We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always love it...”
Review of Isla La Roqueta

Isla La Roqueta
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.00*
and up
Snorkeling Tour by the Roqueta Island in Acapulco
More Info
$39.00*
and up
Hiking Tour on Roqueta Island in Acapulco
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Kayaking Tour with Lunch in Acapulco
Ranked #8 of 94 things to do in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a glass-bottom boat and explore this small island, which has nice beaches, restaurants and a zoo.
Windsor, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Always love it...”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

When we were there the water was so clear we could hunt many fish of various colour. I used a little blow up float and went everywhere close to shore and explored and saw so much!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AcaChaparrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    148
    77
    28
    13
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sodus Point, New York
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect day trip - outstanding hike + beaches - My favorite!”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I discovered Isla la Roqueta by buying a ticket on a PALAO excursion. A great intro for Isla la Roqueta and worth the price - 150 pesos + 35 pesos the hotel that sold me the tickets charged on top. I will write a separate review for Palao.

After I discovered la Roqueta, I went back 9 times. Instead of getting there via Palao boat, I started going directly to Caleta beach, buying Roqueta Directo for 40 pesos and going straight to the island, skipping the cliff-diving and other attraction spots offered by other boats.

Most local tourists go there to hang out on the beach which is wonderful. There are also two smaller beaches that are rather secluded and on business days could be totally empty and feel like your "private" beaches.

I loved the hiking trails on la Roqueta. Took me about 3 hours including stops at scenic overlooks to complete a trail variation around the island. If I hang out on one of those private beaches, it would be longer.

I never felt threatened by anything - snakes or shady people while on my hikes. I am a 50 year-old woman and most of the times I was on the trails alone. Just gorgeous and perfect for me because it is a well established network of trails, signs are mostly missing but it didn't matter, I just picked the ones that were hugging the shore. Then on other hikes I'd go to the Lighthouse and change my trails...

So, if you like to hike, stay on the trails - you'll be in the shade and you might find the beaches on your fist hike - or at least one, and at least one overlook with a breath-taking views...

I can't wait to go back. I did lose 10 lbs in 2 weeks and la Roqueta hikes definitely helped me to shape up!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Isla la Roqueta, is a very relaxing place to spend the day. Watch the seashell salesmen float by on their small rafts, and take in snorkeling. Or just people watch and a little swimming while relaxing in a lounge chair on the beach. All boats are glass bottom, so when buying your ticket to cross to the island, purchase the NON-glass bottom boat ticket, it's cheaper!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank joybee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton Lake
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfect ending after Cliff Divers”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We've been going to Acapulco for 28 years in a row, thios Feb 2 will be 29. Every year I rent a cruiser and take friends from Acapulco, most have never been out on the ocean, and go to the cliff divers. After we stop at Isla La Roqueta and have dinner. GREAT food,service and view....a MUST go!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank acafool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“What an island!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

My family from Canada just love this island.Assured fun guaranteed.A must for anyone visiting Acapulco.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rico63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isla La Roqueta also viewed

 

Been to Isla La Roqueta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing