We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Acapulco La Isla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Acapulco La Isla
Ranked #24 of 180 Hotels in Acapulco
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

After 7 nights at The Mayan Palace on a timeshare, myself & 2 friends needed 2 addn. nights due to flight cancellation. Palace quoted us $600.00 per night! This hotel is 3 km/2 mi./5-7 min. from the airport & across the street and South of the Mayan Palace/Grand Mayan. We checked in with a kind, english speaking clerk getting one king room & one two queen room on the 1st floor. Each were $119.00 US per night. The hotel is a new, modern 4-story with a well-equipted, mid-size fitness room, small pool, kids pool, pool-side bar & lots of chaise lounges, tables and shade. Open 8 am to 9 pm. The pool area isn't like a resort, but neither is the price. It was clean and well-maintained. An on-site restaurant & bar is open 7 am to 11 pm and has patio seating available. Good food, reasonable prices, great service. A breakfast buffet is served from 7 am to noon. My dinner was $12.50 US with a nice tip. Bfast buffet was $15.50 US w/large tip. A beer at the pool was $2.70 US. Would give 5 stars if not for my room, the king with a sliding glass door to a balcony, table & chairs, being right above a house that hosted a Friday night back-yard dance party until 2:30 a.m. Very loud, poor sleep. Friends on other side of the hall/bldg. had no noise (and no balcony). We were told at check-in the place was at 42% occupancy so I planned to move accross the hall for the 2nd night. Didn't have to....I got a flight out on Sat. I would definetly return to this hotel only staying on the other side of the bldg. See room tips below.

Room Tip: Room # 110 very noisey with residential dance party next door. Go with a room on the other side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SmileQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
15
Solo
0
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent new hotel, near to Acapulco airport, efficient shuttle and good food. Away from the hustle and bustle of the City.

Ideal place to relax post/pre-flight, suitable for weddings, banquets and business meetings.

The service and security is excellent. Front desk staff know what they are doing. The entire team at the Hotel was like a big family.

IHG platinum members' entitlements fully honoured.

Internet speed is fair.

The hotel is not cheap, but you pay here for the quality and equally excellent service.

The Hotel has a restaurant onsite. I've had the same dish three times ( local marinated steak) and it was excellent, because the meat was absolutely amazing.

The pool was not particularly busy with plenty of room to relax and swim.

I've tried a room which was some form of a suite (double bed and a sofa bed). The sofa bed turns into a very comfortable double bed. This room would be most suitable for couples with children or two couples.

I post a few photos here, so do enjoy the photos, this hotel and Acapulco!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank German L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Me and my family are staying here during the Manuel storm. The staff excellent, running the hotel with only 25 people. We are safe, with food, water, clean rooms. They make meetings to have all guest calm with the news updated. I don't have enough words to thank this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I am staying in this hotel as I type this. I'm here for one night only, and needed "a good room in a hotel with a pool". Somehow I ended up here. The pool is a miserable, dirty little joke. The internet connection is horrific. You have about a thousand options in Acapulco, do not waste your time here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusaEstrada, Sr Sales Manager at Holiday Inn Acapulco La Isla, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Drew:
Thank you for taking the time to write down your comments while staying with us. We are very sorry to learn that some aspects did not live up to your expectations and regret that you were not satisfied with our internet service and pool facility. We have checked these matters immediately with the appropriate staff members.
We hope to have the opportunity very soon to replace your bad experience with one that reflects our true standards.
Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comitan, MX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

A good hotel near the airport in Acapulco. It is a new hotel and moderately priced. The restaurant is OK as far as hotel restaurants go. A good choice if you are there on business or just passing through. I will be staying there again this year.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missionminded92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Reception
Pre paid my room, arrived reception, no welcome, just asked my name said I hadnt paid show them my booking, they asked for a statement proof I had paid, asked for a supervisor, like magic they found I had paid ( has hotels forgotten reception staff are face of the hotel)
Room
No Complaints was large decor was well done, bathroom, had excellent shower

Breakfast
poor selection same every day, Peso 145, stayed at other hotel in Acapulco Breakfast 160-210 and large selection to suit everone, service was very good

Pool
Stayed over the christmas period. pool was small but had no touble getting loungers looked like people stayed at the hotel but headed for the beach, bar meals good again service was very good

Bad side
At the beginning of our stay for three days they cleaned our room after 4.30pm and one day 7.30pm and they forgot towels and shampoo, had keep phonig and visit reception to get cleaned on time
Not on the beach long trip in out to Acapulco

Good side hotels new room large well decorated, reasonable price compared with hotels in that area

Room Tip: If want more space get room 119
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davjacMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

After enjoying Acapulco and wanting to get away from the traffic and the heat and positioning ourselves near the Airport, we stayed here at the Holiday Inn. It was hardly open a month or so when we stayed there. It had that new hotel smell ! Not wanting a Classic Mexican hotel experience, at this point, we loved our "spoiled Gringo" Stay here. Nice little pool, great workout room, squeaky clean room with Bathroom and TV options to die for. But, the attached restaurant was the Coup de GRAS for us ! Super delicious menu options to begin with but they have fabulous "homemade ice creams", that tempted my strong willed Weight Watching wife to the extreme ! But the big plus for us was the Acapulco Airport by hotel shuttle is only five minutes away ! Nice staff, great service, English speaking, a great jumping off spot to go home or to visit more of Mexico, totally refreshed ! SkippyFrizz :-)

Room Tip: As a restful, clean yourself up, very cozy hotel, this is the one hits the Spot ! Not on the beach a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skippyfrizz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#13 of 180 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
7.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#11 of 180 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
5.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#15 of 180 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
One Acapulco Costera
One Acapulco Costera
#12 of 180 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#9 of 180 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
0.6 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 180 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Acapulco La Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Acapulco La Isla

Property: Holiday Inn Acapulco La Isla
Address: Boulevard de Las Naciones No. 2000, Acapulco 39370, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 180 Hotels in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Acapulco La Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Acapulco La Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing