We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Filet Mignon Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acapulco Malibu

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Acapulco Malibu
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Filet Mignon Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife Susie and I just wanted to have drinks and dinner with her friend Sandy at the hotel over looking the beach front to see the sunset and it was worth it. We enjoyed our drinks during happy hour. I ordered the Filet Mignon steak and it was the best meal that I have eaten in Acapulco.
Looking forward in going again before we go back home to Florida.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tazmanian49Devil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
55
26
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I reviewed the Acapulco Malibu awhile ago, and everything is the same, except for their Tues night parties. Starting at 6pm (happy hour from 6-7pm) the Malibu has wonderful live music in their outdoor bar/restaurant. Ricardo plays the electric piano and Raoul (Mr. Acapulco) and Ann Marie sing. Their repertoire is filled with all the great old American songs--the American songbook--and they throw in some rock and country.

If you like good music and love to dance, don't miss this. I think these parties only run through the end of February, maybe through the beginning of March. I think they may also play on Weds nights, but am not sure. Get there early, the place was packed this past Tuesday.

Room Tip: One problem with this hotel is the extremely hard mattresses on the beds. Also, they have no fitnes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 35805Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife and her mum stayed at The Maibu 30/11/12 to 3/12/12 ( 3 nights ). The room was excellent same as last time we stayed only difference this time was myself and 2 daughters weren't with them. When we were there in 2011 we hired 2 rooms and all my wife's family ( who are from Acapuco ) stayed with us ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the 2 4 1 deal on drinks 18;00 to 20;00. They also used the pool as did the kids and had a really good time. HOWEVER not this time my wife was informed this time any guest's would have to pay 500 paso's EACH PER DAY to dine and use the facilities. ( That's roughly £26 each ) As the restaurant is fairly pricey all they were going to do was chill out and let the kids paddle in the kids pool which has a small slide that goes into no more than 2 foot of water. So my wife had to spend time away from the hotel and they all went to Crowne Plaza where her sister used to work and through 1 of the bosses got all the famil passes as non residents ( in the hotel ). Such a shame that different rules and greedyness stopped my wife and family from having a wonderful family re-union ( get together every 2-3 years ) and I say shame on you Hotel Malibu for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank istanbulhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to this hotel since 2000 and it only keeps getting better. It may be an old hotel without all the glitz, but the staff are wonderful and very attentive, the restaurant overlooking the Bay of Acapulco is great - great food, great values, lovely staff - and the location of the hotel could not be beat.

It is immediately across the street from the 9-hole, 18-starts Club de Golf de Acapulco and the Tennis Club, both open to the public. And we get nice discounts at the golf club by asking the hotel for discount cards. Only 375 pesos for 9 holes - which equates to about $30. Another 150 pesos ($11) for a caddy - which improves your game when someone else is carrying your bags and finding your out-of-bounds golf balls. And it is a very beautiful course to walk. Carts are available, but why ride?

And the location is close to so many wonderful restaurants. We walk to most of them and enjoy great food at a great price. From time to time, we'll take a bus downtown to a fabulous restaurant for Pollo a la Brasa. It's 6 pesos for the bus ($.50) each way and they're fun to ride with their loud music. It's 7 pesos if you MUST have an air-conditioned bus. And only 5 pesos for seniors.

So many good restaurants that we cannot go to them all if you are only here one week.

And Acapulco has the greatest weather - ALL THE TIME!

More importantly, if you stay in the tourist area, it is very, very safe. Not coming to Acapulco because you hear one bad report, is like not going to New York City because someone was killed or raped in Harlem.

But you can count on the news media to blow it all out of proportion.

One note: the beds are very hard, which is exactly what my husband and I and our friends love. When my sister comes, she stops at the Walmart and pays $10 for a foam cover to put on the mattress since she likes it soft. Whatever.

Note 2: the hotel is part of Interval International if you want to trade a timeshare week at your place for here. Weeks run Friday to Friday if you are on a timeshare. But the value is usually better than your week at a Marriott or other resort. A week here is about $775.

Room Tip: Water pressure gets lower the higher the floor. Try to get a room that is not overlooking the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slovakia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

very friendy hotel between like skyscrapers hotel around. Own beach, restaurant with good meal and comfortable room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milankov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

When I arrived to the Hotel and saw the structure I thought I was in the wrong place, from the outside it looks more like a cheap Motel, and when I found out they don't have parking and I had to park in a hotel close by I was deeply regretting deciding to stay there.

But thank god the hotel looks better on the inside, the rooms are nice and comfortable, a bit old but ok though.

The main pool is a bit small but it is warm so it gets extra points for that. The beach in front of the hotel looks nice (Icaco's Beach), even though when you look closer you can see spots with dirt and garbage here and there. Sadly on the weekend we were there the beach had lots of waves making it a bit hard to enjoy a nice and calm beach bath but well...
Another annoying thing are the ambulant vendors that want to sell you staff every 2 minutes this is a downside of Acapulco in general not just Icaco's Beach.

So bottom line save a bit more and go to Cancun instead of spending your money in Acapulco, you can find better hotels and beaches for less money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

We have stayed here for a few years, for several weeks each time. We are returning this January, so obviously have enjoyed our stays. For us, this place is perfect. It's right on the beach, but has it's own pool, bar and restaurant. The food is good and reasonably priced. The breakfast is a deal--coffee, fruit and an entree for about $8. The people who work here are very friendly. Everything is well maintained and clean.

The rooms are only rooms--no suites. However, since we spend most of our time away from the room (or on the balcony, all rooms have small balconies), we are OK with a small room. If you stay for a little longer, you may be able to get a frig and microwave.

Most of the people who stay here are very nice and friendly.

All in all, a nice place to stay, especially for the price.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 35805Cheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#11 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#12 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 319 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#16 of 178 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#8 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 888 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa Azul
Hotel Costa Azul
#24 of 178 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acapulco Malibu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acapulco Malibu

Property: Acapulco Malibu
Address: Avenida Costera Miguel Aleman 20 | Fracc. Club Deportivo, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#8 Best Value Hotel in Acapulco
#11 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Acapulco Malibu 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
80 AIR CONDITIONES LUZURY SUITES, ALL WITH BALCONIES, CABLE COLOR TV, DIGITAL TELEPHONE WET BAR. THE OCTAGON FRESH WATER SWIMMING POOL. TABASCO BEACH CLUB WITH EXCELLET FOOD DRINKS AND BACKGAMON FACILITIEAS FOR YOUR RECREATIONAL ACTIVITIES INLAND AND SEA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Acapulco Malibu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acapulco Malibu Hotel Acapulco
Malibu Hotel Acapulco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing