We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Huge Disappointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Copacabana Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copacabana Beach Hotel
Ranked #25 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
Omaha
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Not sure where to start as every aspect of our stay was horrible!
Do not stay here,bad location, bad service, bad food, limited drinks-was just the worst!
The hot dogs that sat out all day but not eaten, were cut up & labeled sausage in the morning for breakfast! Disgusting
We ate off the resort every meal after the 1st day-make sure you have a good size group when leaving at night as you walk through some rough neighborhoods-never again

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woodzie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    159
    117
    65
    75
See reviews for
177
92
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yoho National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

First of all let me disclose, that this is the 8th time I have stayed at the Copacabana in Acapulco. I have stayed also at the Calinda and Crowne Plaza in Acapulco and although they are nice, they do not compare. The level of service in this hotel is 6 ****** all the way. The get you whatever you need and the majority of the staff speak english well. The food is decent and fresh and they have a great Mexican Party night once a week, with a live show and dancers. The rooms and the entire hotel is spotless and as clean as it gets. You are so close to the beach and ocean, that you can practically reach out and touch it !

The entertainment team at the hotel with Alex is great, they always have something going on. The location is the best in Acacpulco and is right on Condesa beach in the middle of the bay. They also have a 24 hour internet cafe and coffee shop. I keep returning becasue for my money there is no better place, the people who work here treat you like a King or Queen and the managment is on top of everything in this hotel. Will be back again next year for sure !!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heatison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here about a week ago and all us noticed how rude the front desk people were. We had to pay for and extra person but the lady that was telling us was telling us in a rude way. The room size was ok and it was fairly clean and we did like the room service. It's a pretty big hotel and their pool is really small. If you bring a car you still have to pay for over night parking. If you plan on making room to room calls or any kind of calls even front desk calls they do charge for them. When we got there there wasn't anybody to welcome us and explain to us where everything is, the only ones that were there were the housemen. Their beach has some really tough waves so this wouldn't be a place to bring kids or beginner swimmers. oh and by the way one of the days that we were there in the morning there was an earthquake/tsumani drill and nobody let us know, so when it happened we thought it was real and we all got scared and we had to run down from the 8th floor barefooted with our pj's and carrying kids that were still asleep. It was jut a sucky hotel but the rooms were clean, that's the only thing we liked about it. There are plenty of other hotels wherethe parking is free and they don't charge you for room to room calls. Save your money :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alejandro E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Acapulco hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for a week on the first part of our vacation in Mexico. It´s a cheerful and friendly hotel with the perfect location if you want to enjoy the beach as it is literally next to the beach! This means fabulous views all day every day. Our room was just OK and nothing luxurious but bright, colorful and full of natural light and also reasonably clean.It had a Mexican feel which was nice. We booked with food and drinks included in the price and it was well worth it as the buffet was very good and it was great to be able to drink without thinking about prices. They have a nice pool which overlooks the beach so if you want to give the beach a miss one day it´s just as good to sit around the pool. There were plenty of sun loungers and good bar service. Copacabana is a good all round beach hotel and we had a great time here although there are certain areas that are not recommeneded for tourists to visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank mondaymorning60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Poor location, poor value for money, extremely rude staff, unclean rooms, food/drink quality not great.

My friend and I were horribly disappointed at this hotel. The only nice thing about it was our view over the beach from the window.

Definitely do not stay here, you will want to stay somewhere further along the street (towards the main shopping centre) and in much better condition.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saraht1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This hotel feels like a return to the 1970's; clearly dated. The front desk staff and the concierge were terribly and unjustifiably rude. Extremely rude. Concierge turned his back to me after I asked for directions to a restaurant. The front desk staff tried to cheat me when I checked-in. Then, they called my room on day 3 of my 5 day stay and said "what do you think you are doing? check out time was hours ago" and then no apology when I showed them the copy of the 5 day reservation. Check your bill carefully as the mistakes do not appear to be random. Very noisy at night. There are other choices in this city. I recommend NOT staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hotel is dated and feels like a time warp into the 1970's. The front desk staff and the concierge people are extremely rude. Ask a simple question (example: "could you tell me where I can find a map of the area?" and the answer was "no, just take a taxi" and turned away). Front desk tried to cheat me repeatedly. There are other hotels in Acapulco where the hassle-factor is significantly lower. There are better choices so I recommend NOT staying at this one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
1.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
Crowne Plaza Acapulco
#11 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#14 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Calinda Beach Acapulco
Calinda Beach Acapulco
#18 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#15 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 stars 557 reviews
1.9 mi away
Krystal Beach Acapulco
Krystal Beach Acapulco
#55 of 179 in Acapulco
3.0 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copacabana Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copacabana Beach Hotel

Property: Copacabana Beach Hotel
Address: Tabachines 2 | Club Deportivo, Acapulco 39690, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Copacabana Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 430
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Copacabana Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copacabana Beach Acapulco
Copacabana Acapulco
Hotel Copacabana Beach
Copacabana Hotel Acapulco Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing