We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ENJOY DINING”
Review of L'Echalote

L'Echalote
Ranked #7 of 176 Restaurants in Huatulco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
ATHENS,GREECE
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“ENJOY DINING”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Me and my wife visited this restaurant because it happened to be next to our Hotel.We looked at the menu and found interesting Mexican dishes with reasonable prices.The night before we left Huatulco decided to dine at this place.The dinner was really tasteful, the yard outside was nicely decorated, the service really good and friendly and finally at a reasonable cost.
The place is owned by a kind,friendly French origin gentleman married to a lady from Laos.That's why one may find interesting oriental dishes, In general there is a good variety of nice dishes.The owner was really warm
and we felt very much wellcome.The waiter that served us was really good.
In a few words we were very happy we visited this restaurant and If we go back to Huatulco some day we would very much love to visit it again.
Manos and Elena from GREECE

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManosK612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    53
    24
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing meal, terrible service”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were so disappointed with our dining experience. We went to Huatulco as a family (13 people) and ate at many different restaurants and this was, by far, our worst dining experience. One waiter took drink orders (one drink at a time - one person asked for a coke and he would rush off to get the coke; when he came back, the next person asked for a margarita, he rushed off again, etc)), and then, before taking all of the drink orders, saw some friends, walked out of the restaurant and got into a car with them and left! The owner (Surly McSurleystein) then took over and nothing improved.

The food was very mediocre and not worth the cost. Two people had the Camarones Irene and it just wasn't that good. They wouldn't help debone a whole red snapper, then they screwed up the bill and the charges. We were fortunate that my brother in law is fluent in spanish or this situation could have been bad.

My parents have been here before several times and while the service has always been brusque at best, the food always made up for it. Based on this experience, we will not be back. There are so many excellent dining choices in Huatulco that there is no need to put ourselves through this again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MGMS-ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“If you like fine dining, L'Echalote is a MUST!!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went there not knowing anything about this restaurant , found out that the wife was from Thailand, we had the spring rolls, and the Thai fondue,
It was excellent! When in Huatulco, this is a must visit. FANTASTIC!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppe7123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best dinner of our vacation”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

While staying at the Villa Blanca we walked around the corner to find a true gem of a restaurant, The L'echalote restaurant's Chateaubriand dish was absolutely excellent so we came back the next evening for another great meal. Service was attentive and excellent and our dining experience was so good that next year we may stay at their hotel.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joeayrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
2 reviews
“A place where to go for a drink, talk, nice dinner, romance and much more.....”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Probably everybody will find in this small, cozy place restaurant something more than tempting and interesting. Good wine, open minded people willing to talk and share life opinions. Good food for reasonable prize. Place where honeymooners start understand why you (Ladies) and Tequila makes us, men, feel crazy. Simply a must place if you are in Huatulco.

Oil & Gas processing expert
Jiri Bohac
UOP a Honeywell Company

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jiri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Echalote also viewed

 

Been to L'Echalote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing