We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Many Pillows No Balcony.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Acamar Acapulco
Ranked #104 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Chilliwack b.c.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So Many Pillows No Balcony.”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We go to Acapulco every year and stay in the Playa Caleta area.
Wanted to try something a bit different this year so booked at the Acamar.
We had asked for the best room with an ocean view and were told we had it.
The room was spacious but we had no Balcony on that floor which I believe was the sixth floor facing the water.The bed was a King size but we had 3 little flat pillows on it. After the first sleep we asked for more pillows which came on the 3rd day. Then we had five which was nice as I got four of the little flat things and my girlfriend got one and my arm.
About a week later at about eleven at nioght there was a knock on the door which I answered.
Here was a worker with two more pillows stating they were for our room. I quickly accepted them, thanked him and with the door closing turned to my girlfriend smiling. Now we had seven.
This made up for the no Balcony as we had learned to live with the large windows sliding open as if we were outside.
I would stay there again but I think only if the Caleta Hotel went downhill.

Room Tip: Take the fifth floor ocean view if you want a Balcony. Ask for extra pillows before arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    18
    17
    15
See reviews for
33
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fortaleza, CE
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

I'm never going back to this hotel! Awful service, breakfast and place! its located in front at the sea, ok... but at the poorest side of Acapulco and at the "mountain side" (no mountain at all, only a street shopping with a man yelling/ shouting "Naranja de oro, Naranja de oro!!!!
It's sheap and awful, believe me and Acapulco will be ready in 5/10 uyeras from now. Go to Ixtapa, Playa Del carmen, Cancun...

Room Tip: maybe if you say in front the sea...but it doesnt change service and breakfast at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elianabragam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Painesville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

One of the best experiences I've ever had at a hotel! Will definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Level Contributor
120 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

I went there with two friends and at first we got a tiny room where there was no place to even leave our suitcases. When we complained at reception we were moved to a huge room, about three times the size, with a very big bathroom and a massive shared terrace.

The pool was nice enough and we had a good time.

Room Tip: Ask for a better room, they do have nice ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjaliosetsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2009

First of all, if you are looking for the "American" Acapulco experience, this is not the hotel for you. I vacationed with my Mexican boyfriend, so although I do speak Spanish, he did most of the communicating. This hotel is in the Acapulco Tradicional area, where the locals like to vacation. Yes, everyone speaks Spanish, and yes, you will be approached constantly by vendedores. But, that is what Mexico is about! You will find the rooms clean and cheerful. We stayed on the "mountain" side, which is really the "street" side, for economical purposes, but if you have the money to spend, I would suggest staying on the beach side. The pool is clean, unless there are a lot of people in it. The beach is small and charming, and the hotel is open, so there is a nice breeze in the lobby. There are air conditioners in the rooms, which was a necessity in May. The restaurants in this area are all authentic. If you are in need of something at a larger store, you will have to travel, but the buses come by every few minutes, and you will always find a taxi. In short, I would definitely recommend this hotel, but you should love the Mexican culture, and you should speak Spanish or be travelling with someone who does.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

We stayed in the Acamar after traveling through Mexico. Being very tired of traveling and all the different hotels we were super happy to stay in this hotel. Although there were some constructions renewing the recepcion area and some sort of bar at the pool we had a great time and could enjoy our stay. I must say that the staff is very friendly and give the place a nice personality! I really recommend the place to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmfornaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico df
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2009

After arriving and not knowing where the hotel was we were in awe when se saw the beautiful beach from the front desk. The people were very young and very friendly and they can get you about anything you want. It is a small hotel and it is so worth it. We got to meet the owner who is always there and he gave us some great pointers. The beach was very crowded on the weekend but during the week we were the only ones there and the water was beautiful. I came here to get away from the stress of the city and I am going back for semana santa so enjoy some more piña coladas at the bar. Oh they also have great live music on the weekend during the evenings. Nothing bad to say about the place.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nizaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.5 mi away
Suites Sherezada
Suites Sherezada
#131 of 178 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
2.7 mi away
Acapulco Park Hotel
Acapulco Park Hotel
#45 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
2.5 mi away
Auto Hotel Ritz Acapulco
Auto Hotel Ritz Acapulco
#102 of 178 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aristos Acapulco
Hotel Aristos Acapulco
#48 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
3.3 mi away
Calinda Beach Acapulco
Calinda Beach Acapulco
#12 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
2.3 mi away
Krystal Beach Acapulco
Krystal Beach Acapulco
#49 of 178 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Acamar Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acamar Acapulco

Property: Hotel Acamar Acapulco
Address: Costera Miguel Aleman No. 26, Acapulco 39390, Mexico (Formerly Acamar Beach Resort)
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acamar Acapulco 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel on Caleta Beach - it has the closest rooms to the ocean in all of Acapulco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Acamar Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Acamar Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing