We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we wanted.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Ranked #11 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Montréal
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

First you have to know that we didn't take All-Inclusive. (We know Acapulco and in this hotel zone there are soooo many nice restaurants.) So I will not talk about this aspect since I haven't experienced it. Our stay was cheap in october: $291US for 4 nights and 2 people. They give you free water bottles every day. The pools are nice. The Italian restaurant in the hotel is delicious. It was almost empty in october and very quiet. The beds and rooms are comfortable. The staff was smiley and there were absolutely no complication with anything.

I'm sure I saved by eating in restaurant. I recommand VIPS, Palacio, and California, all 1 block away and offering Mexican food and other variety. There is also Sanborns 3 blocks away. And Pizza Hut, McDo, Starbucks or Domino's if you want american food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Médérick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne Plaza A, Marketing at Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
We appreciate the time spent to write about your experience at the hotel and destination. Look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    352
    180
    92
    71
See reviews for
281
272
51
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

The hotel has many pools, and 2 restaurants. You May have a breakfast included in the rate for a very cheap prize. Also the wifi is included for guests, you only need to connect with your complete last name and room number. The food is nice: buffet for breakfast and the restaurants are ok and cheap. The room service is very fast and also cheap. The hotel also includes gym for free ( important if you are in a business travel), however weights are not available, and the air conditioner is not enough. The rooms are comfortable, however there is no difference between a junior suite and a master suite (just a little bigger, but not really significant) and the tubs are very old. My room had 2 balconies with partial view to the sea; really nice view by the way. The personnel is very attentive and nice, except for the bell boys (The lobby is in a higher floor, and if you do not seem to provide a tip to them, they do not help you to carry your luggage to the lobby area). The hotel has a really nice beach and clean as well. In general I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Black_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza some 10 years ago for 2 stays. Found it good but not great at that time. After staying at another Hotel on the Costera we decided it was time for a change so we went while on our trip Jan 2012 and looked over CP. We were much impressed with the changes since we we lats stayed their so many years before. I must note that at our previous hotel 5 other North American couples also had concerns, primarily food related, and we referred them to the Crowne Plaza. During our stay in late Feb 2012 we saw 2 of the other couples who were equally impressed with the CP and the other 3 emailed me and have booked for this year 2013.
Grounds, trhe most impressive Grand Entry of any hotel on the Costera with Live music nightly and often their excellent Buffet is guested in the entry. Always a sense of high activity, energy and fun. Rooms updated new comfortable mattresses, flat screen T.V, and updated/ refreshed.
Pools many many some private main pools area large winding with a nice Cabana and always a good seat by the pool. The private pool areas on the 2nd level offer a more relaxed venue for reading and sunning away from the hustle and bustle of the main pool. Food is Great for a buffet but the clincher is their Italian restaurant off the main entry. No need to look elsewhere in Acapulco for a very good Italian meal. They have an excellent young Chef "Alfredo Tenorio" who prepares diverse and tasty food. As a Chef/Restaurant owner myself I'm quite impressed how this young Chef does such a great job and look forward to his progression as his experience evolves. All staff are courtious, friendly, happy and grateful whenever any tip is given however the pride they take in wanting to perform stellar service to their guest is the key to their success. Most have a good command of the English language and if not there is always another nearby to answer any questions you may have. Meet "Freddy" who we knew from our previous, 6 year stay, hotel. A good guy with a great sense of humour. All the floor "Captains" are friendly and keep everything running smoothly.

I was MOST impressed with the Food & Beverage Manager "Obdulio Sierra" who went over and beyond in ensuring every aspect of our vacation experience was excellent and fullfilled. He is a man who is proud of his work, hard working and always around making sure ALL runs smoothly. I look forward to seeing this fine, experienced and friendly "Amigo" once again as we are booked for another 2 week stay at the Crowne Plaza Acapulco in early January 2013.

As for the Mexican people they are happy friendly and industrious and we give them all the support we can, buy local not Costco or Walmart help the locals out! Contrary to the much maligned media reports Acapulco is very very safe for tourist. In the 12 or so years I've been vacationing their Ive never seen any violence nor even a raised voice except in laughter by a Mexican, they respect everyone very much. Be sure to visit the "Zocalo" the towns Main Square full of vendors restaurants and simply great for some people watching and a cool breeze off the Ocean. Cabs are cheap as are the air conditioned buses, its all FUN!
In summary the Crowne Plaza Acapulco is our found again "Must Stay" hotel for our 4 weeks of vacation in the south. Great weather daily, great people, great value!
Be sure to meet Obdulio Sierra he along with the rest of the CP staff will ensure you a Great vacation.

Chef Giorgio

Room Tip: Any concerns see Obdulio Sierra he;s the best although all staff will do their best to ensure your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

great location and hotel and service but if your looking for good food good luck im picky when it comes to good food and the hotel does not have it in either breakfreast lunch or dinner american resturants outside put it to shame been there many times!

Room Tip: check their website!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cruise15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I paid $57 a night and was pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was. My friends stayed at playa suites and paid... $140 for 2 people. They were unimpressed with staff and accommodations. One friend switched hotels bc of how nice our place was. We had wonderful views. Room service was pretty good. Very clean. Air conditioned. Free internet. I would highly recommend it to anyone and will likely stay here again. It was a fantastic deal.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KyleKingsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

If you come from USA and you are used to AC don't expect to have room at 70! No way in hell! They have and old system from back in 70 that is water cool! It doesn't do the job!
Room have an excellent view!
Breakfast buffet great!
Bed sheets don't even rap bed completely !
This people think that just changing a tv for flat screen is to renovate hotel!!!!
Ac not even blow hard enough!
Door has the latch broken!
Not an ice machine on the floor. fridge or microwave not available in room!
Stay here if you come without a vehicle and want to sweat all the time!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VIPER634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

PROS:
Great view of bay and Club Oasis although the room was sold as having a partial view
Room was very clean
Fast bar service with good cocktails
Club Oasis is great - a haven of tranquility
Great location in the middle of La Costera
Super comfy mattress

CONS:
Air conditioning barely cooled room even when it was turned down to its lowest
Towels were old and thin
The pools are too small and too shallow-can't even jump into them
They throw you out of Club Oasis at 7pm even though during the summer months the sun doesn't set till really late!
Quality of food doesn't match up to the cost

I only stayed here because I got a really good deal, and that is the only way I would stay again. Not worth paying full price for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTH_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
7.4 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
0.3 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#16 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#18 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
1.4 mi away
Copacabana Beach Hotel
Copacabana Beach Hotel
#23 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco

Property: Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Address: Av. Costera Miguel Aleman No. 1803 | Fracc. Magallanes, Acapulco 39670, Mexico (Formerly Crowne Plaza Acapulco)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#10 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#13 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco is an impressive Hotel with a unique pyramidal architecture, facing the Ocean in the Heart of Acapulco Golden Zone, at 35 minutes from International Airport and 5 minutes from downtown Welcome to the most famous beach of the world ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Crowne Plaza
Crown Plaza Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing