We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise”
Review of Careyes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Careyes
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Careyes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We fell across this gem of a hotel when we decided to break up our trip up the coast to Puerto Vallarta, and what was supposed to be an overnight stay turned into two because we couldn't drag ourselves away. Location and views stunning, the hotel kindly upgraded us to a beautiful beachfront room as our first allocation was due for maintenance.
Food was very good and the service was first class and welcoming.
Would love to return.

Room Tip: Do all you can to get a beachfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BrendanK1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 80 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Careyes coast is known worldwide in design circles for the intense, vibrant colors found in the concrete, plaster, tile and landscape architecture of this authentic Navidad environment

From each individual villa, sited carefully on a soft, sandy beach, your private pool cools a body warmed by the ever-present Mexican sun, all the while you are mesmerized by the hypnotic Pacific waves just a coconut's throw beyond. The service was competent, bi-lingual for the most part (passable English and Spanish, of course); the food authentic and delicious, and prepared at your convenience. The addition of private masseuse/spa on site services proved a wonderful addition to concierge care we experienced throughout our weeks' visit.

Room Tip: Ask for specific unit with spa/pool - site near walking paths back to main hotel unit; ask ahead for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LuxurySpeaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Casitas de las Flores is an amazing group of open air style "casitas" (little houses) that are basically like our condos because they have shared walls. Beyond that they have little in common. The architectural beauty, the colors of the spaces, the flowers, the small coves below, make this feel more like a mini version of the Amalfi Coast than Mexico. maybe that's because the family that discovered and developed this area since 1967 is Italian. We have been going since 1997 and we've met French, Italian, Spanish, and Mexican and made many friends along the way. Fly into Manzanillo and it's an hour fifteen minute cab right to this area, set in the middle of a wildlife sanctuary and biosphere so basically you are where the jungle meets the sea. Water temp runs from 75F to 85F, clear and clean, no jet skis allowed in the coves. The whole atmosphere is one of refined elegance meets Mexican hospitality and warmth. If you are looking to para sail, shop and be hung upside down while drinking a tequila shooter than Careyes is not for you. Eat great food, swim, massage, read, snorkel, sleep, horseback ride, scuba dive, surf (within 20 minute ride), meet interesting people from around the world...than this is for you.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chris_helen90266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

We got to the hotel pretty late at night and missed the view from our room. We were give a free upgrade to an oceanfront view and had a private infinity jacuzzi on our balcony.

From the moment that we checked in, we were taken care of, but also left alone, if this makes sense. It was perfect.

We had a scrumptious meal. The staff took some wine up to our room, and we had a nice jacuzzi.

The next morning, the sounds of the ocean woke us up, and the view from our room was absolutely breathtaking.

We swam in the private beach area, and then in the hotel pool.

The pricetag was a bit high, but then again, this is a luxury hotel and it was worth every penny.

Checkout time was great too! At noon! Did not feel so rushed to check out.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2010

First the pluses. Super friendly and helpful staff. Wonderful views from the room which was spacious although bathroom only OK. Good food at the hotel restaurant and reasonably priced for an upscale resort.

Negatives. Quiet bordering on creepy, only two other couples there, restaurant always empty. Lack of dining choices within the resort area (we didn't have a car). The restaurant next to the hotel was extremely overpriced and nothing special and also empty.

Too dead for us and we wouldn't go back but I think some would enjoy it as a real escape.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lundun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2010

I went here as one of the resorts on my honeymoon and it was exactly what one would expect from such an experience. The hotel only has 52 rooms but because we went in the low season there were only a handful of other guests there at the same time. The service was impeccable, the food was very, very good, and the location was absolutely stunning. We were treated like royalty and waited on hand and foot. They had many activities to choose from and all seemed reasonably priced. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScottCPon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2010

Am I in Portofino? Positano? No, I'm at Careyes in Mexico! This unique hotel is owned by Italians and you can tell in the design of this jumble of brightly colored casitas and villas tumbling down the hills to the sea that it is not your ordinary Mexican locale. The menu at Playa Rosa too, is a unique blend of Mexican and Italian. Truly some of the best risotto I've had outside of Italy. Guests are from the U.S. and Canada as you would expect but then you begin to hear people speaking not only Spanish, but French and Italian and others I couldn't quite place.
This is one of those places where you have to put in a little effort to take advantage of all they have to offer, but the staff is terrifically helpful and ready to assist you in enjoying the area. On a boat ride to snorkel at Bird Island we were lucky enough to see whales! If you are lucky maybe you can see a polo game while you are there. We did. The restaurant near the polo fields is a magical place with a great menu. A must visit!
The casitas are peaceful and quiet. Very clean, functional and the view is simply one to gape at from the comfort of the wide couches. My only complaint would be the comfort of the beds. I beg them to improve the mattresses! Please!
This is our second visit to the Casitas de Las Flores at Costa Careyes and I'm ready to rebook for a third visit.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank seenitChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Careyes
24.5 mi away
La Quinta Gran Bahia Cuastecomates
15.9 mi away
Las Alamandas
Las Alamandas
#1 of 1 in Quemaro
138 reviews
16 mi away
Punta Serena
Punta Serena
#1 of 3 in Tenacatita
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Los Angeles Locos
Los Angeles Locos
#2 of 3 in Tenacatita
477 reviews
11.8 mi away
Casa Punta Perula Bed & Breakfast Hotel
10.7 mi away
Paraiso Costalegre
Paraiso Costalegre
#1 of 2 in Chamela
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Careyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Careyes

Address: Km. 53. 5 Carretera 200 Barra de Navidad - Pto. Vallarta | Barra de Navidad, Careyes 48970, Mexico (Formerly El Careyes Beach Resort)
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Costalegre > Careyes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Careyes
Price Range: $479 - $503 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Careyes 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Private Community with lodging facilities from beach bungalows, luxury residences and condos to stunning castles, located in the peaceful Mexican Pacific. The place even has a Biosphere Reserve where sun and sea are framed with marvelous architecture and set against a backdrop of emerald mountains. Wether you want to adventure your palate on gourmet food or give it a local culinary exploration, enjoy a Polo game, attend a chic music event, be delighted with an art festival, discover natural surroundings, hike a mountain or just lounge on some of it greatest beaches, Careyes awaits for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Careyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Careyes Beach Hotel Careyes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing