We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great facilities BUT poor staff and services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Ranked #21 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Amsterdam
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great facilities BUT poor staff and services”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This tower used to be part of the old El Presidente. They fully renovated it a few yeas ago and I must say they did an impressive job. Except for the fact that there is no central air conditioning (each room has its own system, which can be noisy), it is almost impossible to tell this building is 50 years old.

==

Cons

- Staff is mostly terrible. Check-in took 30 minutes and check-out 20 even when there were no outstanding bills and I called the reception 30 minutes before going downstairs. Moreover, upon check-in I wanted to use the priority lane for Frequent members and so I approached an available fat big curly guy who told me "sorry, priority lane not available today" and took out the sign on my face.

- Toilet smells terrible.

- They allowed me to enter my room only at 5 pm instead of 3 pm. Reason was that other guests did not check out on time. They made their problem my problem.

- They gave me the keys to THREE rooms that were BUSY or undone. Excuse was poor communication with the maids who miss informed the staff at the front desk of what was actually available and what was not.

- Buffet breakfast is terrible - if you want a fresh natural juice, you need to pay extra. All the buffet includes is can / box juice...

Pros

- Renovation in the pool areas is outstanding. They did a good job with the two new pools one of which is a gorgeous infinitum one.

- Location is great, right on the center of the main bay. If you are looking for a more modern version of Acapulco, you don't need to ve in the main bay but in the Diamante area. The main bay is old but they have done a great job in keeping it up to date.

- Rooms are larger than in most other hotels in the area. Also, they are fully renovated in a nice way with LCDs and good beds. All rooms have at leas side Sea views are good but front ones are great - frontal ones come at an extra cost.

==

Overall, there is clear lack of leadership in this hotel. As I said, physically the hotel is in pretty good shape, it is just the service what makes it horrible.

Room Tip: - Ask for a room as closer to the front as possible, preferably to the left side overlooks the newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puchurrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    125
    71
    32
    33
See reviews for
108
88
17
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Holiday Inn took over Fiesta Inn a couple of years ago and things have changed. The rooms now have a very good safety box and the Internet is working very well.
Many of the old staff have been retained, it is unfortunate that their new training does not require them as to be as courteous as they have been in the past and they are less prone to take initiative and responsibility when poor behaviour by guests demands it. Although basic facilities have clearly improved service has not which is unfortunate as the hotel has good potential for growing its customer base. Areas that need immediate attention for people to consider going back there would be avoidance of very loud rock music in the pool area as early as 9:30 am, lack of control of guest behaviour in the pool areas with people taking food and drinks into the pool and going in with inappropriate clothing. In this respect although the hotel has rules to avoid this behaviour the provision of one guard is woefully inadequate. If you want to complain forget it! Neither talking to local management nor Holiday Inn head office had a positive reaction. Pity as it is a very privileged location, we stayed here when it was Fiesta Inn for more than three occasions. We like it because it is small, friendly and used to be family oriented and quiet. We think Holiday Inn need to review their staff and the values they want to bring to this place.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Matebel,

Thank you for your valuable insights. Your willingness to spare some of your time to relay your comments is genuinely appreciated. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for your dissatisfaction on some of our products and services. I would like to assure you that we take each comment seriously as it has always been our goal to deliver only the best quality services and facilities. Rest assured your concerns will be looked into.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I Just left the Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco. The experience was pretty good. Sharon @ the front desk and Alejandro from the restaurant where really helpful. This was not my first time in Acapulco so I had enough time to actually see and feel the hotel. Rooms are very clean, we stayed at a deluxe room with full ocean view. It was nice, the bed was more than awesome! The bathroom features a bath tub which works great for a regular size person. Some conts of the HIR are: the hallways have a strange smell (not digusting but strange) the bathroom feels a bit old, and finally the hotel has a towel re-use program which encourages the guest to keep on using the same towels during the whole stay. If you want to have new and clean towela wvery day you have to leave the used ones in the floor and the maid will take care. If you drive into the hotel please make sure to call the valet parking service at least 20 mins before leaving because they take forever to bring your car. I will come back to this Hotel, thats cor sure!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adamsfco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have stayed at the Fiesta several times with a small group of adults and students.
The hotel was clean and the service was good. We ate at nearby resauturants Sanbourns or Vips. The beach area is beautiful but a not easily accessable. The ocean near the hotel is not safe for families in my opinion. It is a little rough for small children and teenagers who are adventuresome. Dangerous I believe. I thought the rooms and beds were great with great views in the right location . Some rooms just face into other hotels. The pool area in small but the sister hotel Fiesta americana is close by a hundred yards down the street with a gigantic pool area and much much nicer and safer beach area. Between the use of the rooms in the Fiesta Inn and the Pool and beach in the Fiesta Americana it can work out great . for the average traveler. So if the price right I recommend it. It is modern , clean middle of everything and well priced. I don't think you will be disappointed. Like any hotel , the quality of the stay depends as well on the other guests near you. Acapulco is so much different than Cancun, More locals with families and less Americans. It is a big city with much to do and see much more Mexico flavor than Cancun. As one who has traveled to Mexico 30 times I can assure you that the Mexico's culture has moved much closer to Americas and no large resort city seems to have a Mexico charm. However the people still do have a special warmth not found other places.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abt188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

After a terrible experience at a different hotel nearby, we moved to the Fiesta Inn for the remainder of our Acapulco stay. We had a very pleasant stay at a reasonable price.

One of the best things about the hotel is its location -- it's right on the coast and you can walk to a lot of restaurants, stores, and bars. I also loved the pool -- you could order a drink from the bar and enjoy the wonderful view of the beach from the edge of the pool. They also had a decent beach which wasn't too crowded.

The food at the restaurant is good, not the best I've ever had but quite good for the price. We only had a couple meals there; most of the time we'd walk to nearby restaurants.

The room was clean and they had a TV, A/C, and a coffeemaker. We had a balcony with a nice view. One time the balcony door got stuck and we couldn't get it open, but the maintenance guy came reasonably quickly and fixed it.

I would definitely consider staying here again on my next visit to Acapulco.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizb128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed one night from Priceline in 1205 with partial overview. Paulina at Front desk was brilliantly helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fooe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Stayed here in July. Had to change rooms three times and still had a horrible room. The first room was on the 5th floor and it was an even number room. All of these rooms face an abandoned hotel! The second room was on the 15th floor and had the same view of the abandoned hotel!. Then the last room (because there were none left) was an odd numbered room but you could hear the kitchen ventilation from the time share hotel on the other side of the hotel. If you are so inclined to stay in this hotel, ask for an odd numbered room and the closest you can get to the beach. There really is no beach in back of this hotel and it is off to the side of the hotel. The back of this hotel is all rocks. It has a nice pool with a bar off to the side. I will not stay at a Fiesta Inn again. The people at the front desk were useless. No information what so ever. There is no tourist information in the rooms either. So do your research ahead of time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craftyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
0.7 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 167 in Acapulco
1,049 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 167 in Acapulco
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#17 of 167 in Acapulco
669 reviews
6.6 mi away
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Pierre Mundo Imperial
#8 of 167 in Acapulco
719 reviews
0.2 mi away
Calinda Beach Acapulco
Calinda Beach Acapulco
#12 of 167 in Acapulco
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Address: Avenida Costera Miguel Aleman 2311, Acapulco 39690, Mexico (Formerly Fiesta Inn Acapulco)
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Spa Hotel in Acapulco
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#16 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acapulco Resort Hotel, in Acapulco, Guerrero, Mexico, is a Four Star Hotel with 220 comfortable Rooms (Single, Double and King View), which you can easily book through these modern booking systems online.Specially designed for leisure travelers, Acapulco Resort also meets all business travelers’ needs since it’s located in the heart of Acapulco. With rooms in front of the worldwide known Playa Condesa, the Hotel shares the exceptional atmosphere of Acapulco Dorado and it’s located a few steps from the Convention Center, which will allow you to enjoy the best without losing time going from one place to another.Enjoy at our facilities, where you will find a pool, gym, function rooms, restaurant and fully-equipped first class meeting rooms. Our services include free wireless internet access in the whole hotel, air conditioning, elevators and wheelchair access, nonsmoking and smoking rooms, safe box, parking lot with valet parking, transportation to the airport with extra cost, dry cleaning service and the most important: the service of friendly bilingual personnelAcapulco is part of the famous “Triangulo del Sol” (Sun Triangle) and it’s one of the most visited tourist destinations in the country. Here you will find endless beaches, restaurants, bars, stores and all kind of first class tourist services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Fiesta Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Fiesta Hotel
Fiesta Acapulco
Fiesta Inn Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing