We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, for weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parador Del Sol Acapulco
Ranked #140 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Carolina, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
152 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“OK, for weekend getaway”
Reviewed November 20, 2007

Parador del Sol

Resort is located away from city, in "Pie de la Cuesta" area. To locate it in a map software, try this coordinates: 16-54-57.29N, 100-00-20.73W. It is in a small land strip separating the “Laguna de Coyuca” from the Pacific Ocean. It is also collocated with Mexican Air Force Base #7. (very, very low air traffic ). The base used to be the old Acapulco airport.

I stayed there from Oct 30 till Nov 3, 2007, reserved through Hotels.com. If you are looking for a nice getaway on a budget, it is OK. If you are looking for a “star” beach resort, look elsewhere.

The hotel was just getting ready for the high season (nov-march), the staff was very busy preparing the place for the season.

When we came in, there were less than ten families, when we left, in a long-holiday-weekend, the resort was full.

This property has a lot of potential, with someone with $$$ to invest, it could be a 5-star resort.

Pros
• Very quiet area, away from city noise
• More suitable for families and couples. Used as a long-weekend getaway for families from Mexico City
• Music on beach pool area only on weekends, otherwise very quiet
• Kids camp in resort.
• Security guards in both pool and beach areas
• No many beach vendors, only on weekends
• Very clean rooms, outstanding housekeeping service
• Our room (236) had everything in working order
• Each villa houses only two rooms, each with its own covered patio, lounge beds, and hammock
• Room had hot water, A/C cooling great
• Reception staff very responsive
• Beachfront and lagoonfront are right in resort
• May bring pets? (saw one family with a dog)
• Good food selection, (not gourmet, but well chosen and well prepared). Custom items available on request to Food Services director.
• Hotel taxis very reliable, fair fares. Insured and regulated.

Cons
• Hotel has no airport shuttle sevice, taxi trip is approximately 1+ hour from airport
• Far from city (10 miles), (45 min to 1 hour, depending on traffic through single lane road passing through some "eye sores")
• Recently painted, but overall, the facilities need thorough maintenance
• Some rooms (not ours) had plumbing or electricity complaints
• Rooms have no iron, radio/alarm clock
• Satellite TV reception is limited
• Great tropical landscaping, but needs maintenance
• No ATM in property
• Cashier never has enough money for exchange, never change in USD
• Beach is unsuitable for swimming due to tall waves and strong undertow. Red flags and warning sign posted on beach. Good for sunbathing, but only five cabanas on the beach. More covered areas between beach and swimming pool
• Watersports only on lagoon. Jet ski and lagoon boat ride available for a fee. Free kayaks available after 6 pm.
• Resort divided by main road (ok to cross) has pedestrian bridge, Guests have to cross the road at least once daily.
• Lagoon area restaurant not very clean, beach area restaurant is most used, clean
• Tap water not drinkable (salty), drinking water served at bar
• Bar stock very limited. Very limited selection of both soft and hard drinks, never saw beer being served.
• Food cannot be taken outside restaurant
• No poolside bar atendants, u pick your drinks

  • Liked — Beach location away from city noise. Villa room concept. Privacy. Great for slow paced vacation
  • Disliked — Facilities need remodeling and repairs.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enatal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    3
    5
    4
    37
See reviews for
27
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2007

we were supposed to have stayed from 10/27/07-11/03/07, but didn't and left to ixtapa on 10/31/07. Let me tell you about this "Resort". i got this hotel from skyauction.com. i read the reviews from trip advisor and a lot of people gave bad reviews due to the fact that it was away from the city of acapulco. i'm like, "Great!. i want to be away from the city and away from the beach vendors." so i got the hotel for $592 all inclusive for 2 people. Let me tell you. it is away from the city. which is a plus in my books. you have the beach to yourselves, which is another plus., but the ocean is very rough. if you're a surfer or body border, this is a cool spot.. that is where all the pluses end. this resort is runned down. i don't know who runs the place but they are ruining this hotel. if they took the time to actually fix some things here and there. this runned down hotel can be a nice hidden gem. the bungallows or cabins are in bad shape. the curtains in my room had holes, the rooms was musty. the bed was hard on one side and very soft on the other. the linens had holes. the towels were almost see through towels. the shower knobs had rust and the ceiling from the shower was rusted and falling down. the paint from inside the room and the outside was stripping away from the walls. The shower had no hot water, but the water was not cold either. As far as the staff. They were nice, but at the same time lazy. there was only 8 families at this resort when we stayed. the resort was overstaffed, but yet seemed not care enough to cater to the families that were there. you would think that there would be a person asking the people in the pool area if they wanted something to drink or anything. but they didnt. the "Bar" area had very little to offer. as far as non alcoholic drinks. the only thing they had to offer was coke and squirt, and it was flat. as far as the all inclusive part. the breakfast was not embarrasing. here was the menu for the 5 out of the 7 days i was there.: wieners, pieces of fried potato, tortilla chips, fruit with bugs (yum), yogurt on a platter un refrigerated ( good if you want food poisoning), and tang (not orange juice). the only good thing about breakfast was the omellete. did i mention this was the same menu or buffet every morning. for lunch, now: once again "Wieners", fruit with bugs, salad with the same bugs, old fries ( which i liked), tortilla chips, and a mysterious looking beef stew type of soup. the only fresh thing they offered was the freshly cooked hamburgers, hot dogs, or quesadillas. for dinner, i really can't tell you since my girlfriend and i would go out to the acapulco area and eat some realy food. dont get me wrong. the staff at the restaurant were the nicest of people and i do not blame them for lack of choices as far as the so called "all inclusive" is concerned. i put the blame on the ownership of this resort. this place could be a great place, and it is in a great location. the beach is really beautiful. but it just seems that the owner or owners of this location just simply do not care. do no waste your money and go elsewhere. i just hope the owner or owners of the "parador del sol" take the time and read this and other reviews on this website and i hope they get there act straight or i honestly believe this hotel will close down. i will post some pictures of the hotel later on so you can see the plus and minus of this resort.

  • Liked — the beach and the location.. no vendors and away from the city.
  • Disliked — the so called "all inclusive". no food selection, no drinks, soft drinks, hotel is very runned down and in dire need of repair. it's just sad that the owner or owners' of this location simply doesn't care.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank ruano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

LOS ANGELES
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2007

DON'T WALK AWAY - RUN!!!
Oh my gosh, it was so bad that I do not know where to start - oh yeah - how about arriving after 12 hours of travel and being told that they did not have you reservations (in spanish, of course - no english spoken at this place!) Had to pay double just to have somewhere to spend the night as the taxi left us and we were about one hour from ANYWHERE... oh yeah, how about....
Awful food - cold showers- run down pool tables (ball would fall on the floor when you made them into the pockets), air hockey game with no puck or paddles, sticky tennis raquets and no lit courts (its 90 degrees during the day- a little hot for tennis), closed disco, no red wine served at bars, one ice cube per drink, no room service, no in room water, frig, microwave, working phone, safe, washcloths or internet (anywhere on property), no shuttle to town (costs apx $50.00 each way), poor entertainment, no music anywhere, one english station on TV -through the static, no clock, radio., hard beds, hard pillows, poor kids club, broken hammocks, no bikes, overgrown golf putting area (weeds), gift shop has no gifts and very minimal supplies, no laundry service, no drink service except around pool areas, no organized activities, no tourist info. All this for $5300.00!! I felt like I was on the show "Survivor".

  • Liked — Coming home
  • Disliked — Being there
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't go here
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FAVILA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2006

If you don't mind an hour - hour and a half ride from the airport, this is the place to stay. If you don't mind total rest and relaxation, this is the place to stay. If you don't mind being about 30 minutes from downtown and having to take a taxi in and back every night, this is the place to stay. Very quiet, clean, nice pool area, food selection was ok. Jose, Moises and Abel were ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! Drinks delivered to us at poolside by Jose before previous ones already empty (for a small tip of course! Be kind). Moises was our waiter, right on top of things the whole trip. Abel helped coordinate transportation to and from town for us which was a chore in itself. Lagoon area desolate and a little smelly. Rooms cute and the hammock is relaxing. All in all a nice experience except for the distance.

  • Liked — The 3 staff members, individual bungalows, the pool area.
  • Disliked — The distance from the airport and downtown.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dhfromny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 17, 2006

I can't believe we didn't know what we were getting into when we stayed at Parador del Sol. The food was awful and the rooms were terrible. We had lizards in our room and the website said that they had an eight-hole golf course. Well, they had a tiny grassy area that had literally 8 holes on it. The staff was nice, but that was all they had going for them. We just drank ourselves silly to get through it and basically ate potatoes because the food was disgusting. My parents went with and their air conditioner stopped working and no one would fix it (it was 95 degrees outside) and so my husband and my brother were the ones who figured it out. They told us that the water in the rooms weren't filtered, but everywhere else it was. Well, they lied because we ALL got sick. I would not recommend this place, unless you want to just drink your face off to get through it...

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 10, 2006

Aside from three minor earthquakes and a tropical storm, the resort appeared to be bankrupt. Solar heaters for the water didn't work. Slightly warm water only twice in two weeks. The food was only just edible. Sickness was common. Can you imagine having to turn on the cold water tap in your sink to refill the toilet tank? It's no lie!! Stay away from this joint. You can do much better for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 30, 2005

We stayed at the hotel in January 2005 and stored our money and valuables in the hotelsafe at the reception. When we checked out all 3 of us were missing money. Someone stole around 300 Euro out of the hotelsafe, even though we did not give the key to anyone nor did we leave the key unattendant.
We cannot recommend the hotel, since some of the staffmembers are thiefs.
Claudia Laux, Germany

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Acapulco
1.4 mi away
Hotel Barraco
Hotel Barraco
#3 of 6 in Pie de la Cuesta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cocos Camp
Cocos Camp
#32 of 178 in Acapulco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
6.4 mi away
Copacabana Beach Hotel
Copacabana Beach Hotel
#20 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
3.5 mi away
Oviedo
Oviedo
#66 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel baXar
Hotel baXar
#2 of 6 in Pie de la Cuesta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador Del Sol Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador Del Sol Acapulco

Property: Parador Del Sol Acapulco
Address: Carretera Pie De La Cuesta A Barra De Coyuca Km 5 | Guerrero, Acapulco 39900, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Acapulco
Hotel Class:3 star — Parador Del Sol Acapulco 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Parador Del Sol Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador Del Sol Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Parador Del Sol Hotel Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing