We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots to improve!! (above all some of the staff)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Calinda Beach Acapulco
Ranked #12 of 168 Hotels in Acapulco
México
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“lots to improve!! (above all some of the staff)”
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I had to stay one night at this hotel and I wasn´t expecting anything outstanding but just the regular services a hotel this category can get.

It would have been all right until the maid calls my room at 6:50 am!!! asking for the iron I got the night before!! she said someone else needed it, come on!! I checked in at 1:30 am and got the iron at 2 am!!!

I was definitely pretty mad at this and I am certainly never comming back to this hotel.

They have a great view to the bay though, lot of potential in that building

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YoungDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECTOR PEREZ RI... C, Gerente at Calinda Beach Acapulco, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Google Translation
Estimado huésped:
Hacernos saber de los inconvenientes que lamentablemente sufrió durante su reciente visita en nuestro Hotel Calinda Beach Acapulco motiva, permitimos ofrecerle a nombre de todo el personal que represento y en el mío propio, nuestras más sinceras disculpas por la mala experiencia que vivió con nosotros.
Estamos haciendo nuestro máximo esfuerzo para lograr la comodidad que Usted merece en su próxima visita, y que sus necesidades sean atendidas.
Muchas gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    144
    106
    49
    44
See reviews for
234
87
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

Their term "all inclusive" is not even close to what I think it means. The lobby bar and restaurant was not included. The other restaurant was not all inclusive either because we were not allowed to order a lot of the better meals. The swim up bar at the pool was not included. There was one "all inclusive" bar located outside and served drinks in very small plastic cups. There was no mini bar in the rooms. The refrigerator in the room was not inclusive.----- I was charged extra for water and cokes from the room. My wife and I stayed for 5 nights and felt extremely let down by the experience. The rooms and cleanliness was acceptable but the traffic noise was continuous all night long. We couldn't spend any time on the small beach because of the continuous stream of vendors trying to sell you all types of items. It was a waste of money to stay at this hotel as "all inclusive". One would be better off to spend a little more money and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stehawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECTOR PEREZ RI... C, Gerente at Calinda Beach Acapulco, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios, así como, el haberse tomado el tiempo y la molestia de hacérnoslo saber.
Sus comentarios son herramientas muy importantes que nos ayudan a saber cómo lograr y maximizar la calidad en nuestra empresa. Lamentamos que su visita no haya sido agradable, por eso tenga la seguridad que valoramos mucho sus observaciones, pues nos ayudan a mejorar la calidad de nuestros servicios y sobre todo, que el punto que Usted hizo mención ha sido turnado al Jefe del área correspondiente para su inmediata atención; porque nuestro objetivo es mantener los más altos estándares de calidad en el hotel para brindar la completa satisfacción a cada uno de nuestros huéspedes.
Mil gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

Munich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2010

First of all, we booked the hotel via a German tour operator that has a very good reputation and so we expected the hotel being offered and rated accordingly. You would think that 3* out of 5 possible in Germany is at least clean and medium standard even for Mexico, but what we got was no star at all, at least our room.
When entering the room, we were quite shocked by the smell of mold and at a closer look you could then see the mold everywhere (in the air-conditioning, the bath room, at the walls, behind the safe....). Then, the former guests were still present by their dirt they left, because the room was not at all cleaned. During the night it got really bad, because the smell and the humid beds and air made you stay awake and this accompanied by traffic noise the whole night (even on the 22nd floor)! The next day, when we told the reception staff they did not even apologise.
Well in the end, we switched the hotel and we were really lucky this time. So, if you travel on a low budget and don't want to stay in the room too long, it may be a solution for one night, but if you want to enjoy your vacation (most people only get there once or only have a certain time to spend there) then rather pay a little bit more and have a good time! But, nevertheless, if you don’t need nice hotels and nice, sandy beaches and you are after drinking and a great nightlife, you may be right there….

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casolina_en_Acapulco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECTOR PEREZ RI... C, Gerente at Calinda Beach Acapulco, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, en verdad los aprecio mucho y los hare llegar a todo nuestro personal para que nos sigan motivando a todos, como en este caso los suyos.
Por favor en su próxima visita no deje contactarme para atenderle como usted se merece.
Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Where to begin?
As you approach thius hotel you are certainly struck by its unique round shape, but you realize how dated it is, and also how much paint is falling off and how much black mold is on the exterior.
The open loby concept is both good and bad, open and lightm, but also a lot of dirt and street smells, the walls in the lobby are textured and hold a lot of dirty.
Check in took over 1 hour, not because of huge line-up, but simply because thats what it takes, very poor service, and proceedures, needs to be throughly streamlined.
The elevators look lik ethey have been upgraded, but they simply dont have enough.
My major issue with the rooms is the housekeeping, they are not cleaned well at all, they sweepp the floor, but do not mop it, the floors are dirty, and I mean dirty, the bathroom is too small to actually close the door while sitting on the john.
The beach is run by some guy in a grass hut besides the hotel, typically you have to pay for an umbrella and chairs, even though the hotel advertsises free and puts out free.
and dont get me started on news years eve, they close the pools and the beach and this guy that runs the beach charges for tables and chairs on the beach???
the pool is small, and as for the second pool on the third floor its an additional charge??
So is the much advertised mini-golf, extra.
The breakfast buffet is the same nmost days and for the most part is simply the left overs from the dinner service the night before, case in point, pork chops in green salsa for breakfast????
The rewstaurant is tired, the overhead pipes are all rust and need a good cleaning.
The servers try, but are not up to par, the hardest working people in th ehotel are the lady that cooks the eggs at the buffet, and the young man that puts out the chairs.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osopolar2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECTOR PEREZ RI... C, Gerente at Calinda Beach Acapulco, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios, así como, el haberse tomado el tiempo y la molestia de hacérnoslo saber.
Sus comentarios son herramientas muy importantes que nos ayudan a saber cómo lograr y maximizar la calidad en nuestra empresa. Lamentamos que su visita no haya sido agradable, por eso tenga la seguridad que valoramos mucho sus observaciones, pues nos ayudan a mejorar la calidad de nuestros servicios y sobre todo, que el punto que Usted hizo mención ha sido turnado al Jefe del área correspondiente para su inmediata atención; porque nuestro objetivo es mantener los más altos estándares de calidad en el hotel para brindar la completa satisfacción a cada uno de nuestros huéspedes.
Mil gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

I read this and other reviews before my group trip and they appeared to be ok in average. But I got terribly dissapointed since my check in at this hotel. I did not care the small pool, or the time the elevators took from one flor to another, but I do care about how people treat you when you are paying for being there. I could not generalize, but the staff (the receptionists) where awfull with us. It is a shame that for people like them this hotel and Carso group may lose clients even their good reputation.

  • Liked — The view to the ocean (if you are lucky to have one of this bedrooms)
  • Disliked — Pool, staff, balconies, elevators
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Alalunaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECTOR PEREZ RI... C, Gerente at Calinda Beach Acapulco, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Google Translation
Agradecemos mucho sus comentarios, así como, el haberse tomado el tiempo y la molestia de hacérnoslo saber.
Sus comentarios son herramientas muy importantes que nos ayudan a saber cómo lograr y maximizar la calidad en nuestra empresa. Lamentamos que su visita no haya sido agradable, por eso tenga la seguridad que valoramos mucho sus observaciones, pues nos ayudan a mejorar la calidad de nuestros servicios y sobre todo, que el punto que Usted hizo mención ha sido turnado al Jefe del área correspondiente para su inmediata atención; porque nuestro objetivo es mantener los más altos estándares de calidad en el hotel para brindar la completa satisfacción a cada uno de nuestros huéspedes.
Mil gracias
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2008

My boyfriend and i stayed at Calinda Beach from February 6-9th. I have been to all sides of Mexico and this was a first for both of us in Acapulco. I won the hotel portion as a promotion through work so we did not have a direct flight or transfers. We were celebrating our Anniversary and Valentines Day. Note: Taxis from the airport are $35US/pp but a shuttle is $8US/pp. Our taxi from the hotel to the Airport was 280 Pesos or $28US (way better deal if you pay in pesos).

Now down to the nitty gritty:

Checkin:
It wasnt too busy. So it only took about 2 Mexican minutes which is a bit longer. The people at the front desk speak english not fluent but pritty close.

Location and View:
Location is perfect! Right in the middle of the bay and close to everything. View from the room was Amazing!! Absolutly gorgous!

Room:
Room was okay 2 double beds with colourful covers, 2 chairs table, TV etc. There was a little rust along the tub but nothing to complain about. We didnt have a safe in our room so we went down to the front desk and they said they would have a room for us the next day at 2pm. Not a problem this is Mexico nothing is a rush so we just kept everything valuable locked in our luggage. The next room was just as nice with connecting room doors to the room next. So that would be great for couples or families travelling together.

Buffet restaurant:
Is on the bottom floor. You can take the stairs from the lobby. Towel service is also there along with the main pool and 2 bars. There were 3 theme dinners (mexican, international and italian i think). Staff is very attentive and plesent. Area is very clean. They have a grill that you can get eggs for breakfast, burgers, hot dogs and fries for lunch, as well as a selectionor meat or fish for dinner. They are eagar to make things better all the time so any suggestions are greatly appreciated. A couple from Montreal suggested taht they have name plates for the food. The staff came and asked them to spell certain foods in english so they had it right.

A la carte restaurant:
If you go through the store in the lobby to the very back they have a Mexican sit down restaurant with food for purchase.

Facilities:
They have a wonderful section on the third floor that has a private pool, towel service, bar(open at certain times), mini-putt (which you pay for at the front desk), and the most wonerful lounge chairs and beds. The Main pool can be quite busy wtih locals on the weekend so the third floor is a wonderful place to escape to. A store with a pharmacy just off the lobby. Money exchange is across the street and down to the left a couple of blocks.

Near by restaurants:
Italian place right across the street, Wonderfull steak house that you can see from the hotel to the right when leavign the hotel called La Mason(or something), Also a Venezuela grill (to the left when leaving the hotel) that is amazing at night on the patio overlooking the water.

Little tips:
- You can walk the main street and beach with no problem durign the day. At night i t was alright but take caution (its not canada).
-The majority of people staying at this hotel are Mexican, from Montreal or french of some sort and also Americans from the south.
-The bars and clubs are to the right when leaving the hotel and down about a 10min walk.
- there is a guy in the lobby by the elevators that does tours i believe he was from Royal tours. Seriously, take the city tour of Acapulco. Its $25US and they take you in a van with A/C, one driver and a tour guide THATS IT! Its personalized and they take you to see the Cliff jumpers its additional for admittion which i think is only 70 pesos or such. They will also take you shopping in the market.
- Be aware that the sales people can be pushy so whatever they say i usually cut it in half and offer that. Barder, or you will really get ripped off.
- there are vendors walking on the beach wanting to braid your hair, give massages, take you fishing, jet ski, etc. There is a guy that walks around selling ice cream thats more like sorbet (yummy). Also the people selling the silver rings and such on the beach are prices pritty good still barder though. A simple smile and shake of the head will stop them from hounding you.
- get pesos! They exchange CAD, US and Mexican Pesos. Some places charge a commission so go to the ones that don't.

Shout out to Chris and Teresa from Montreal/France. It was nice to chat with you guys. All the best!

I think that is about it. Being a travel agent i would recommend this hotel to people that are looking to relax and dont mind staying in something similar to a Motel 6. Rooms are clean, food is alright, didnt have much stomach issues but i didnt drink the water or even use it to brush my teeth. It is a 3 star and it is Mexico so take that in mind when you are there. It was awesome and we have many wonderful memories.

  • Liked — The 3rd floor deck and the location.
  • Disliked — The traffic. Difficult to cross the street at times.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Travelling-Canuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECTOR PEREZ RI... C, Gerente at Calinda Beach Acapulco, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por sus comentarios, en verdad los aprecio mucho y los hare llegar a todo nuestro personal para que nos sigan motivando a todos, como en este caso los suyos.
Por favor en su próxima visita no deje contactarme para atenderle como usted se merece.
Muchas gracias.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2008

My girlfriends and I decided to take our first trip out of the country, with no parents. We saved our own money and booked a trip to Acapulco, Mexico through Apple Vacations. We paid just under $1000 a person for 8 days/7nights...this price included airfare and an "all-inclusive" plan at Calinda Beach.

None of us had previously been to Acapulco, but we figured we wouldn't have any issues with the language because one of us spoke pretty decent spanish, and we figured many people would know English.

WRONG

First of all, this hotel had friendly staff BUT it was difficult to find anyone who spoke English well. If my friend Jen hadn't been with us, I dont' know how we would have gotten by. The "all-inclusive" meal plan is only good during certain hours in the hotel restaurant. The food was decent, but the waitresses were hesitant to serve our table because we were American, as many of them spoke NO ENGLISH at all.

The all inclusive plan included breakfast, lunch and dinner. As well as open bar in the lobby and in the pool. The swim up bar in the pool was really nice, and thankfully our plan included mini bottles of water "aqua de bottea"! The bartenders were the nicest staff at the hotel. We went during early August, and it was very crowded at this time, but not with Americans.

We were part of the 10% minority at this hotel who were not native to Mexico. If you are looking for an Americanized hotel, this is NOT the way to go.

Overall, if I had spoke Spanish fluently I think my rating of this hotel would be different. The rooms were spacious, the towels and bedding was always fresh and besides the language barrier, the staff was friendly. And of course, the main reason we stayed here is because it was very conveniently priced!

I don't think I would stay here again if I went to Acapulco again, only because I have seen what other hotels they have to offer. Although if you are a poor college student going on Spring break, it's not a bad choice.

  • Liked — The swim-up bar and the on-site pharmacy
  • Disliked — Lack of English-speaking staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bambinaxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HECTOR PEREZ RI... C, Gerente at Calinda Beach Acapulco, responded to this review, July 6, 2015
In response to your kind comments, I wish through this channel thank attention to the trouble to tell us the incidents suffered during your stay in our hotel, also have taken, I offer on behalf of all the staff that I represent and myself our sincerely apologize for this bad experience.
All comments are very valuable to us, so please be assured that every point that you mention have been turned over to the managers involved to a resolution and better attention to our guests.

Our main goal is to provide reliable services to our guests, but only through your comments that we can evaluate the quality of services we provide. Thanks again for your kind words.

Look forward to serving your future needs for housing, we are in constant change and improvement in our Hotel to continue seeking the satisfaction of each of our clients and guests.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
0.9 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#10 of 168 in Acapulco
1,059 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#17 of 168 in Acapulco
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#21 of 168 in Acapulco
368 reviews
0.3 mi away
Copacabana Beach Hotel
Copacabana Beach Hotel
#18 of 168 in Acapulco
599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 168 in Acapulco
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calinda Beach Acapulco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calinda Beach Acapulco

Property: Calinda Beach Acapulco
Address: Avenida Costera Miguel Aleman 1260 | Fraccionamiento Club Deportivo C.P., Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Calinda Beach Acapulco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Golden Zone of Acapulco , the best on the coast . LOCATED about 25 minutes from the airport and within walking distance of the convention center, restaurants, shopping centers and vibrant nightlife of bars and nightclubs . Placed in one of the best views of the bay I was distinguished in the day in form of circular tower at night , be fully illuminated by the One Hotel. Hotel Calinda Beach is the UN four star in the Golden Zone of Acapulco coastal attracts the eyes of residents and visitors . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Calinda Beach Acapulco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calinda Beach Acapulco Hotel Acapulco
Calinda Beach Hotel Acapulco
Acapulco Calinda Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing