We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very relaxing time, sun, sand and water”
Review of Barcelo Huatulco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Barcelo Huatulco
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Make sure you ask for a foamie that they can put on your bed , makes the bed way more comfortable to sleep on. Loved that it wasn't overly commercialized, to meet all of our comforts from home. I felt like I was a guest in another country, instead of going to another country and it be like home. The people were very friendly and helpful .It was the perfect place for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newbie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 3,755 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2011

This is our first travel to Huatulco. The Barceló Hotel is nice in general, but our room looked very old. The TV looked like an old fishbowl, the floor was old, the beds are terrible but it was at least, clean. The food is very good, the buffet changes daily for dinner and people is very kind. One thing that is very strange is that you can not find a chair in the pool. All the chairs have towels before 8 am and in a lot of them people never show. You have to bring your own chair or if you are lucky find a "not that good" place. I dont know if people wakes up at 7 am or before to separate the chairs or what occurs. The drinks are ok, at least you can find a red label or bacardi. Pool for kids is huge, but is very uncomfortable for adults and I repeat, is difficult to have a good place in front of the pool to take care of the kids while they are in. I have different feelings for this hotel but I will not come back again, I will try maybe in las brisas. Internet is expensive 12 dlls per day.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jheffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We stayed at the Barcelo March 1st to March 15, 2011
The service and staff was excellant always friendly and trying to please. the rooms are a little dated but kept very clean. We reported a problem with our screen door and it was fixed quickly.
The hotel has a Mexican atmosphere and is in a great location on the beach
the a la carte restaurants were very good (Mexican & Spanish) buffet was always good with many choices.
The area of Hualtuco and the town of La Cruecicita is spotless the cleanest area I have visited in Mexico.
This is one of the few places that I would return to - quiet, clean, 36 deg and sunny every day with the ocasional cloud passing by
One complaint they need more areas of shade to sit under, shade was at times hard to find.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mexlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a two week stay at the Barcelo in Huatulco. The following are my brief comments about this property and area:

The rooms are slightly dated, but clean and serviceable. The beds are unfortunately typical for a Mexican resort, in that they are hard as a rock. Everything in the room worked... lots of hot water, good air conditioning, etc.

The staff at this hotel are its main assest. We did not receive a comment card in our room before checkout, as many other guests did, but would have liked to let the manager know what a great team he has working him.

Great location, we thought, and the hotel is easy to navigate. We did not see any of the shows at night, but heard many were great. The food at this resort is typical for it's rating, we found it very good, with lots to pick from for fussy eaters. First hotel in Mexico where we enjoyed the steak.

Notes on a couple problems:

1. My biggest concern was the quality of the pool water. Everyday for two weeks the water seems to be filled with millions of suspended particles of napkins, kleenex, or toilet paper. Are the skimmers/filters working here???? The water was too warm for my liking, hopefully they're not actually heating it.

2. This is not a hotel problem, but an issue that bugs me nevertheless. Do not look for authentic Cuban cigars anywhere, I repeat, anywhere in this area. They will certainly charge you like they are real and insist and act surprised when you tell them they're not. Sometimes you can buy fakes and still get a reasonable smoke, which is what we did (out of desperation). A fancy tequila store in town called La Probadita sold us cigars that smoked like a cross between a chicken bone and nylon rope. We took the cigars back for a refund or credit, and were told numerous times to return later to see the "boss". No boss ever appeared and suddenly no one speaks English. Worst tourist rip off ever!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemmygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Sixth trip to Huatulco, first time to Barcelo. Stayed at the Gala, which was re-done and became the Dreams. We met Gustavo, the Executive Chef at Barcelo, when he was at the Gala. Every year we visit with Gustavo and his family, and every year Gustavo would say "Come and stay at my hotel", so this year we did.
We loved everything about the Barcelo. The food is exceptional, both at the buffets and the a la cartes. Favorite was the Mexican.
My wife and her friend were there for a week before I came for our two. We did the upgrade to Premium Club. Totally worth it. There is a lounge where we ate breakfast almost every morning. You order off the menue and the gal in charge makes wonderfull capichino. We also had a glass of momosa every morning. At lunchtime there is a nice assortment of sandwiches and hors d'oeuvres which were a nice switch-up from the lunch buffet.. The self-serve bar has premium liqour, wine, and beer that aren't available at the other bars.
With the upgrade you get unlimited a la cartes which you can book at the lounge anytime of day rather than linning up in the lobby in the morning. My wife did the upgrade for when I got there. We were moved to an ocean front room with a big balcony. The rooms are a bit dated but they, and the entire resort, are spotless.
The staff are great as are all the people in Huatulco. That is one of the reasons we keep going back, after wandering the Carribean for years. The other reason is the weather; sunny and 30+.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill154951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed at the Barcelo Huatulco from March 1 to 8, 2011. This was our third stay at both Barcelo and Huatulco. We are drawn to Huatulco because of the beautiful area, the people and the guaranteed weather. Yes the hotel is dated but they are starting renovation this summer. We eat breakfast at the resort and all dinners off, either in town or across the road. Another wonderful vacation. Below are pics of the Secrets resort, which we hiked into on Mar. 6. It is slated as opening in June but as you will see it is far from being finished.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FuninsunGuelph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

First time to the Pacific of Mexico and was very impressed. The Resort was great in all respects; food(lots of choices), entertainment(very resort typical) service(prompt & friendly), people(loved the locals). The only suggestion I had in the survey was to have a drink menu to choose from because the workers were limited with their English and it has difficult to get some different drinks to try out. Not sure what some of the reviews mean by out dated?? The rooms had a lot of room, clean(very clean). Our beds were comfy, a/c was just right with options. It is a little Paradise. The cab rides into Santa Cruz or La Cruz were only 30 Pesos so we went in a few times for a change of scenery. We also took in a lounge(La Crema) and the La Papaya Club. Most of the time it was just gals and felt very safe. The locals are very respectable there in passing and trying to sell their items. The little shopping just outside the resort was nice too.Did the 9 Bay Tour and it was more than fun! Got to see some whales/dolphins and the snorkelling was better than expected, much like the Caribbean. Saw some different species of fish, and larger schools. Our more than awesome tour guide even caught a Puffer Fish for me to hold :) The bays were very beautiful as well. Not the Caribbean Sand and Ocean.......but beautiful in a Pacific Way.
The Outback Safari was a good tour too! Some unscheduled stops for some fresh Papaya off the tree was a real treat, more snorkelling and a nice Fish Restaurant to eat or have a beer in right on the beach with the sand under your feet, then some Cervaza and Tequila for the ride home. LOL
All in all it is a beautiful place to vacation and would return without question hopefully sooner than later.
Donica
Camrose, AB.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DaMama4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Huatulco hotels
3.0 mi away
Las Brisas Huatulco
Las Brisas Huatulco
#7 of 47 in Huatulco
3,993 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Villablanca Huatulco
2.1 mi away
Quinta Bella Huatulco
Quinta Bella Huatulco
#8 of 47 in Huatulco
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quinta Real Huatulco
Quinta Real Huatulco
#16 of 47 in Huatulco
210 reviews
1.1 mi away
Isla Natura Beach Huatulco
0.1 mi away
Dreams Huatulco Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Huatulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Huatulco

Address: Paseo Benito Juarez, s/n | Bahias de Huatulco, Huatulco 70989, Mexico (Formerly Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Southern Mexico > Oaxaca > Huatulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Huatulco
#3 Luxury Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Spa Hotel in Huatulco
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Huatulco
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Huatulco
#6 Family Hotel in Huatulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Huatulco
Price Range: $193 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Huatulco 4*
Number of rooms: 351
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barcelo Huatulco invites you to experience the hottest new resort All Inclusive location in Mexico without the hustle and bustle of a big city. Huatulco Bays is quickly becoming a key tourist Mexico beach attraction, offering well-preserved natural landscapes combined with luxury accommodations. This resort is well-positioned in the center of a cove, overlooking dazzling golden beaches and the sapphire blue waters of the Pacific Ocean. Live your dream vacation as you bury your feet in the sand, sip a cool drink and watch the waves roll onto shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Barcelo, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barcelo Huatulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Hotel Huatulco
Barcelo Huatulco Beach Resort
Barcelo Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing