We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Roberto really goes the extra mile!

Traveled to Acapulco over spring break with my husband and two teen kids. We seriously considered... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
TaniaWatts99
,
Plainfield, Illinois
This is the man who knows Acapulco and will make you feel safe there.

Was very apprehensive traveling to Acapulco. Reading reviews regarding Roberto, contacted him to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
wanttogohomeandsleep
,
Los Angeles, California
Read all 259 reviews
  
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveler rating
256
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
256
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roberto alarcon city tour hot coffee mexican smile grocery shopping the cliff on trip advisor grand mayan amazing tour guide personal photographer baby sea turtle release tamales big smile cold beer wonderful vacation sea salt taco stand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 259 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2019 via mobile

Roberto has lived in Acapulco forever, and made our vacation fantastic. He embodies this beautiful city with his knowledge of Acapulco and it’s people, dining recommendations that are on-point, and his sincere charm.

Roberto is a MUST for your vacation.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

I come down to Acapulco every year to spend a week with my father. Roberto is there for us without fail from touching down to taking off - and everything in between. He’s always got the best recommendations for restaurants or tours or other diversions. And I rest well knowing he’s keeping an eye on Dad when I’m not there. And don’t worry about Acapulco city; it’s perfectly safe so long as you use the common sense you’d use in any big city.

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

With so many options to choose from when planning travel, it’s always hard to choose. Our friend invited us to join her on a vacation to Acapulco and honestly we had no idea what to expect- we’ve traveled to quite a few other locations in Mexico but since this beautiful beach town is one that has fallen off the radar for many Americans, we didn’t have much intel. Lucky for us this meant we got to explore and enjoy the beautiful beaches, restaurants and sights surrounded mostly by Mexicans on vacation versus throngs of tourists from the states. Because the city is filled predominantly with natives and we don’t speak Spanish very well, we knew we needed a great guide and driver to make the most of our trip, and Roberto delivered!

From the moment he picked us up from the airport he offered assistance and information that allowed us to relax and become stress free. We spent one of our first days with him doing the city tour as well as baby sea turtle release which allowed us to get acclimated and truly appreciate our new surroundings. Roberto was always a phone call/text away for any questions, assistance with reservations, tips etc. His communication skills are excellent; not only does he speak perfect English, but he has a keen sense of knowing how to understand what your vacation style is and tailor his recommendations. We felt like we had a dear local friend who we could count on to always steer us in the right direction.

With so many beautiful destinations in Mexico and around the world, sometimes one’s inclination is to always continually seek out new locations to discover, but what will surely bring us back to Acapulco is not only the beautiful city itself, but the real gem this town has to offer, one that certainly will be hard to find anywhere else, and that’s someone like Roberto. I’d recommend him to anyone traveling to Acapulco for everything from simple transportation and beyond- he’s a top notch “concierge” and will allow you to make the most of your vacation!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank 263bettinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2019 via mobile

This was our 1st trip to Acapulco, and after already booking our hotel at The Mayan Palace & flights we learned that our Canadian Government website posted a travel advisory for regions in Mexico including Acapulco, 'do not travel unless absolutely necessary', so needless to say we were extremely concerned. We read Trip Advisor reviews and thankfully found a tour guide who came highly recommended by many other travellers, Roberto Alarcón, so sent him an email inquiring about airport pick-up and addressing our concern with potential dangers of travel in this area. He answered immediately providing reassurance that the area is safe and he will take care of everything we need during our stay.

Roberto did exactly as promised, and we never felt any concern about our safety during our entire stay. We felt so comfortable that we ended up booking 2 tours with him, The Acapulco City Tour including watching the famous cliff divers, and Historical Tehuaculco Ruins Tour which included visiting a local Market in the mountains for lunch with authentic rural Mexican culture which was an amazing personalized tour that we are still raving about! We especially enjoyed exploring the local culture with Roberto as he is well known in the area (it seems everyone knows him) and is very proud of his heritage. He also recommended the best restaurants in area for dinner and provided transportation including stops at the local grocery store & Walmart as necessary for us. Food was delicious and reasonably priced at all of the restaurants we booked, and we enjoyed the great view of sunset/night-lights on our final night out.

We definitely will use Roberto Alarcón Tours on our next trip to Acapulco, and we can't wait to return!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Journey517411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

We contacted Roberto before heading to Acapulco and he picked us up at the airport and took us to a Wallmart type supermarket to shop for our Room, then took us to our resort (Grand Mayan) Two days later we met for an all day city tour we were picked up at 8am and taken on a tour of the area Roberto is a superstar tour guide had water, tequila, and cold beer for us, VERY knowledgeable of Acapulco and made the tour extremely comfortable and enjoyable. we went to a sea turtle release followed by a great Taco lunch toured many sites from the Tarzan house to the Chapel of Peace, then went to see the awe inspiring Acapulco Cliff Divers and even stopped at a local market to do a little souvenir shopping (silver jewelry for my wife) on the way back to resort he asked if we wanted to stop at a store for more items for our hotel, and we were running low on water, so we did these are the type of extras that he provided that make him the best tour guide i have ever had. we then scheduled our trip later that week to airport where he showed up with fresh coffee and snacks for us Roberto is the best !!!

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews