We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acapulco Van Tour”
Review of Tour by Van

Tour by Van
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.50*
and up
Acapulco Shore Excursion: All-Inclusive City Sightseeing Tour and Baby Turtle...
More Info
$63.00*
and up
Coyuca Lagoon, Turtle Release, and Witch Doctor Market Tour from Acapulco
More Info
$44.99*
and up
Historical Tour of Acapulco with Visit to the Municipal Market
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: I never push shopping stops in my tours. A customized and comprehensive tour in your personal Van gives you complete freedom to explore at your own pace with an itinerary that suites your personal interest. You will not waste time in shops or wandering around with people with different interests and preferences, choose your own stride and schedule. Your tour with us will be a referral of your Mexican Riviera Cruise or Holiday in Acapulco. It's your vacation… Get the most out of it!!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Port Hope, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Acapulco Van Tour”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Our wonderful guide took us to many parts of Acapulco. We visited the Chapel of Peace and the surrounding area as well as the Old Town. We stopped for snacks in a shop, of course, but there was no pressure to buy. Then we saw the cliff divers, an amazing sight. It takes your breath away. Our guide was knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. It was well worth the minimal cost to get to know the city.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    21
    2
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen Region, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great city tour”
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Rudy and Jose are excellent hosts and guides. Extremely knowledgeable about the city, it's history and culture. Really flexible, on time and great at answering emails. Their English is perfect and they have no problem answering all your questions. The tour takes a whole afternoon and you get to see Acapulco somewhat from a locals perspective. Way more fun than staying in the hotel zone all day which is what tends to happen if you don't know any better. Jose took pictures of us all day and Rudy compiled a YouTube video with all the snaps and sent then to us a few days later. Strongly recommend this tour. S and L. Denmark

Helpful?
5 Thank Shane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING TOUR!!!...”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

M boyfriend David (Australian) and I (Colombian) went to Acapulco for around 7 days two weeks ago and we absolutely loved it
Rudy was the one who made us fall in love with this beautiful bay even more... he took us to many different and interesting places ( The chapel of peace,, the downtown markets, las brisas neighbourhood, the Diego rivera Mural, and we stopped in around 5 different lookouts with great views)

Rudy and Jose were very kind, fun and friendly, and they English level is very good! the staff definitely transmits the love they feel for Acapulco and make sure you get to feel it!

great tour, great people, great city, great food!.... IN LOVE OF ACAPULCO.... do visit Acapulco if you get a chance!!

Thanks Rudy and Jose

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level 4 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rudy Rocks”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

My family (husband and two parents - all adults) took the tour with Rudy when our cruise boat (Regatta) stopped in Acapulco. The reviews are exactly as stated. Rudy is great. We had many wonderful tours on the various cruise stops, but everyone in my party agreed that Rudy was the most amazing host - along with Arturo who also accompanied us. We loved the market and spend a good bit of time there at Rudy's suggestion. He clearly loves his town and he provides candid information on both the good and not so good. We really enjoyed seeing the sights and left with a very different impression than what the international news provides. That is not to say that Acapulco does not have its problems and a one day stop could never provide an accurate picture of such a complex situation. If you want some perspective, I can stongly suggest spending the day with Rudy. The town has many beautiful sights (such as the peace chapel) and he is keen to show them to visitors, but also to provide a more personal experience than you could get on a group tour. In the market we tried fruits, fresh juices and cocoa water (yes we drank it, no we did not get sick). Rudy engaged with various sellers to show us various things on offer (not for us to buy - that local families would get like flowers for weddings and funerals, food stuffs and withchcraft items too)! I learned that if you need to cleanse your house of evil spirits go with the "black chicken" soap! My whole group has really fond memories of our time with Rudy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Lrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CO
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved Acapulco and had a great day with Tour by Van!”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We were in Acapulco for the day off of the Oceania Regatta in late December. Myself, my parents and my 17 year old daughter had a wonderful day with Rudy and his coworkers. Carlos (Charlie) was our driver and Rogelio (Roger) was our guide. We met up with Rudy along the way in several spots and he was very responsive and prompt in all of our email communications with him before our trip, and available and checking in with us throughout the day. Charlie and Roger spoke excellent English, were fun, friendly and full of all sorts of interesting information about Acapulco, it's history, politics and the sites we visited. They answered all of my questions (and I had a lot!) and they could not have been kinder or more patient with my mom who is 81 and does not get along as easily as she used to. We walked through the markets, saw downtown and the beaches, the Chapel of Peace and Las Brisas neighborhood,stopped above the city for some great views, saw the cliff divers, the Diego Rivera mural and had a meal at LaCabana on Las Caletas beach. All the sites were excellent and we only regretted that we could not spend more time in this beautiful city. We always felt safe and comfortable. I highly recommend Rudy and his staff if you are in Acapulco, and please do visit Acapulco if you get a chance!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank juliasmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tour by Van also viewed

 

Been to Tour by Van? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing