We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christmas in Acapulco”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Ranked #2 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas in Acapulco”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a great week in Acapulco. Went with my family and two other families. The rooms were very clean and well kept. The resort was full but it never felt crowded. We spend a lot of time at the pool with our kids. The pool staff was awesome. We did go over to the Grand Mayan a couple of times, but the staff there was not very friendly. We hired a driver, Sebastian Hernandez. He was amazing. I contacted him via email before we left. He picked us up from the airport, took us on tours, drove us to Costco and other restaurants. Always very professional. His email is acapulcofor_all@yahoo.com. Everyone is Acapulco was very friendly. We never felt unsafe anywhere we went.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,089
    565
    104
    62
    47
See reviews for
782
584
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a fantastic week in Acapulco! The Grand Mayan was very clean, staff were wonderful, and any issues we had were promptly addressed. Just a note for Canadian travellers, the ATM at the resort will not accept Canadian debit cards unless they are the new Visa/MC combined cards. We hired the best tour guide in the city Roberto Alarcon. From the time he picked us up at the airport until the time he dropped us off at the airport when we left he was always on time, attentive, gracious, friendly, professional, entertaining, knowledgeable and his english is superb!!!! My son is usually very shy but Roberto included him in everything we did and made sure he had a good time. My son even gave him a hug at the airport when we left which is not a small feat! Roberto took us on a city tour, the ruins tour, cliff divers show, local restauraunts, shopping, jet skiing, snorkeling etc. We will never forget our trip to Acapulco and all the things he tought us while we were there. We felt 100% safe the entire time we were there. I would advise people that Acapulco is a very safe place to vacation. The weather was fantastic every day, my son didn't want to leave to go home.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side have sun in the mornings and the rooms on the beach side have afternoon s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very nice rooms with great service. Staff was exceptional. Everything was very clean and we enjoyed the lazy river. We went and bought our own food and drinks and only ate there alittle. Sandwiches and snacks mostly. Taxi drivers will try to rip you off but hotel personel will help you with that.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
88 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family spent a wonderful week at the Grand Mayan in Acapulco over Thanksgiving. The resort was not very crowded and most of the guests spoke Spanish. The activities team spoke enough English to include my son in some beach football and other games and he had fun! On the first morning, we made a quick trip to Wal-Mart to stock up on bottled water, beer, breakfast pastries, juice and snack foods.

We had an ocean view room on the 8th floor and it was by far the BEST vacation view we have ever had! The rooms are beautiful and we enjoyed the balcony with the dipping pool (although the water was cold!). Note - The even numbered rooms are ocean views.

We enjoyed the ocean, the beach and the pools at the Grand Mayan. The ocean is very shallow out in front of the resort. We were able to play in the waves and still stand up with water only up to our waist. There are lifeguards on the beach too. We also took the free shuttle over the Mayan Palace to use their pools and other activities (like billiards and ping pong). The lazy river at the Mayan Palace is much longer than the one at the Grand Mayan. At times, I wish they had more tubes for the lazy rivers. Both locations have a small water park area in the pools but they are designed for younger children. My 11-year-old son tried out some of the slides but they were too short for him. The slides also dump you out onto concrete in shallow water - OUCH! Not well designed....

We ate at a few of the restaurants on the properties and the meals were good. We even tried room service since we were so tired when we arrived on the first night. It was VERY good for room service and was setup up beautifully on our dining room table! Although it seemed like the food prices were high, we were pleasantly surprised when we received our bill at check-out!! The happy hour 2-for-1 drinks were very weak.

The Mayan Palace pool did have an aqua-bar with stools in the pool! They were repairing the tiles around the edge of the pool so the water level was lowered in all the pools by over a foot as a result (since they are all connected, expect the lazy river).

We enjoyed visiting the turtle camp on the beach in front of the Grand Mayan resort. They are helping to preserve the population of olive ridley sea turtles. They dig up the nest of eggs and bring them into the camp to protect them for the 45-50 days it takes for the eggs to hatch. They no longer release the turtles with the public watching so we did not get to see that. (They found idiot tourists had taken baby turtles and put them up in their rooms in cups of water!) I loved seeing the baby turtles and it's great to know that the program is increasing the odds of turtles surviving to adulthood. I think the guide said that in nature, only 1-2 per 1000 turtles would survive to adulthood but in their program they are seeing about a 1 in 100 survival rate. They baby turtles (if they are female) will return to this SAME BEACH when they are ready to lay eggs!! Very cool!

Room Tip: Ask for EVEN numbered rooms for an ocean view! Higher floors are better, need to be higher than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lloyd K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The most beautiful place ever!! The service was wonderful, the entire resort, including all the staff, beach and rooms , our room was cleaned every day by Liza Cruz, a single mother of two small children was absolutely incredible, the Taxi driver, who became our our main tour guide, Juan Carona was fabulous!! Jose his uncle, was so kind, took us shopping to Wallmart, his name is Jose. We would have known what to do without them!! We fell in love with them!! When u go visit, u just have to have them as your guides!!! They r the best!! We loved our time there, even bought in so we can back anytime!! Juan speaks very good English and knows the history of the whole city, took us to Tasco, the cave, well, just everywhere!! Thank you Grand Mayan for our stay, we will be back!! It was amazing!!! Sincerely, Don and Barbara Folkman

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, our beach front room could sleep 6 easily!! AC was great!!! Our rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbaraschlechtfolkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

There are so many great reviews about this place which is warranted because of how great the place is. We stayed here for a week and it wasn't enough! We will surely come back here again!

Great things about the place

1. They have organized activities every day such as volleyball, aqua aerobics, football, dance parties, etc.
2. They serve great food, although most are highly priced.
3. Beautiful ocean view and great outdoor pools
4. Close proximity to a great shopping area, La Isla Shopping Center
5. Away from the hustle and bustle of Downtown Acapulco
6. Helpful and friendly employees
7. ATM in the hotel
8. Personal pool in the balcony (at least where we stayed at)
9. Clean rooms and great functional kitchen
10. Although there are lots of vendors on the beach trying to sell you stuff, they are not as many compare to Acapulco Bay and they are very respectful if you say no.

Not so great things about the place
1. Extremely expensive Wi-Fi and you have to pay access for each device. So if you have a laptop, tablet and phone, you can’t use all of them with one subscription (which is really stupid because you are already paying a lot just to access their internet).
2. The parking lot is all the way to the back, which I believe was intentional. We did a valet parking in the beginning but it gotten really expensive as you have to tip each time you take your car out and in and the valet parking itself.
3. The beach wasn't that great. It was extremely difficult and somewhat dangerous to swim as it is the open sea (but they have lifeguards posted between 8am - 5pm I believe)
4. If you like to go to Downtown Acapulco it’s about 30 minutes away
5. We used a time share and want to stay in a room with a great ocean view and were told that they can only do that if we agree to have someone do a sales pitch to us.
6. Food items at their restaurants especially the sushi bar were extremely overpriced (same with items at the hotel shop)
7. Spa services were extremely expensive compare to other hotels I've been to

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChasingSunset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My friends and I enjoyed my early birthday in Acapulco in November 2012, the 16th through the 23rd and turning 50 was never sweeter. The Grand Mayan was a wonderful resort, replete with warm, friendly and accommodating staff, pristine grounds, comfortable rooms fully accommodating our party of 5 adults. We couldn't h have stayed at a more comfortable, clean and luxurious resort in the area. On-site restaurant, bars, activities and parties were exciting and fully appointed. My friends and I planned the trip to the letter to assure our memories would be fantastic I was a bit apprehensive about booking an independant tour guide on line, having read some reviews and contacting different drivers in Acapulco. Sebastian (AcapulcoForAll)was the first on who responded right away and we decide to book his services. You can book direct him. He was terrific to deal with and we made sure had a great guide to spend the week with us. if you want to enjoy Acapulco to the fullest be sure to contact him before your arrival. I highly recommend Acapulco for All and Sebastian Hernandez, you will gain a friend for life!

Room Tip: Best rooms away from the elevators facing the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyfeelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.1 mi away
Mayan Palace Acapulco
Mayan Palace Acapulco
#7 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
7.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
3.9 mi away
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
Banyan Tree Cabo Marques
#3 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Mayan Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Mayan Acapulco

Property: The Grand Mayan Acapulco
Address: Avenida Del Palmar 1121, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#2 Luxury Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#4 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grand Mayan Acapulco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Mayan Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mayan Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Grand Mayan Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Grand Mayan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing