We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort & A Driver Recommendation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Ranked #2 of 169 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 20, 2009

I had an excellent time in Acapulco at the Grand Mayan. The resort was extremely relaxing and had a beautiful pool and beach access. The rooms were very modern and extremely well kept. I would recommend the resort to anyone and it should be even nicer once they finish the renovation of the Mayan Palace. Also, If you're going to Acapulco and staying anywhere in the Diamante area I would recommend calling Benjamin Alarcon to be your driver. He spoke English fluently, drove safely, and made great recommendations for dinner and drinks. His car was clean and he also gave a great tour of the city. You can email him at [--]. He does everything from airport pickups to late night pick ups from the club.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cgerberwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2009

Recently got back from a two week stay at the Grand Mayan in Acapulco we booked as part of our time share 3 two bedroom units and had up to 14 family and friends join us over the 2 weeks. We had a great time and the facility is VERY nice. We arraigned all our transportation to/from the airport with many different schedules, numerous trips to the Walmart and Mega, various sightseeing trips and the last night a beach side dinner at a quaint restaurant about 20 minutes east, all this was painlessly set up with Sabastain Hernandaz at very affordable prices along with GREAT service

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwp45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We stayed at the Grand Mayan December 4-12. The place is amazing! Beautiful, clean and highly accommodating. The problems we had were with the vendors on the beach - what a pain in the butt! Warning - do not purchase snorkel/cliff divers trip from Arturo! We were promised a glass bottom boat, snorkeling in two locations, wave runners and finally the cliff divers show. 1st thing that went wrong: the glass bottom boat was not "available" that day. 2nd: first snorkel location was at a dock area - very murky water - not many fish to speak of. Then the ladder on the boat was this mangled thing that was hung to the side of the boat - a couple of people cut themselves trying to climb it. We did get the wave runners at this point, but had to rush doing that because we had to move on. Got to second snorkeling area, at this point everyone was second guessing themselves about getting off the boat - just to endure that ladder again! Again, no great fish. When we went to leave, the boat started smoking - engine failure. We had to wait for another boat to pick us up - at this point we were too late for cliff diver show. The second boat took us back to the original dock, but they wanted us to swim into the dock area as the second boat wasn't allowed on that dock! Okay, we all had bags with cameras, etc. - were we supposed to hold our bags up and do a one handed swim??? At this point we all lost our patience and demanded to be taken into the dock - so Arturo whistled over a little dinghy boat (that was being bailed out by the owner) and he brought us to the dock. Also, Arturo must have told us 5-6 times during the day that we should tip the captain, first mate, 2nd boat captain, first mate, dinghy owner, etc. We were constantly pulling out our wallets!!! If it weren't for the great people that we shared the adventure with, it would have been a total disaster!

We also got sucked into buying "sterling jewelry" that wasn't real (I know as I am allergic to nickel - got great rash on my arms). So beware of the vendors selling jewelry.

If the Grand Mayan could keep these vendors away from you while sitting on beach, it would have been a perfect vacation!

We would go back in a heartbeat, but we probably wouldn't leave the resort, and would definitely not purchase anything from the vendors!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinyfirecracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Over the last few years we have become Grand Mayan timeshare owners, but had never had the opportunity to visit this particular site. Our son and daughter-in-law had visited last year and had recommended that we experience this beautiful city even though Alaska Airlines, our airline of choice, does not service this destination. It was the perfect time of year and the hotel was beautiful with plenty of excellent service that we have come to expect with the Grand Mayan. The warm water beaches are wonderful and tempting for surfers and the waders. The food, the people and the property itself combined to make this a truly memorable vacation. The best advice our son gave us for this trip was to enlist the services of Roberto Alarcon. He is listed as a tour guide on this website. We contacted him prior to our trip and, though he offered to pick us up at the airport, we had already made other plans. (In future we will use his services for that as well!) We allowed ourselves a day of jet lag and then met him for an all encompassing tour of the Acapulco area. He took us to each of the 3 main areas of the City, accompanied us on some shopping detours and ended with a luncheon at a restaurant with a view of the Cliff Divers plunging hundreds of feet into the surf. He suggested several other excursions which promise as much adventure that we will save for another trip now that we are familiar with the area. We made arrangements to have him return us to the airport that is only 10 minutes from the hotel. My husband was anxious to get all the suitcases inside and realized after checking-in our luggage that he had left a small backpack with his computer on the floor of the front seat of Roberto's Suburban. Before he could find a phone to contact Roberto, he saw Roberto running through the terminal with the bag his next passenger had found! We made the flight and left with many fond memories, but in particular, the best ones are of a wonderful young man who went out of his way to make our visit so enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
Thank hbmom46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Best vacation EVER - great staff, gorgeous hotel. No complaints whatsoever!

Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank JJBrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

I found this to be a top notch resort with an ocean beach that was fun for the older kids while the resort itself had plenty to do for my younger son -- swimming, aqua park, kids club, craft projects. We had a double room for a family of 5 so we had two bathrooms. That made all the difference as far as comfort. The hotel staff was usually helpful when necessary. My tip would be to use driver Roberto to pick you up from the airport and take you to WalMart for groceries. We saved so much money. A few days after our arrival Roberto picked us up in his Suburban and took us on a tour of the city, allowing us to stop for shopping and then lunch while we watched the cliff divers. Roberto was informative, reliable and very friendly. I recommend both the Grand Mayan and Roberto.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallulahsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

Acapulco is a pleasant coastal city with a relaxed atmosphere despite having a population over 1 milliion. The Grand Mayan had a fantastic collection of pools for all sorts of activities for both children and adults (volleyball, swimming, water aerobics). The food although a bit pricey was always excellent. The service was also good. We had Sebatian Hernandez [--] greet us at the airport. We were taken on a nice tour of the city in his suburban followed by a view and lunch to see the cliff divers. The following day we went on a boat tour to see some wild life, again followed by a nice beach side dinner at a local restaurant. We also spent some quality family time at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelforsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
4.8 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 169 in Acapulco
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#9 of 169 in Acapulco
1,947 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Mayan Palace Acapulco
#7 of 169 in Acapulco
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 169 in Acapulco
834 reviews
7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
3.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#3 of 169 in Acapulco
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Acapulco

Address: Avenida Del Palmar 1121, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#3 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range: $99 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Acapulco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Mayan Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Grand Mayan Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing