We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT EXPERIENCE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pierre Mundo Imperial
Ranked #8 of 167 Hotels in Acapulco
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City
1 review
“GREAT EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Very nice hotel, stunning views, good location, excellent service, wonderful people. May be I do not have enough words to describe the great vacation we had at this hotel. The private beach is gorgeous and the 3 pools are beautiful, however if you do not have children or like them do not go to this hotel.
The room was simple but it had everything we needed and when you go in vacation you do not stay in the room too much.
The guest services is more than we could expect - excellent.
Stay away from CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, they are the worse.
Carmen Barton - Kansas City

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmenKansasCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    222
    117
    54
    37
See reviews for
331
205
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

I have to write this as I was shocked by the reviewer who complained about the service. I think she must have been at a different hotel becuase it is impossible to fault the service at this hotel.
From the moment we arrived and were met at the car we received attentive service throughout. We were upgraded to a junior suite next to our friends' room - a lovely room with two window walls on the ground flooor, and exquisite views. Our well stocked bathroom was replenished at least once and often twice a day. The beds were turned down at night and bottles of water left by the bed for us. As it was a suite we had two bathrobes - and they were hung back on hangers or replaced throughout the week. If you needed more of anything you only had to ask - there was always a maid in the corridor.
Breakfast overlooking the sea was wonderful. An incredibly plentiful and diverse buffet - eggs freshly cooked to your taste. They catered to Mexican, European and American tastes. Waiters were on hand the second your cup needed refilling or a knife replacing.
The pools were clean and well maintained. Pool service was excellent. Fresh towels on demand.
The beach was patrolled and kept clean. The current was really strong so swimming not recommended - but was fine for playing and paddling.
You need a car to get around - Acapulco is huge! There is a shuttle bus to the Mayan Princess to get a different experience.
My husband needed a doctor for a back problem. The on call doctor was with us in minutes, came a second day and we went to the surgery on site for a third visit. Professional, helpful and reliable. The charges for a three days course of injectons and tablets and treatement was very reasonable.
This is a luxury hotel where you are very well cared for.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.s.
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We used to stay in this hotel whenever we travelled to Acapulco......it used to be a luxury hotel and wonderful to stay in, but I suppose since it was acquired by Fairmont, it no longer is.......this is now one of the worst serviced hotels I have ever stayed in....the Fairmont is obviously only interested in commercializing this once wonderful hotel.....we arrived and asked to change the room, the toilet didn't work and the room was a bit rundown...so we paid $150 extra to transfer to another room; they arranged to move the luggage while we left for the afternoon; when we returned after a tiring hot day, the suitcases were thrown on the floor, not even placed on the luggage racks, there were no towels at all in the bathroom, no robes, no water, the bed wasn't turned down, there was no shampoo, etc. We called twice and after 40 minutes they delivered some water and some bath towels. The next day, the room was cleaned (only l robe, not 2), and we complained to the manager about not having robes and towels......later after spending a day at the pool we returned, showered and left for the evening, around 7PM. When we returned at night, the dirty towels were still all over the bathroom, (even though they had come into the room and left robes, they did not bother to pick up the dirty towels or turndown the bed)....there was no turndown service, no water bottles, nothing. When we complained, they said they didn't give turndown service unless you specifically requested it when you make the reservation! Then we found out they no longer provide free parking for hotel guests, which they used to do, and they charged this double on the bill which we had to have corrected........The food is also not as good as it used to be, we always had looked forward to their buffets but the quality is not there anymore, it is sloppily presented, like mass produced....... We won't be staying at this hotel or probably any fairmont hotels ever again. My husband who is much less critical than me, was astonded at the service (or rather, lack of), and the who-cares attitude of the staff.........It amazes me when these big corps start purchasing everything, all quality goes south..........you will not be happy with this hotel unless maybe they give you the room for free............again, this hotel is beautifully located and the grounds are wonderful; the rooms, even the remodelled ones are rundown now; you can see there is no interest in maintaining the hotel at all and clearly the staff is completely untrained..........it is not the pierre marques it used to be which used to be a wonderful hotel....this is definitely not a luxury hotel any longer.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nimo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

Very old facilities. Couldn´t enter the room since card key didn´t work. Once I entered -a maid luckily was passing by and opened the door- the curtains didn´t work neither did the phone to report it! Had to walk back to front desk to change rooms.

Have to say that personnel was very supportive and kind.

Once I settled, the A/C never worked right and it was terrible with the humidity. There are only a couple of AC outlets in the whole room (very fragile BTW) and I never understood how the night lamps worked without having to turn on other lights.

Maybe it was just bad luck, but for the prices all over the hotel and the Fairmont brand I think you should expect a lot more.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voceropolitico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The service is excellent, the hotel itself is a little dated but well maintained, the pools are well kept, the food is good and priced right where you'd expect to pay. As another visitor posted, our room had a musty odor when first opened, but that cleared up within a day of airing it out. Another person posted they had trouble with the door locks and the A/C, we did not. We did need the maintenence guy to help us twice with minor issues, and he was always there within 5 mins. The concierge was helpful in setting up reservations, and unlike other reveiws of the Fairmont Acapulco Princess, I didn't feel like a tip was expected. Now for the bad: about a half mile upwind is a "lagoon" (to me it looks like a stagnant river that everyone throws their crap in) and stinks like holy hell. Well, on 3 days the wind blew the stench over the entire resort, making it unpleasant if not downright impossible to be outside. Further, at high tide, the waves from the Pacific wash over the bank of sand separating the lagoon from the ocean, so the ocean water goes into the lagoon, and as the wave retreats it pulls the lagoon water out into the ocean. We were enjoying frolicking in the waves until we saw THAT. I hate to over emphasize this lagoon business, but it is the only thing wrong with the beach near this resort, and I wish I had known this B4 booking. A little further down the beach in the opposite direction the beach seems cleaner, the water becomes more blue, but by then you're a 5 min walk away. THe location is also a problem, every attracftion is a good 15 min cab ride away, and you are limited to local mom & pop restaurants if you want to walk outside the gates of the resort, which is a blue collar area, not rough, but not geared for tourists. There is a Walmart nearby for incidental purchases. Overall I'd go somewhere else next time, but only because of the location and the stinky lagoon, not for their lack of trying.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We loved our stay at the Pierre Marques. This is a great place if you want to relax and just enjoy the pool, the view, a good book and the warm breezes. The service was efficient, friendly and overall excellent. The resort is quiet, which we really liked, but the free shuttle to the nearby sister property, the Acapulco Princess, expands your options for more restaurants and entertainment. This area is a bit isolated and nearby restaurant choicess are mostly limited to the hotels, but there are some shopping options nearby (Costco and a Mega store) and you can supplement happy hour with some good wine from South America.... Make sure you sign up for the Fairmont President's Club before you go, which is free, and with this membership you receive free Internet in your room and access to the gym.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Azadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
245 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We arrived in Acapulco VERY late due to a flight delay, and much to our dismay the hotel we had booked, and prepaid, was oversold! Oh no! They wanted to "walk" us to the Hyatt Regency on Costera - to which we said, "Absolutely and unequivocally - NO." Had we wanted to be down in all the mayhem, we would have booked a hotel in the midst of that area. After much negotiating, and late night phone calls, we agreed on the Pierre.
Our original hotel led us down there, and helped us get checked in ... our room was wonderful, our stay was a page from a travel magazine, the amenities, buffet breakfast, pools and views were right out of a postcard.
The service never wavered, and when we checked out two days later to head to our cruise - there was some consternation about the payment of the second night; it could have been a very sticky situation - but they simply took our word for the matter - and called the person at the other hotel some time after our departure.
This hotel is pure luxury - and the only thing that we would change is the "all night deli". Since it was nearly 2 AM when we arrived after a very long set of flights, we were hungry - the bellman told us of the "all night deli"; and in fact there is one ...but they were out of food when we went inside. I kid you not - out of food.
Oh well, we enjoyed our stay and WILL return.
For parents, there is a large recreation area for children. For beachgoers, there is a HUGE stretch of unspoiled beach, and for the epicurean, there is a wide variety of restaurants.
RAVE REVIEWS!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boeing767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Acapulco hotels
0.2 mi away
Princess Mundo Imperial
Princess Mundo Imperial
#10 of 167 in Acapulco
1,673 reviews
7.2 mi away
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
Emporio Acapulco Hotel
#9 of 167 in Acapulco
1,049 reviews
7.4 mi away
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
Gran Plaza Hotel Acapulco
#11 of 167 in Acapulco
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fiesta Americana Villas Acapulco
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Acapulco
Grand Hotel Acapulco
#17 of 167 in Acapulco
670 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel Encanto
Hotel Encanto
#1 of 167 in Acapulco
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pierre Mundo Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pierre Mundo Imperial

Property: Pierre Mundo Imperial
Address: Costera de las Palmas S/N | Col Granjas del Marquez, Acapulco 39890, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Pacific Coast > Guerrero > Acapulco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Acapulco
#5 Family Hotel in Acapulco
#7 Romantic Hotel in Acapulco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pierre Mundo Imperial 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the private hideaway of J. Paul Getty, Pierre Mundo Imperial, one of the best resorts of the country, is the perfect intimate getaway. Mexican villas, bungalows and low-rise buildings sit amidst tropical gardens overlooking three pools on Acapulco's beautiful Revolcadero Beach. Swim, golf, play tennis and enjoy our fine dining restaurants in secluded luxury at Pierre Mundo Imperial resort in Mexico. A testament to a superior experience and service levels, the Pierre Mundo Imperial hotel has been named the recipient of the prestigious AAA Four Diamond Recognition. Additionally, the prestigious publication Travel & Leisure ranked Pierre Mundo Imperial as one of the best 100 hotels in Latin America and the Caribbean, and the best resort in Acapulco. USA Today named it one of the 10 best hotels all over the world. Pierre Mundo Imperial also offers the perfect scenery for romantic weddings. Just imagine saying "yes" with the ocean as your main witness. With the soaring mountains of the Sierra Madre on one side and the crystal blue Pacific on the other, the splendid tropical paradise of Pierre Mundo Imperial Acapulco awaits you for your next event or vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Pierre Mundo Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairmont Pierre Marques Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Hotel Acapulco
Fairmont Acapulco
Pierre Marques Acapulco
Acapulco Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing