We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place if it's the right one for you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Etel Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Acapulco
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Etel Suites
Save
You added Etel Suites to your Saves list
Ranked #28 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Great Place if it's the right one for you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The best thing about this place is that Etel, the owner, is the great granddaughter of John Sutter, an important figure in California history. Never expected to get to meet someone like that!

We went as two couples, and for about $100 a night got two bedrooms, a very decent-sized dining room/living room, and a big balcony with a table and chairs and OUTSTANDING views. Our beds and bathrooms were okay, and the air conditioning worked very well. Problem is that only bedrooms have A/C and as people who were traveling there from a cool climate, we couldn't really enjoy the living room or balcony because of the heat, and it made cooking unpleasant, even though we were able to borrow a fan. The pots and pans need to be replaced and the stove required special help to get going. If you are planning to cook, take one nonstick skillet with you.

The staff did clean our dishes each day, which was great. Internet did not work too well in the rooms [as in many hotels in both the U.S. and Mexico], but there was a computer in the lobby that we were allowed to use. The swimming pool was very nice and we were able to walk from the Quebrada cliff diver experience back to the hotel. We could have stayed at a timeshare on the beach downtown for less money, but other than the lack of A/C in the living area, Etel Suites was probably nicer -- uncrowded, attentive, pleasant. It could make an excellent rental for longer-term vacationers. Furniture was outdated, but not uncomfortable; dining table was huge and lovely. Our two-bedroom unit had three baths; the living room could easily be adaptable as a sleeping area, and three to four people could easily share the one bedroom suite with adequate privacy. No shampoo/toiletries. But overall, with the cleanliness, courtesy, great views and nice pool, it has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ispeak4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for having taking the time to send your comments to Trip Advisor regarding your
stay in Etel Suites.

We really appreciate all your comments which will help us to improve our services.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards from beautiful Acapulco,


Etel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
24
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 8 nights in November 2013. Although this hotel is not for everyone, some travelers needing inexpensive accommodations will find it quite comfortable and adequate. For $55 U.S. per night, I got a big room with a large veranda and a nice view of the hillside and ocean. The room and furnishings are rather dated, but adequate. The hotel is perched on top of a hill at the very north part of Acapulco Bay. It is a short and easy walk (10 minutes) down the hill to the city plaza (zocalo), where there is a good selection of restaurants. The hotel is located quite a distance from the more touristy part of town, but it is just minutes from the cliffs of La Quebrada, where the cliff divers ply their trade for both daytime and evening performances. Taxis are available everywhere and there is a bus that regularly goes to the more touristy areas along the coastal road (La Costera). The owner (Senora Telvi) is a pleasant and friendly Mexican lady who speaks wonderful English and is married to an American. The husband (Don) is a friendly man who has been visiting Acapulco for more than 40 years and has somehow managed not to learn the language. The staff are friendly and helpful, though not all speak English well. Although it is not essential for you to speak Spanish, it would be more helpful and a little less stressful if you do. The hotel does not have a restaurant or café, though there are some at the bottom of the hill and in the zocalo. For someone who prefers to avoid the more touristy parts of town and is interested in seeing how regular Mexicans live in the city center, this hotel may be perfect for you. My room had air conditioning and it worked fine. The owner and her husband are very helpful and always eager to give you tips on the best way to travel to and experience some of Acapulco's finest attractions. The hotel is quite old and there has not been much effort expended lately to update the rooms or the lobby. The fixtures are old and dated and the electric plug that was connected to the air conditioner by a long (and very hot) extension cord exploded when I was out of my room. Luckily, it just tripped the circuit breaker and there was no real damage other than the soot that discolored the bed sheet. I used my own extension cord and was able to use the AC that night by running the cord to an outlet in the bathroom. The next day, the outlet was repaired by the handyman and all was well. These sorts of things happen in Mexico and I only mention it to illustrate the point that the hotel rooms could use some updating. That said, if you are an independent type who doesn't need much hand-holding or the luxuries of high-end travel, then this place may be just right for you. It is a real bargain and located close to food, drink, ATMs, and the town square.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlantaPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your visit to Etel Suites.

We have taken note of all your comments which will help us to improve our
services.

We look forward to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the not too distant future.

Best regards from beautiful Acapulco,

Etel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girdwood
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay if you want to commute over to new Acapulco and back to avoid crowds and other tourists. Kitchen in room, 3 gallon water bottles so your not always buying small ones. Great smiles and friendly service. Convenient stores at bottom of the hill. The hill takes about 3 - 5 minutes to hike, not the Everest I saw described below. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deathhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
Dear Guest:

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting
you and your family in the near future.

Best regards from beautiful Acapulco,

Etel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers City, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been staying at the Etel since 1998. My husband and I were married there in 2011. Senora Telvi was our wedding planner! She goes out of her way to ensure everyone is comfortable and well cared for.
The staff at the hotel are also most helpful. The view from the balcony is fabulous! The Pacific ocean to the left and Acapulco bay to the right....you can't beat it!
Looking forward to returning in 2014
Jeannine & Mike

Room Tip: We prefer floors 4, 5 or 6 because they have the best view from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this review, May 26, 2015
Dear Friends:

Greetings from beautiful Acapulco and from Etel Suites.

Thank you for posting your comments in Trip Advisor regarding your last visit to Etel Suites.
We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Etel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Etel Suites in Acapulco after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. The suites are not new but are immaculately kept and are spotlessly clean. The apartments are light and airy with balconies with wonderful views of the Acapulco hills and the bay. The location is convenient to everything but out of the way of the noise and bustle of the Costera and close to the famous divers.

The owner and her husband were friendly and welcoming, both speak perfect English and did everything to make our stay comfortable, including intoducing us to the local coffee!! They provided additional kitchen equipment so that we could prepare full meals in the kitchen and provided information on how to get around.

All in all, we think this is the very best place to stay in Acapulco (as evidenced by the number of guests who come back year after year). It really is like staying in the home of a lovely relative.

HIghly recommended

Room Tip: All the rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizcasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2015
Dear guests:

Greetings from beautiful Acapulco!

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay in Etel Suites.

We really appreciate your nice comments and look forward to hosting you
again in the near future.

Best regards,

Etel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwater, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed there for a night in Acapulco. The rate was $72 US for the night. They have a quaint clean pool that overlooks the city, and a wonderful rooftop with comfy chairs where we had beers and watched the city lights safely from afar. The rooms are very clean, albeit outdated. We had no tv but didn't need one. The sheets were freshly bleached and very clean - mucho gracias!
They have a night watchman who will make sure no one breaks in to your car at night. The hotel is located a few blocks from La Quebrada (the cliff divers), and only a short walk to Old Town. The owner is a very sweet lady who speaks English fluently. I would highly recommend this place to anyone on a budget who isn't interested in the bright lights of the big city. I would, however, recommend requesting a room that is not facing the street as it is very noisy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool or adjoining hotels are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2015
Dear Guest:

Greetings from beautiful Acapulco:

Thank you very much for your comments posted on Trip Advisor regarding your
stay in Etel Suites.

We really appreciate your preference and hope to have the pleasure of
hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Etel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Etel Suites are located on La Pinzona in Old Acapulco. It is a wonderful, spacious, friendly hotel located on a hill so you have a great view of Acapulco Bay and the hills to the north and the Pacific to the West.

Tourists now favor the expensive high rises; so you can get a suite at a bargain price even in high season. We paid $55 per night for a suite with a separate bedroom, a large dining/living room, a large balcony with fabulous views and breeze, and two full bathrooms. If you have more people, they will provide an extra room for a few more dollars a night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etel2015, Propietario at Etel Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2015
Dear Guest:

Greetings from Etel Suites and from beautiful Acapulco!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor
regarding your stay in Etel Suites.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and look forward
to hosting you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Etel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Minibrisas
Hotel Minibrisas
#34 of 179 in Acapulco
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
7.3 mi away
Villamar Princesa Suites
Villamar Princesa Suites
#87 of 179 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Quinta Karla Pie de la Cuesta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Jazmin Suites
Jazmin Suites
#62 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#24 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
3.6 mi away
Acapulco Malibu
Acapulco Malibu
#17 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Etel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Etel Suites

Property: Etel Suites
Address: Calle Pinzona 92 | Col Las Playas, Acapulco 39390, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a five minute walk from down town Acapulco. Comfortable suites with kitchens and up to four connected bedrooms with individual bathrooms. Watch the sunrise over the bay and the sunset over the Pacific from your private terrace. English and Spanish speaking staff. A computer and free wireless internet is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Etel Hotel Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing