We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel near beach and entertainment”
Review of El Hotelito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
El Hotelito
Ranked #106 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Rego Park, New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small hotel near beach and entertainment”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Small cozy hotel far from center but close to the beach. Plenty of restaurants and bars around. No mosquito nets so can't leave windows open, that's a minus. Quiet rooms. Much nicer upstairs with balconies.

Room Tip: upstairs with balcony is much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annageish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    13
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
8
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Veracruz, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and it was "Excellent", but on my latest stay I noticed the lack of maintenance.

First I was assigned a room that was flooded and had no light, then reassigned to another one in which the shower was not working properly and finally the one I sayed at was clean but there was some mold growing by the shower the sink was loose, the curtains looked old and not tidy.

Don't get me wrong, it is still a fair place to stay for the price buy it is not what it used to be. For an overnight stay would be ok but maybe not for a whole vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We had planned to stay in Acapulco for five days of our two week trip to Mexico. We had booked at El Hotelito based on the reviews available on this site. When we arrived at the hotel at around 2pm, our room wasn't ready. We waited for about an hour in the lobby for our room. To their credit, they offered us a complimentary beverage while we were waiting. When we got to our room, we were quite disappointed. First of all, the Hotelito does not have an elevator and we were on the third floor. It wasn't a problem just a bit of a pain when you forgot something in the room. Second of all, El Hotelito is not a modern hotel, it's an old Acapulco joint that's been revamped wth a bit of white paint. The room itself was relatively clean. The rest of the hotel, not so much. The cushions on the chairs next to the pool were stained and so were the curtains in the room. It all felt a bit old and dingy. The location however is good. Close to the beach and restaurants. The staff is friendly but very young and somewhat inexperienced. If you are 20 and want a cheap place to go party, this might be for you but it wasn't for us. After two nights, we decided to leave and go back to Mexico D.F. sooner than planned. It took many many weeks and many emails to get our money back, but we managed to get refunded for two night.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — it was old and dingy
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cachupina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 20, 2006

Hello,
If you are looking for a vacation full of adventure and fun, the Hotelito is not the place where you will find it. Me and my friends just came back from Acapulco and we experienced the worst service an hotel can provide to fulfill your expectations. Despite the fact that Acapulco is an amazing place to go to the Hotelilo will restrict your plans in many ways. When you pay for a place to stay you expect a good service and availabilty of many things. So take this advice seriously.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2006

El Hotelito is Acapulco's hidden secret. The place is very clean, the location is great (only one block away from the beach and one block away from the restaurants and clubs), and the hotel staff is very friendly! Not once did I have to ask for my key when I returned from the beach because they knew who I was and what room I was staying in! The pool is nicely decorated and it is a refreshing swim under the hot Mexican sun. The rooms are average, but extremely clean! The hotel has a great policy of not allowing anyone under 21, and it really helps. Some of the other hotels were loud and boisterous, but this place was relaxing and mature. My only complaint about this hotel is that there is not elevator, but the fourth floor is the top floor. I would definitly stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 13, 2005

Some friends and my self arrived in Acapulco without a hotel reservation... We asked to the taxi driver where could we stay? Nice hotel, not expensive, good location and cool. The taxi driver headed us to el hotelito where more than all that, DO NOT ACCEPT KIDS, great!!!! The price was really nice for the quality of the place. Definetely the pool and the cleaness of the rooms are the strongest points of the place. Also, it is very close to Walmart, restaurants, clubs and 30 steps from the beach. The manager gave us a nice discount so we stayed there and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2005

I went to Acapulco with my boyfriend and two of his friends last week. I had booked at Hotel El Tropicano. When we got there, the A/C was not working, the TV was broken and the place was very messy. We were paying 70 dollars a night. Next day we started looking around for another place. Hotels that didn't seem very luxurious were around 100 dollars a night. When we got to El Hotelito and looked at the fancy lobby, I thought it would be a waste of time to even ask. The guy at the reception (probably the owner) was very friendly and gave us a tour to the entire hotel (which is tiny), and told us the rate: 80 dollars a night, but since we were staying the whole week, he made us 25% discount.
The rooms are spacy and very fancy. They have remote-control high-quality A/C a safe box and cable TV. Also, some of them have a nice porch. The pool is small but with an amazing design and you can swim 24 hours a day. The little bar by the pool is also very nice, although the drinks there are expensive. Absolutely all the personnel we met at the hotel is very friendly.
El hotelito is 1 minute walk away from the beach, 5 minute-walk away from the Wal-Mart and about 7 minute-walk away from two of the best clubs in Acapulco: El Alebrije and Baby'O.
El Hotelito doesn't accept kids, which makes the whole environment more romantic. I will definitely stay there again when I go back to Acapulco.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
32 Thank Marlen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#29 of 167 in Acapulco
28 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Quinta Karla Pie de la Cuesta
1.8 mi away
Jazmin Suites
Jazmin Suites
#76 of 167 in Acapulco
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Las Torres Gemelas Suites & Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sands Acapulco Hotel & Bungalows
0.1 mi away
One Acapulco Costera
One Acapulco Costera
#14 of 167 in Acapulco
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Hotelito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Hotelito

Property: El Hotelito
Address: Calle Canonero Bravo 105 | FraccCosta Azul, Acapulco 39850, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Hotelito 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Hotelito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Hotelito Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing