We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barcelo Huatulco
Nearby Hotels
$215
Preferred Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villas Fa-Sol(Crucecita)
$108
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quinta Bella Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$78
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Las Brisas Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
La Isla Huatulco & Beach Club(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$60
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Princess Mayev Hotel(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$55
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$240
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$290
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco(Huatulco)(Great Value!)
$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (4,234)
Filter reviews
4,234 results
Traveler rating
2,133
1,399
450
156
96
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,133
1,399
450
156
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish restaurantpremium clubla tortugadona rosafishpremium roomlobby bargames roomair hockeyrenovated roomadult poolsushi restaurantbay toura la carte restaurantssmaller resortboogie boardsnight shows
Filter
Updating list...
1,592 - 1,597 of 4,234 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We can't get enough of the Barcelo in Huatulco. It has great service and good food. Sometimes the food can get a bit repetitive but with the price you're paying for an all-inclusive, you can just hop in a cab and go to the Crucecita to eat at another restaurant. If you're there during a busy time, make the reservations for the sit down restaurants a few days in advance other wise you won't get it. You can do a romantic dinner for about $90 extra and they set you up in a gazebo over looking the water with a private waiter. If you don't like the menu, they'll change it for you - just ask. It's a great way to do something special.
A full day of deep sea fishing was about $250. We have gone with the same guy the last 3 times we've been down.
We see familiar faces when we come back and they recognize us too...it's a nice feeling.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wa_ha_ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We are not really your all inclusive types, so you need to keep that in mind as you read this review! We only did all inclusive as it was the most cost effective way to get to Huatulco. (And this is my only complaint about Huatulco--you can only fly in or out on a Tues--so it's 1 week or 2).
We were there from Nov. 29 to Dec. 6 and had a magical time! We really enjoyed the Barcelo resort property and ammenities. We had friends staying next door at Dreams and so we spend some time there as well. Whatever I say about the Barcelo is in comparison to Dreams. We picked the Barcelo as it was a better price point for us but if we went back we would probably stay at Dreams.
The quality of the food did not seem that much different and in fact some people got sick staying at Dreams. Barcelo did seem more way more Mexican in it's offerings, however.
It was all the little things that bugged me at Barcelo--those being the fact that the shampoo and bath gel were watered down (don't they realise that you just have to use way more?), they charged for internet, towel cards, drinks were not as well appointed with garnishes etc.
We had a wonderful king bed that was a new mattress and very comfy. The rooms were certainly older than Dreams, but we actually had a balcony and great view of the ocean. They did not at Dreams. The rooms and the resort were really clean.
There was a huge influx of locals on the weekend and so it became very crowded with lots of screaming kids. You had to line up for Breakfast and I noticed that the omelets went from 3 eggs to 2 eggs. They even ran out of mojitos!
The check in was very long and tedious--had to stand in line for at least 30-40 minutes. Check out was fine.
All in all it was a fabulous trip. I guess I was a bit disappointed with the food and drink quality at the Barcelo, and really feel it's about a 3.5 star. Comparing it to Dreams, the old addage that you get what you pay for is certainly true.
Would I return to Huatulco? Yes maybe someday, when there are more flights and it becomes more feasible to not stay at an all inclusive. Would I return to the Barcelo? I don't think so.

Room Tip: Make sure you CONFIRM with your travel agent that you have an ocean view and the beds you want (ie 2 doubles or 1 king).
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank CalgaryMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2011

My wife and I travelled stayed at the Barcelo November 29 to December 6. We have had 6 previous all inclusive vacations in Mexico, 4 in the Dominican and travelled Canada and U.S. extensivley.

The Barcelo does have it's very good points, but there is one deal breaker for us! The Buffet restaurants! In all our travels, this was the physically smallest buffet, with the fewest selections and narrow scope of variety. The food was prepared very well and had great taste (that's it though) never felt ill or any medical issues caused from the food. We did eat across the street at the Viena Restaurant/Bar (what a wondeful restaurant).

Barcelo check in and check out was very quick and painless. The upgrade to premium is 30$ a person per night. We didn't do it.

Our room on the 3rd floor overlooked the pool and ocean. The tile foors and bathroom marble do show their age but are very clean. In room safe box (no charge). 2 double beds pushed together. A/C works too good!

2 pools. 1 is an adult pool and the other an activity pool. They are adjacent to each other. Hotel security patrols and enforces the adult age pool. The pool loungers lay flat and have a padded cushion. 2 bars near the pool. The pool bar opens at 10am. The beach/pool bar opens at 11am. Great service and a wide selection.

Beach has a serious grade to it. Very steep to walk. There are 2 areas roped off on the beach. The left roped area has level areas to settle into. The beach loungers do not lay flat are the stretched fabric style. Beach vendeors are the most polite we have ever experienced.

We ate at the Spanish and Mexican al a cartes. The Spanish was one of the best gourment meals we've ever had. it compares with Montreal, Canada for fine dining. The Mexican was ok but nothing to write home about. The buffets suffered after breakfast.

Went to one show, the Hawaiano.

Lobby has a bar and a live 4 piece band with a lead female singer. Awesome show every night for a couple of hours.

The hotel staff speak fluent english and are ver helpful and polite. Probably the nicest we have had the opportunity to engage with.

We went to La Crucecita twice and Santa Cruz beach. Very safe, clean and polite enviroments. Lots to see and do.

As previously mentioned, the Viena Restaurant/Bar is across the street from the Barcelo. It is owned and operated by 2 gentlemen from Austria (Manfred & Gerhart). This place is absoltely amazing. It's the restaurant where vacationing Canadians (condo, apartment, home owners) go for excellent food at an affordable price. The menu has a wide variety to choose (Austrian, Canadian or Mexican). The waitress (Reggie) is a bundle of energy with the nciest smile. She makes a killer margarita.

Huatulco is hot with an abundance of sunshine. Used SPF 30 all week. I normally go to 15 or 8, but not this week.

There were some small black flies on the beach that left bites on our ankles. OFF worked very well but it was annoying.

We will go back to Huatulco, but not the Barcelo.

Room Tip: 333 was quiet, overlooked the pool/ocean
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Mark_Ref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We initially were booked to stay at the Las Brisas for a two week period from Nov. 8th to 22nd/11. However, after getting sick on the second evening at one of the a la carte restaurants for a period of six days, we embraced the opportunity to change over to the Barcelo. It was like taking two entirely different vacations . . . of which, we enjoyed the Barcelo so much more! Right from the time we checked in, we knew that this was more of the experience we were hoping for.

The opportunity to eat our meals outside was welcomed. The variety of food was not as good but there was always something for us and I am a very picky eater. The opportunity to choose from two different buffets was great. I even saw a food inspector one lunch hour, so obviously they do check food quality. We tried the Spanish Restaurant once and went to the Mexican Restaurant on two occasions. The meals and service were very good at the a la cartes. Only problem we encountered was that there were lots of little children left unsupervised causing problems for wait staff and a disruptive atmosphere.

The room was not a suite like at the Las Brisas but the bed was huge, the balcony private and quiet (we overlooked the massage tents). Toiletries were not replenished everyday but we had our own supply, so maybe the housekeeper noted that.

We loved the fact that we could walk the entire length of the beach or go for a walk along the street. Hey, don't forget to bring some bread and feed the big blue fish at the end of the beach. That was fun!

We have travelled to lots of all inclusives, gone on numerous cruises, etc., so have been exposed to lots of corny entertainment along the way. One thing I have to say is that the entertainment staff at the Barcelo were some of the most fit and talented we have ever experienced. Kudos go out to them. There were shows five out of the six nights were were there.

The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful. Our favorite waitress by far was Sofia Gonsalez. She always had a smile on her face and would go out of her way to make sure you were well taken care of. We made sure that management was made aware of this.

We flew with Sunwing, who are basically the only game in town for Canadians. Wish there were other options as we were not really that impressed with the service. Having said that, the Sunwing reps at the Barcelo were very helpful and always recognized us. We had booked three tours while at the Las Brisas and certainly were not as well received as by the reps at the Barcelo.

The pool area was very nice. Lots of kids mind you but there is an adult pool. The ocean is pretty wild right in front of the hotel but we did go in a little further down the beach. Love the beach chairs in the sand overlooking the ocean, a very nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Cathlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Travelled with Signature/Sunwing on November 14th.

CHECK IN AT GTAA
Check in for Sunwing was quite slow as they checked the weight even on hand baggage and many people were repacking at the counter.
The flight itself was great, champagne to start, then hot meal with wine etc., the cabin crew were excellent, very pleasant and attentive. We arrived early in Huatulco. Transfer to the hotel was well handled and we were at the hotel within half an hour of leaving the airport.
Barcelo
We’ve had the best vacation ever in Mexico and have visited various parts of Mexico (and other Barcelo resorts) around 12 times. The check in staff at Barcelo are highly efficient, room keys docs etc., were waiting our arrival. There was no waiting for our room although we were at the hotel more than an hour before the 3 pm check in time. It is an older hotel, however it is very well maintained with a modern interior. The grounds are magnificent, and beach unbelievable, everything extremely clean and well attended to. The building is 6 floors high and the elevator service to rooms was very fast. I think most of the rooms have sea view, ours was well appointed and thoroughly cleaned each day, the in room refrigerator was stocked every day, with beer, soft drinks, juice, water and snacks. The hotel area is quite large, but everything, beach, pools, etc. are very close to the main building . There are ramps into all areas, so persons disabilities have easy access.
There are two swimming pools, one is adult only, both in very good condition and are cleaned numerous times per day. There is a swim up bar which is well serviced and maintained (in adult section).
Restaurants
To book À la carte restaurants, you need to go to Guest services beside check-in desks, where the staff are very obliging and helpful.
There are two buffets, one is right beside the swimming pools, with great sea views and the other is within the hotel (and air conditioned). Both are of good size and well staffed so seating at busy periods, e.g. breakfast and lunch are handled efficiently. There are 3 À la carte restaurants, Spanish, Mexican and Oriental. We went to the Spanish restaurant, it was beautifully laid out and food was excellent. There are different theme nights at the buffets (Italian, French etc.,) and food variety changes between lunch and dinner, so there is no repetition of the food served.
The service at all bars were excellent as was the quality of drinks. We particularly liked the lobby bar, it was large with plenty of seating and tables etc, with bar and waitress service. A 3-piece band plays each evening starting at 7 pm, making it a terrific stopping off place before dinner.
The nightly shows are of excellent caliber and change each day. After the shows there is a disco bar just off the lobby - so plenty to do in the evenings.
The hotel is located around 4 miles from Santa Cruz/La Crucieta ($3 taxi ride), however there are various shops, tour operators, car/scooter rental, and coffee shops across the road from the hotel.
Signature/Sunwing representatives are at the hotel all day, Carlos the rep and the young lady who worked with him were very helpful, and did not try to push tours etc. on you.
In closing, all the staff we came into contact with were enthusiastic, helpful and would go out of their way to ensure your stay was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank joey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews