We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Ranked #2 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Pacific Northwest
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Location, Nice Resort”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our extended family of six had a relaxing week (March 30-April 6, 2013) at the Grand Mayan. Ahead of time we requested rooms with ocean view and it was ready and waiting for us - top floor. Check in was prompt and friendly. We were amazed that the resort did not seem overly crowded during our stay - we could always find lounge chairs in the shade or sun by the pools and lazy river. Most guests were Mexican families having a good vacation; we were among the very few Americans. Be sure to take the shuttle to the Mayan Palace where there are many more pools and a very nice, long Lazy River. We had it all to ourselves! Took a short taxi ride to Wal-Mart where we bought food for several meals which we prepared in our kitchen. We did enjoy room service, which was quite good - actually the best meals we had. The beach is busy with ATVs, horses, massage tables, a few vendors, and lots of people playing in the surf. One day we hired a driver recommended by the resort and Trip Advisor (either David Alcaraz or Francisco Vargas). He charged $25 US/hour for the six of us. We did a city tour which included the Chapel of Peace, Cliff Divers, Market Square, Jewelry Factory, Lunch at Los Flamingos Restaurant, and various view stops. There were a lot of police in evidence in downtown Acapulco, but we felt safe with our driver. There is no way we would have rented a car and gone places alone - the traffic is horrendous and parking is a nightmare. We have enjoyed staying at The Grand Mayan - Nuevo Vallarta (our favorite), and The Grand Mayan (Cancun). We probably will not return to Acapulco mainly because it is so difficult to get there from Seattle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haptravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,155
    580
    108
    64
    48
See reviews for
849
590
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, South Dakota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just returned from our second year of vacationing at the Grand Mayan Resort in Acapulco. We stayed for 1 week last year & decided it was not long enough so we booked 2 weeks this year, from February 8, 2013 through February 22, 2013. I just can't imagine a more beautiful resort. The pools are wonderful at the Grand Mayan & even better at the Mayan Palace which is just a couple minutes down the road. They also have a 1/2 mile lazy river. The Grand Mayan is right on the beach which is wonderful. The ocean is a little rough but warm enough to swim in.

The maids are very frienly & do a wonderful job, always greeting you with a smile. They do not speak much english, but we seemed to be able to communicate what we needed to, often with a bit laughing at each other. They tidy up the room & fix the beds for you in the morning & turn your bed down at night. They also leave chocolate kisses on your bed every night. The second to the last day before we left, the night maid put swan towel art on the table in the living room & made a love knot with the sheer curtains in fron of the patio doors. It made our day.

The staff are all wonderful. They bend over backwards to do whatever they can to make your stay as nice as possible. The activities directors, Angel & Diana, quickly became just like family. They remembered us from last year & gave us hugs as soon as they saw us. They have an activity of some kind going on almost every night. They also have activities going on poolside every afternoon. We really did not feel we needed to leave the resort much, because there was plenty to keep us busy right there.

When we did leave the resort, we just gave Baldo Gomez (our wonderful driver/guide) a call & he was right there to take us wherever whe wanted to go. This is the second year in a row that we have had him for our driver, and we could not have made a better choice. It was just like coming home to visit a family member. He was there to greet us with a huge smile & hug at the airport with cold drinks waiting for us in the vehicle. He took us to pick up groceries the next day. We also went on a city tour, watched the Cliff Divers & out to dinner at Senior Frogs overlooking Acapulco Bay. He also has his nephew Raymon & another employee Philippe working with him in case he can't be there. They are both very nice as well. When it was time to return home, Baldo was there to take us to the airport & give us hugs goodbye. We felt like we were leaving an old friend.

This was a wonderful vacation. If you are looking for a totally relaxing & fun vacation or some romantic time to spend with your spouse, this is it. We can't wait to go back again. The weather in Acapulco is always perfect & going back home to below zero temperatures & snow was hard to do. We will be back to visit our friends as soon as we can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ggeditz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Adèle, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Grand Mayan is a A1 resort. The staff is very professional and sympatic.
Our taxi driver, Ricardo Alvarez Avila was a great help to us. Very patient and always available. He also had a baby seat for our 2 years old.

Thank you Ricardo!

Cell: 044-744-113-6979

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My family and I just returned from Acapulco for vacation. Couldn't have been more impressed with the Grand Mayan facilities, immediate staff and extended staff. The hospitality was amazing even when the spanish / english interpretation was a "little" challenging. The front desk was especially helpful with our needs. The decor and grounds throughout were immaculate. There was a little construction going on, but never heard a peep. The beach experience was one of the best we've had in a long time. The guys really take care of you there too. Really appreciated the friendly greeting by the bell service and transportation coordinators each and every time we stepped out. They seemed genuinely interested in our plans and making sure we took in all that Acapulco had to offer. We thankfully met Juan Allegria Corona early on our vacation. Everyone calls him "Corona". He became our personal Acapulco tour guide, historian and offered the best recomendations for shopping, entertainment, etc. Being in the tourism and hospitality business, I am very critical, but I have to say he was very professional and I trusted him to the fullest. We had a wonderful experience every evening eating out - the best restaurants with the most AMAZING views, UNBELIEVEALBE atmosphere / decor, and yes GREAT food and the service was always OUTSTANDING too. Not one complaint! I definitely recommend you try these restaurants IL Forno D ; Kookaburra; Becca Al Mare; Zibu; Sunset with Cocktails and Hors d'oeurves at Las Brisas; Bellavista; La Parrilla De Gardel; and the Banyan Tree our all-time favorite!!! He looked out for us the entire time. Really recommend you ask for him on your next visit to Acapulco and/or Grand Mayan. He'll make sure you get around and safely. Email acamiamitour781225@hotmail.com facebook - alegria_781225@hotmail.com. Oops almost forgot - the Cliff Divers were amazing and we had the best seats in the house - The photos on their website look like the real thing! THANKS Grand Mayan and Corona for a memorable vacation!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My wife and I spent the month of February at the Grand Mayan Resort in Acapulco. The grounds and public spaces are beautiful and the individual suites are well appointed and have a large balcony with a private 'dipping pool'. We found all the staff from the front desk manager, Gibran, to the life guards like Jesus and Emilio to be exceptionally friendly and accommodating.

My wife and I enjoy beach walking and the Grand Mayan is located on an incredible expanse of beach. One can literally walk for miles on this beach and since Acapulco's weather is almost guaranteed to be 30*C and sunny with a pleasant onshore breeze, it is no wonder that it is called "Punta Diamante' (Diamond Beach)

Besides having the beach, the ocean, the pools, the waterpark and the 'lazy river' to keep us occupied there were tennis courts, a golf course, a spa, excellent gym facilities and a boutique available as well.

There were interesting tourist attractions and restaurants in the Acapulco area when we wanted some diversion from the actual resort. The cliff divers should not be missed!

If you want a guide/driver to show you the best of Acapulco and area or to transport you to and from the airport or the restaurants or any other venue there are none better than Roberto Alarcon (robertoalrey@yahoo.com.mx) or his brother Benjamin Alarcon
(benjamin_alarcon@yahoo.com). Both are fluent in English,highly educated, extremely dependable and know everything there is to know and do around Acapulco. For us our travels with Roberto and Benjamin made our wonderful vacation at the Grand Mayan resort even better.

We would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: If you are on the beach side, ask for a room on the 6th floor or higher (gets you above the trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 216JimS216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We decided to take a girls trip over Spring Break and I couldn't feel more refreshed. The Grand Mayan was lovely from the staff to the upgraded rooms to the pool and beach. The staff does an excellent job at keeping everything clean and up to a high standard. The poolside restroom always had an attendant checking every stall after use. The blackberry margaritas were super tasty and the staff ensures you have a fresh drink whenever desired. Each day there was water aerobics with dynamic instructors who were not cheesy and really gave you a good workout. I did get a massage for $20 on the beach which was a nice option. We took advantage of having a driver who was named Sebastian (Acapulco for All) and he was amazing! The tours and restaurants he recommended were above my expectations and how can you go wrong with fresh grilled lobster, shrimp and steak for around $40 with an amazing view??? I'm very picky about being late and he was ALWAYS on time. We used him everyday we were at the resort because we wanted a full Acapulco experience with authentic food and an educational experience.

Note--take a walk down the beach to the flea market place that has everything for much cheaper. I finally found bracelets for $5 and awesome beach bags from $7-10. Additionally, beer is $2 a can.

Room Tip: The rooms on higher level floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erinm422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a four week vacation at the Grand Mayan, Acapulco.
As always, the premises were in excellent condition, the room was clean and in fine shape. Hotel staff was friendly and highly professional.
Weather, as usually in Acapulco, superb; just right to relax, swim and watch the world go by.
Although, some negative experiences do show up in Mexico once in a while, many travelers to Mexico might know what I'm talking about; three times, over the years, we have met a very pleasant taxi driver at the Grand Mayan: Carlos Alergria. Not only does his name sound good, translated into English: Happiness, indeed, Carlos is a happy, very friendly and helpful person. He is also very knowledgeable about Mexican culture in general and local history in particular.
He looked after our complete transportation needs and was always on time and, most importantly, we never had any problem with his fees. In short, we can highly recommend this person for Airport pick-ups, trips during your entire stay in Acapulco and for the drive back to the Airport at the end of your vacation. Give him a call or contact him via e-mail, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tallTheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.3 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 167 in Acapulco
736 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#9 of 167 in Acapulco
1,737 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 167 in Acapulco
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
7.4 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#10 of 167 in Acapulco
1,058 reviews
3.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#3 of 167 in Acapulco
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Acapulco

Property: The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Address: Avenida Del Palmar 1121, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Acapulco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Grand Mayan Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing