We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Michael”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Ranked #2 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Elkin, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Michael”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The stay was wonderful We meet Adan Bello the first day we arrived. We ask him to show us the sites of Acapulco. He was great. We used him every time that we left the Mayan. I was worried when we planned the trip for the safety of my family. After meeting and traveling with Adan I felt that he truly made the trip one that my family will cherish forever. Adan Bello is truly the NUMBER ONE cab driver in Acapulco

Room Tip: Beachfront is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    568
    105
    64
    47
See reviews for
800
587
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlebury, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My family and our friends just traveled to Acapulco for a weeks stay at the Grand Mayan. The resort was amazing and very child friendly. One of the best choices we made for our trip was using Roberto Alarcon as our driver while we were there. Roberto picked us up at the airport and took us back at the end of our stay. He gave us an amazing tour of the city and took us to so many amazing places and authentic restaurants. He will make your dinner reservations for you at several places that he can recommend. I recommend going to La Finca a few miles from the hotel...it was our favorite.

We have been to many places in Mexico and never felt more safe than in Acapulco. Roberto was always on time and treated us like royalty. The rates are great for the quality of service that he provides. It was like having a member of our family pick us up and show us around. When, not if, we travel back to Acapulco, we will make sure Roberto is available before we book our stay. I cannot recommend him highly enough!!! We now have a family member in Acapulco.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After using Roberto in 2012 we were so pleased that we decided to bring my parents and our 2 little girls back to Grand Mayan Acapulco in June of 2013. From his smiling face at the airport to his first class service all week we have no problems giving him 5 Stars! He makes the destination a top spot for our family and we plan on using his services for years to come...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family visited the Grand Mayan to celebrate my daughter's college graduation, and what a celebration we had! We pre-booked private transportation for the week with ROBERTO ALARCON and with our arrival at the airport, the fun began! We expected to have a great trip, but Roberto made our stay AWESOME!!! I look forward to seeing him again and highly recommend that you contact him for the most professional, special, personal, safe and friendly service Acapulco has to offer (robertoalrey@yahoo.com.mx).

The Grand Mayan resort was beautiful and our accommodations were spectacular. All of the resort staff was great and I especially appreciate Jose, who took great care of us during our check-in. The restaurant staff, housekeeping, pool staff and everyone we encountered was wonderful. The rooms, grounds, pools and restaurants were meticulously maintained and we were sad to see our time end.

The only downside of our stay was the resort is undergoing construction, so there was limited access to some areas, however, still nice for what is available. The local sellers on the beach were totally exhausting and we were constantly harrassed and had to practically yell NO for them to move on, but they or others consistently came back. However, the more you say no, the lower the price, if you are interested. I do highly recommend the $20 per hour massage on the beach (miss you Lupe!). And finally the sales pitch for you to purchase a timeshare is just as exhausting except air-conditioned and a free breakfast. You have to say no a million times in order to get it over with for the week.

We definitely plan to return!

Room Tip: Request a room on a higher level so you can see above the palm trees. The oceanfront view is beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCross2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, MD
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

In order for my wife and I to have wifi in our rooms for the week, we had to pay the exorbitant rates twice. Every other place we have stayed has free wifi. There is a room with computers but they charge $5hr (that too is usually free).

Vs Mayan Palace Acapulco
-This place has two full service restaurants while the Mayan Palace has one. That said, one of the two is closed for who knows how long. There is also a snack bar and late night bar type place.
-this place has beach access while Mayan Palace requires you take a shuttle. The sand on the beach is nice and soft compared to other beaches in Acapulco but there is a strong undertow which is common here.
-Mayan Palace has a huge lazy river while this one is rather small. That said, the one at Mayan Palace is pretty dirty while the one here is clean.
-The Mayan Palace has larger pools with recliners in the water which I love. Most lounge chairs have umbrellas where most don't here.

Vs Grand Mayan Cancun
By most measures, the Grand Mayan in Cancun is nicer. It has much larger pools with recliners, and it has four restaurants vs the one open here. It is just a bigger facility. The only downside there is that it is not on a very nice beach. But then again, the other beaches in Cancun are nicer than any of the beaches in Acapulco because the water is calmer and clearer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dtrachtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Grand Mayan is in a lovely location that offers something for everyone. We enjoyed the beach, the food and the service; however, some places in the hotel were closed. The bar near the reception desk was closed for the most part, the restaurant near the reception desk was also closed. The resort was promoting a wine tasting at the bar from 6:00 – 8:00 PM; we arrived about 6:45; however, no one was there, and the bartender said it was over! By the time we returned from checking out the restaurant across the hall (also closed), the bartender was gone as well! The rooms were spacious and clean. The hotel, the grounds and room were well kept. This is not an all-inclusive resort so there are fees for most services. If you are thrifty, get a room with a kitchen and get a ride to Walmart or a local grocery store to stock up. The kitchen is small, with a half sized refrigerator and no oven, dishwasher or washer/dryer and without a tea kettle (bring your own if you like tea). The hotel doesn't deal in cash so you sign for everything...be careful costs can creep up. Expect to tip while you are there, the happy staff will be happier. The pools were very beautiful, and nice to splash/cool-off in; however, they were not at all suited for actually swimming. We do NOT suggest you listen to the timeshare sales pitch. It is a very methodical hard sell. We started at 10am and had difficulty leaving by 1:30 pm. We had a nice breakfast, but it left us feeling like a "mark". Some of the sales people were extremely pushy and rude, others guest’s we talked to had a similar experience, and it left a very bad taste. However, one of the young sales man was very nice, and invited us for a day on a boat with his friends. It was a great day, and we saw several movie stars’ homes, snorkeled, and were able to see Acapulco’s famous cliff divers from the sea. They are fantastic! On the beach you will be approached by local vendors, if they have something you want don't be afraid to bargain with them...If you can't agree on a price, don't worry they will be back tomorrow. However, one recommendation. You MUST get a daily massage from the women on the beach. Heavenly! They had massage tables set up under shade, next to the ocean, so you had the wonderful sound of the ocean and cool breezes to be pampered. The massages were an hour of total relaxation. But the best part... they were only $20 US for the entire hour. Almost as good as you get in any high-priced salon but for $20. Great deal!
We found the Grand Mayan staff and the people of Acapaulco to be very friendly, and were extremely fortunate to meet Sebastian Hernandez, a native of Acapulco and professional tour guide, who made our trip special! Sebastian has a web site, acapulcofor_all@yahoo.com, phone number 044 74 42 04 30 32 or 044 74 41, 85 45 22. He knew all the right places to eat, and to sightsee. For example, for our 30th anniversary dinner, he took us to a beautiful restaurant called Linda Vista overlooking Acapaulco Bay where my husband had surf and turf, and I had the combination seafood platter. The amazing thing was that Sebastian had notified them in advance of our anniversary, and they made us a homemade pie with “Happy Anniversary”, our names and the dates on it as well. Thank you Sebastian and Linda Vista! The food was deliciously seasoned, tender, and cooked to perfection. If you want to partake of Acapulco culture or just want a ride to and from the airport or Walmart, please give Sebastian Hernandez a call. He is friendly, knowledgeable and flexible, and provides “no pressure” service with prices considerably less than scheduling comparable tours through the Grand Mayan. The tours and restaurants he recommended were above our expectations - how can you go wrong with fresh grilled lobster, shrimp and steak for around $40 with an amazing view? He was always on time, and very professional. We went with him almost every day we were at the resort because we wanted a full Acapulco experience with authentic food and an educational experience. He will do those little extras that shows he really wants you to enjoy your experience. We did his City Highlights Tour and especially enjoyed the breathtaking views from the lovely Chapel of Peace, and the proposal story behind Diego Rivera's amazing mosaic wall mural. We loved it so much that we also signed up for the Ecotour with a private catamaran ride with Captain Felix and his son Oliver on the beautiful Tres Palos Lagoon, complete with clay facials and great conversation. Sundown was beautiful and peaceful. We also had an opportunity to release 2 baby sea turtles into the ocean. Although we have seen this on TV, that just doesn’t convey how strongly those little turtles struggle to get to the sea! We capped this perfect day with a romantic sunset dinner at Esmirna del Mar. We were the only people there and felt like VIPs. We had the red snapper, lobster, and shrimp combination-- fresh and tasty! The fish was truly uniquely seasoned, tender, and moist. Sebastian booked us on a deep sea fishing trip on the Tres Amigos boat for our last full day in Acapaulco. CAPT Carlitos and Alfredo were friendly and professional. They helped us land 3 sailfish and a Bonito; the largest sailfish was 2 inches short of 9 feet. The many sea turtles and porpoises swimming around the boat and putting on a high flying show, and the beautiful sunrise over Acapulco as we pulled out of the bay (plus the fish!) made this deep sea fishing expedition well worth it. This vacation was everything we were hoping it would be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

What a great family trip!! The hotel and amentities were amazing (minus the Burgers, got food posioning). Had the best tour Guide possible. Make sure to hire Roberto Alarcon. He is Acapulco's best!! The guided tour he gave us was outstanding. Was waiting for us with a big smile when we arrived. Also Gerry @ the Activities Hut at the resort treated my son like he was family. What a great place to go for vacation. Vendors on the beach were a little overwhelming at times. (They don't give up easy). Make sure to negotiate

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.1 mi away
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Mayan Palace Acapulco
#7 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 178 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
3.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#3 of 178 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Acapulco

Property: The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Address: Avenida Del Palmar 1121, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Family Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Acapulco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Grand Mayan Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing