant. If you're there during a busy time, make the reservations for the sit down restaurants a few days in advance other wise you won't get it. You can do a romantic dinner for about $90 extra and they set you up in a gazebo over looking the water with a private waiter. If you don't like the menu, they'll change it for you - just ask. It's a great way to do something special.
A full day of deep sea fishing was about $250. We have gone with the same guy the last 3 times we've been down.
We see familiar faces when we come back and they recognize us too...it's a nice feeling.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wa_ha_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 49 in Huatulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
1.4 mi away
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club
2.6 mi away
Hotel Castillo Huatulco Hotel & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 49 in Huatulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Huatulco

Property: Barcelo Huatulco
Address: Paseo Benito Juarez, s/n | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#6 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Huatulco invites you to experience the hottest new resort All Inclusive location in Mexico without the hustle and bustle of a big city. Huatulco Bays is quickly becoming a key tourist Mexico beach attraction, offering well-preserved natural landscapes combined with luxury accommodations. This resort is well-positioned in the center of a cove, overlooking dazzling golden beaches and the sapphire blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. Live your dream vacation as you bury your feet in the sand, sip a cool drink and watch the waves roll onto shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Barcelo, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Hotel Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort
Barcelo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing