We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Real Bananas Hotel & Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Real Bananas Hotel & Villas
Ranked #31 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Isafjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a few nights at this hotel in april. The staff was kind and we enjoyed the fact that they had bus rides to the beach a couple of times a day, and a bar at the beach. We paid for all inclusive but ended up with a really bad stomach infection, the both of us because of the food. We found bugs in our bread and it was just awful. The rooms are simple and nice, but the music at night was pretty loud and nothing like it was in the description. I do not recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank BSCMtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    37
    22
    10
    14
See reviews for
59
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The people there were extremely kind, and so delighted to find out that my sister and i spoke fluent Spanish. The waiters at the restaurant are fast, and the bartenders make great drinks. All in all a really nice place! Just remember that treating the people kindly there goes a long way. Rather than being upset that they don't or can't speak your language, show a sincerity. They love you for it. Also remember that Mexico for the most part is a city that gets around by buses, taxis, and walking. They have a shuttle bus to take you to the beach so you are set in that area. Another thing is, don't be disappointed if the food that they call American-style isn't really how we do it here. We have done the same to their food in America. DONT FORGET TO TIP. Its not that they'll hate you for it or anything, you'll just be treated like a VIP for your generosity. Remember that you aren't going to Mexico to feel like you stayed in America. I enjoyed my stay thoroughly.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have a hard time getting WIFI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jahsiland H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Unless you are from Mexico City dont go. I couldn't eat there cause the food was awful and the tourist there were rude. We had to walk or take a taxi to go get some good food and we paid for the all inclusive. The rooms were clean but at night you couldn't sleep for the band by the pool was so loud and late at night.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grandma07Missouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Montreal, Quebec
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

This place is great for the price. Rooms are simple and clean good A/C fridge in room, nice balcony with a view, staff is very nice, food is good, the beach is really nice although it is a bit of a trek to get there, you can jump on the banana bus that will take you every 15 minutes or so. Hotel is close to downtown. Most of the guests were mexican families so if you are traveling to another country and want to be surrounded by Americans this isnt the place for you but if you want a bit of culture its great. We ended up with a free upgrade to a villa so I cant comment on the actual hotel but I definitely recommend the villas.

  • Liked — Cheap!!
  • Disliked — few activties
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jessi__max_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
529 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2007

We enjoyed our 5 day stay at the Hotel Club Bananas. The elevators do work! Rooms are quite large and decently equipped although there are no refrigerators! This is a family hotel where the vast majority of guests are working class and midle class Mexicans with lots of kids and a need to have an economical vacation. This gives the hotel a very warm, comforting feel. The food (and this is an all inclusive hotel with all meals and drinks included) was surprisingly good. Lots of choices, plenty of salads and fruit s well as fish and the usual meat and chicken dishes. The pool was modest and not really big enough for all the guests when the hotel is full. But the hotel staff was immensely warm and friendly and this made up for other deficiencies. Its a 10 min wal to the Costera Miguel Aleman and the beaches - no real problem. If you want a taste of Mexico in Mexico's main Mexico-centered resort town - this is quite a good choice. Its especially good if you want to meet Mexicans rather than people from the US, Canada, Europe etc

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MelbourneOztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2007

for the price everything was ok no complaints but i would advise leaving the hotel for lunch to get some good seafood.
you dont get drinks on there section of the beach.
staff are friendly service was good


not really much to say

  • Disliked — slow music at night made you want to sleap instead of go out
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chakstoneboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2006

Considering This was a 2.5 Star resort. I was pleasantly surprised.

They always had cold beer, and good drinks. The food was good considering. I was travelling with my sister and parents. (My sister being the worst eater on the planet) She always had good thigns to eat. Reccommended for picky eaters. Lots of americanized food and mexican food to choose from.

The rooms were a little sketchy, but were cleaned every day with nice maids that barley spoke english. Although tried really hard.

The front desk there was amazing. Always there to help, friendly and willing to chat about anything. Very helpful with directions and things to do....


It wasnt directly on the beach, which kinda stunk but it was close enough and had a very scary shuttle bus to the beach every 1/2 hour. Once at the beach it was really nice. A long strip of white sand which bars and drinks available on the beach (for a cost).

At the beach they had banana boating, parasailing and jet skiing for very reasonable prices. (20 american for parasailing)

All and all this was a pretty good vacation. Our resort mostly had Canadians and Mexicans (party people :) Even though it wasnt the best resort in the world if offered what we were looking for

Sun, Sand, and Drink....:)

  • Liked — It was close to everything and that the staff tried hard to be nice because it was only a 2.5 star
  • Disliked — that it wasnt on the beach
  • Tips/Secrets — People who have high expectations don't bother. Its a great stress free vacation
  • Stayed January 2004, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank Amellia_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Beach Hotel
Copacabana Beach Hotel
#27 of 178 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 stars 492 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#16 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#11 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Krystal Beach Acapulco
Krystal Beach Acapulco
#46 of 178 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acapulco Malibu
Acapulco Malibu
#17 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Acapulco Costera
One Acapulco Costera
#13 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Bananas Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Bananas Hotel & Villas

Property: Real Bananas Hotel & Villas
Address: Ave Monterrey 195 Fracc Club Deportivo, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Real Bananas Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com and Hotwire so you can book your Real Bananas Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bananas Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Hotel Bananas Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing