We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, quiet location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Ranked #8 of 179 Hotels in Acapulco
yorkshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great hotel, quiet location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed one night on stop over after 14 night cruise with p&o. Great location on large quiet and very clean beach. Hotel was excelent with standard 4 > 5 star service. Location was well outside Acapulco, but this is a far better hotel than the ones on the main beaches of Acapulco bay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliverYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    204
    111
    54
    36
See reviews for
310
194
14
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

We stayed here over valentines day a few years ago and had an amazing time. We stayed in one of the villas and it was very spacious and clean. Loved the buffet and how they had theme nights. The private beach was beautiful. They threw a wonderful celebration on valentines day. We had great service at the pool bar. Got a relaxing massage at the spa. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crzyincali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Hotel has great pools and gardens plus a great kids area and the rooms are pretty, but the internet access is terrible with an in-room cable that did not work ever and no wifi, which you would expect at this type of hotel. I can not understand why a 5 star hotel would not have wifi in rooms or in the restaurants, its like they are behind of times and their IT area never showed up because they are none in the property. The halls are old and the doors to the rooms havent been changed in dozens of years which give it an old feeling plus becausenof these old doors, I could hear the next door neighbors tv at 6am!. They tell me it will get a facelift next year. Lets see.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Distinctivetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

Thought the hotel was great. Had no problems. Staff was very helpful anytime we had a question. Beautiful view!

If u need a driver, call Cesar Olea Santos! His prices extremely reasonable. Professional , and on time! when we go back to Acapulco, he will be the one we call.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank imsophie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

Very nice hotel, stunning views, good location, excellent service, wonderful people. May be I do not have enough words to describe the great vacation we had at this hotel. The private beach is gorgeous and the 3 pools are beautiful, however if you do not have children or like them do not go to this hotel.
The room was simple but it had everything we needed and when you go in vacation you do not stay in the room too much.
The guest services is more than we could expect - excellent.
Stay away from CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, they are the worse.
Carmen Barton - Kansas City

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2010

I have to write this as I was shocked by the reviewer who complained about the service. I think she must have been at a different hotel becuase it is impossible to fault the service at this hotel.
From the moment we arrived and were met at the car we received attentive service throughout. We were upgraded to a junior suite next to our friends' room - a lovely room with two window walls on the ground flooor, and exquisite views. Our well stocked bathroom was replenished at least once and often twice a day. The beds were turned down at night and bottles of water left by the bed for us. As it was a suite we had two bathrobes - and they were hung back on hangers or replaced throughout the week. If you needed more of anything you only had to ask - there was always a maid in the corridor.
Breakfast overlooking the sea was wonderful. An incredibly plentiful and diverse buffet - eggs freshly cooked to your taste. They catered to Mexican, European and American tastes. Waiters were on hand the second your cup needed refilling or a knife replacing.
The pools were clean and well maintained. Pool service was excellent. Fresh towels on demand.
The beach was patrolled and kept clean. The current was really strong so swimming not recommended - but was fine for playing and paddling.
You need a car to get around - Acapulco is huge! There is a shuttle bus to the Mayan Princess to get a different experience.
My husband needed a doctor for a back problem. The on call doctor was with us in minutes, came a second day and we went to the surgery on site for a third visit. Professional, helpful and reliable. The charges for a three days course of injectons and tablets and treatement was very reasonable.
This is a luxury hotel where you are very well cared for.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.s.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

We used to stay in this hotel whenever we travelled to Acapulco......it used to be a luxury hotel and wonderful to stay in, but I suppose since it was acquired by Fairmont, it no longer is.......this is now one of the worst serviced hotels I have ever stayed in....the Fairmont is obviously only interested in commercializing this once wonderful hotel.....we arrived and asked to change the room, the toilet didn't work and the room was a bit rundown...so we paid $150 extra to transfer to another room; they arranged to move the luggage while we left for the afternoon; when we returned after a tiring hot day, the suitcases were thrown on the floor, not even placed on the luggage racks, there were no towels at all in the bathroom, no robes, no water, the bed wasn't turned down, there was no shampoo, etc. We called twice and after 40 minutes they delivered some water and some bath towels. The next day, the room was cleaned (only l robe, not 2), and we complained to the manager about not having robes and towels......later after spending a day at the pool we returned, showered and left for the evening, around 7PM. When we returned at night, the dirty towels were still all over the bathroom, (even though they had come into the room and left robes, they did not bother to pick up the dirty towels or turndown the bed)....there was no turndown service, no water bottles, nothing. When we complained, they said they didn't give turndown service unless you specifically requested it when you make the reservation! Then we found out they no longer provide free parking for hotel guests, which they used to do, and they charged this double on the bill which we had to have corrected........The food is also not as good as it used to be, we always had looked forward to their buffets but the quality is not there anymore, it is sloppily presented, like mass produced....... We won't be staying at this hotel or probably any fairmont hotels ever again. My husband who is much less critical than me, was astonded at the service (or rather, lack of), and the who-cares attitude of the staff.........It amazes me when these big corps start purchasing everything, all quality goes south..........you will not be happy with this hotel unless maybe they give you the room for free............again, this hotel is beautifully located and the grounds are wonderful; the rooms, even the remodelled ones are rundown now; you can see there is no interest in maintaining the hotel at all and clearly the staff is completely untrained..........it is not the pierre marques it used to be which used to be a wonderful hotel....this is definitely not a luxury hotel any longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
7.4 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#16 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
6.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
Holiday Inn Resort Acapulco
#18 of 179 in Acapulco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
7.2 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 179 in Acapulco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre Mundo Imperial

Property: Pierre Mundo Imperial
Address: Costera de las Palmas S/N | Col Granjas del Marquez, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#5 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pierre Mundo Imperial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private hideaway of J. Paul Getty, Pierre Mundo Imperial, one of the best resorts of the country, is the perfect intimate getaway. Mexican villas, bungalows and low-rise buildings sit amidst tropical gardens overlooking three pools on Acapulco's beautiful Revolcadero Beach. Swim, golf, play tennis and enjoy our fine dining restaurants in secluded luxury at Pierre Mundo Imperial resort in Mexico. A testament to a superior experience and service levels, the Pierre Mundo Imperial hotel has been named the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Recognition. Additionally, the prestigious publication Travel & Leisure ranked Pierre Mundo Imperial as one of the best 100 hotels in Latin America and the Caribbean, and the best resort in Acapulco. USA Today named it one of the 10 best hotels all over the world. Pierre Mundo Imperial also offers the perfect scenery for romantic weddings. Just imagine saying "yes" with the ocean as your main witness. With the soaring mountains of the Sierra Madre on one side and the crystal blue Pacific on the other, the splendid tropical paradise of Pierre Mundo Imperial Acapulco awaits you for your next event or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pierre Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Pierre Marques Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco
Pierre Marques Acapulco
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing