We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great - But Where Is Everyone?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Costa Careyes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Costa Careyes
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Careyes
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great - But Where Is Everyone?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2010

First the pluses. Super friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful views from the room which was spacious although bathroom only OK. Good food at the hotel restaurant and reasonably priced for an upscale resort.

Negatives. Quiet bordering on creepy, only two other couples there, restaurant always empty. Lack of dining choices within the resort area (we didn't have a car). The restaurant next to the hotel was extremely overpriced and nothing special and also empty.

Too dead for us and we wouldn't go back but I think some would enjoy it as a real escape.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lundun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    18
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
27
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

I went here as one of the resorts on my honeymoon and it was exactly what one would expect from such an experience. The hotel only has 52 rooms but because we went in the low season there were only a handful of other guests there at the same time. The service was impeccable, the food was very, very good, and the location was absolutely stunning. We were treated like royalty and waited on hand and foot. They had many activities to choose from and all seemed reasonably priced. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottCPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2010

Am I in Portofino? Positano? No, I'm at Careyes in Mexico! This unique hotel is owned by Italians and you can tell in the design of this jumble of brightly colored casitas and villas tumbling down the hills to the sea that it is not your ordinary Mexican locale. The menu at Playa Rosa too, is a unique blend of Mexican and Italian. Truly some of the best risotto I've had outside of Italy. Guests are from the U.S. and Canada as you would expect but then you begin to hear people speaking not only Spanish, but French and Italian and others I couldn't quite place.
This is one of those places where you have to put in a little effort to take advantage of all they have to offer, but the staff is terrifically helpful and ready to assist you in enjoying the area. On a boat ride to snorkel at Bird Island we were lucky enough to see whales! If you are lucky maybe you can see a polo game while you are there. We did. The restaurant near the polo fields is a magical place with a great menu. A must visit!
The casitas are peaceful and quiet. Very clean, functional and the view is simply one to gape at from the comfort of the wide couches. My only complaint would be the comfort of the beds. I beg them to improve the mattresses! Please!
This is our second visit to the Casitas de Las Flores at Costa Careyes and I'm ready to rebook for a third visit.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seenitChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

We spent a few days at the nearly empty resort and loved every minute. The room was one of their less expensive, but the view was good, over the pool and out to sea. The food was exceptional, every meal, every bite. Their corn cream soup at dinner was the winner. After the huge desayuno americano, we walked it off along the near-by beaches, la Perula, Boca de Iguanas, Chamela, Careyitos. We kayaked every morning over to Playa Blanca and Careyitos. I swam in the bay just to say I did; the water was around 80. I enjoyed just wandering around the resort taking in all the color and the architectural treats. Such a beautiful place. The staff humored us and let us practice our Spanish, which I appreciated. The drive down from Vallarta was easy, once we were over the hill from Boca. The cobblestone driveway, however, is rough and makes you want to limit the number of times you drive it. One small objection I have is that I wish they would provide free wi-fi access, since the resort is so pricy. But charging for everything seems pretty much standard practice in Mexico now.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidhauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed in one of the casitas beside the Careyes Beach Resort but ended up using the hotel every day, we had breakfast there every morning, the food was exceptional and good-sized portions, very elegant presentation, impeccable service, beautiful pools, very exclusive and private, excellent for relaxation. This hotel has a private beach as well and we visited the spa one day that it was raining, we both had a massage that was very good. The spa was not that luxurious but basically offered what we needed. This place is extremely quiet but there were a few families, it is great for kids as well as couples.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2009

We stayed in a casita for 4 nights in December. From the first moment of arrival, we were so impressed with the personal and outstanding service they gave us, we were greeted with cold aromatherapy towels, lead to our beautiful casita, the Papaya, with an open terrace and breathtaking views of the bay. They even offered to upgrade us to a larger 2-bedroom casita with a private plunge pool as it was pretty empty, but we declined as our casita had a better view. This is a very romantic, unique and charming place, the linens seemed to pick up the lovely smells from the flowers and nature around the casita, the brightly colored casitas and bougambilia flowers just made me smile every day. This is a very quiet place, more for couples than anything, we were lucky to have the whole place to ourselves, we actually enjoyed hiking up and down all those stairs to the private beach and restaurant down below. The highlight of our trip was that we got to release baby turtles into the ocean. The service here was impeccable, the staff went the extra mile to make sure we were well taken care of. I would highly recommend this place for honeymooners, couples or anyone just wanting to get away and escape into a peaceful environment with a lot of birds and wildlife.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chupi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2009

We flew into Puerto Vallarta, rented a car from Gecko car rental and drove to El Careyes. This was a 2 1/2 hour drive. A bit on the crazy side, but very scenic and enjoyable. You can stop on the side of the road and enjoy and ice cold beer. Do not recommend doing this drive at night though. We arrived at El Careyes and greeted by a man serving us mint ice tea and cold towels. Our stay at this resort was just perfect. We wanted to be away from all tourist, and we were. It was so beautiful and quiet. We rented kayakes every day, and kayaked around shores and coves. We brought home some absolutley beautiful seashells. Our price included a free "american" breakfast each morning. This consisted of a huge plate of fresh fruit, kiwi, mango, pinapple, yummy! Along with eagss and cheese. We also went horseback riding and the guide pulled over and got a coconut in which he opened with his knife and told me to bring it to the bar and put some tequila and lime in it. The bartender at El Careyes was more than happy to do this. It was just a fun, relaxing, exciting, perfect 10th anniversary trip . If you do not like big cities and tourist this is a great place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chickfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Careyes
24.5 mi away
La Quinta Gran Bahia Cuastecomates
4.9 mi away
Cuixmala
Cuixmala
#1 of 2 in Careyes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
15.9 mi away
Las Alamandas
Las Alamandas
#1 of 1 in Quemaro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
Chantli Mare Inn by the Sea
#1 of 5 in La Manzanilla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
11.8 mi away
Casa Punta Perula Bed & Breakfast Suites
16.0 mi away
Punta Serena
Punta Serena
#1 of 3 in Tenacatita
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Careyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Careyes

Property: Costa Careyes
Address: Km. 53. 5 Carretera 200 Barra de Navidad - Pto. Vallarta | Barra de Navidad, Careyes 48970, Mexico (Formerly El Careyes Beach Resort)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Careyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Careyes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Careyes 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Private Estate Resort in the Mexican Pacific ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Costa Careyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Careyes Beach Hotel Careyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing